We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience!”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #3 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Our live for art and tea were met at this place, from their tea sets to their variety of cookie treats. It's a peaceful environment in the heart of a busy town. The waiters were polite and explained their set up clearly enough for a person who can't sign.

After our tea, the waiter escorted us to their studio where they make all their crafts. We did not plan on spending the amount of money we spent at this place. Their designs were so unique and has to buy as much as our bags could accommodate for our home and business.

They even threw in some freebies to thank us for our purchases. This is one experience we will never forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It is an affirmation for our staff to read a review like yours....that our products and service, atmosphere and purpose create a memorable experience. I hope that your purchases at our craft shop evoke many fond memories of Reaching Out once you are home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,782
    205
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, great coffee and sublime treats.
A perfect place to escape the noise of scooters' horns and people screaming.

Helpful?
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
You are the first reviewer to use the word "sublime" in describing your experience at the Reaching Out Tea House. How apt! So glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I've never experienced anything like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very easy to find, on one of the main streets of the old town of Hoi An. I probably should have read the reviews before entering. This place serves tea and coffee WITHOUT talking. There are little blocks on the table, with words written on them - use these to communicate. You fill in your order on a piece of paper, and make eye contact or hand gestures toward the staff to take your order. There is no need to talk to anyone, and it great that everyone respects this. It's a wonderful place to sit and relax and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in peace and quiet, off the busy streets. I ordered the vietnamese coffee - which is filtered. Then you add the sweetened condensed milk. Amazing. I highly recommend this place for something different. Pretty cheap too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWhite75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Vietnamese coffee, especially that grown on small plantations, locally and organically is a very unique flavour treat, especially when filtered in our custom filters. Glad that you enjoyed the Reaching Out Tea House. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So glad we found this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

On a particularly hot Hoi An day, we were looking for a quiet, cool place to recharge our batteries. I had read reviews of this place and happened upon it as we were walking the streets. We loved every aspect of this tea house from the atmosphere to the friendly staff. We enjoyed some very refreshing cool drinks & cookies, but it was the quietness and the opportunity to give back to such a beautiful community that we loved the most. My husband is not a tea or coffee drinker, but he enjoyed the tea house too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are also glad that you found us!! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Teahouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Reaching Out Teahouse is a lovely initiative that supports individuals with hearing or speech impediments. Located in the heart of the Old Town, this teahouse is a tranquil oasis to relax with a cup of tea and a light snack. With its impeccable service and beautiful hand-crafted decor, this is a great escape from the bustling streets of Hoi An.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
The concept for the Reaching Out Teahouse developed over a couple of years of envisioning, renovating the premises and also developing the service systems, followed by many months of training. The whole team worked very hard and contributed ideas. We are delighted to hear that we have found the "winning combination" and a way to delight our customers whilst creating meaningful work for our speech and hearing employees. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing