We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #3 of 44 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stopped here during our stay in Hoi An and opted for the tea, alongside some cookies (coconut and chocolate), which were great. Nice to get out of the sun and enjoy some tranquility, watching the world go by. Also popped along to the shop which sells teapots, cups, and homewares, which were lovely.

Can see why this has been voted number one in Hoi An, go visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are thrilled that our reviews have earned the Tea House the number one position on Trip Advisor for Hoi An restaurants. When we developed the idea of a traditional, serene tea house and created service systems that would allow our speech and hearing employees to connect with the hearing world and enjoy full and meaningful employment, we had no idea how many visitors would appreciate what we were doing. It is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,782
    205
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful haven, right in the middle of town, beautiful setting the staff so friendly and so happy to be working within that environment. The tea was good and sweet potato cakes were divine. It is a must and to sit there observing their silence was just another point to savour the atmosphere. Lovely!!

Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
How rare in today's world.....the gift of silence...especially in frenetic Old Towne Hoi An! Thank you for your glowing review of the Reaching Out Tea House. Every time we get a positive review our staff are motivated anew to offer their gracious version of Vietnamese hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice quiet place , lovely place went on recommendation on trip-advisor , tea was nice , might do with a few more items added to menu .... But I enjoyed my visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaggie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for telling the Trip Advisor audience about Reaching Out Tea House. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience.

Our choice has been to concentrate on specially, local teas and coffees, refreshing juices and biscuits for a couple of reasons. The first is to focus on the tea and coffee traditional service and secondly to facilitate the ease of both our customers and speech and hearing impaired staff with the service system. We fought that simple was best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Say no more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing new I can add that other reviewers haven't already said. Relaxed, tranquil, exquisite surroundings, graceful staff, delicious produce and an experience worth trying. You can get a coffee for a cheaper price than this elsewhere but the extra price is more than justifiable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielEdinburgh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for joining our legions of happy customers at the Reaching Out Teahouse and for telling everyone about it on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely calm experience of drinking tea/coffee in calm and beautiful surroundings. A must do experience in Hoi an.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickiUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It is wonderful to get a "must do" recommendation for our Tea House. There are many delicious choices in Hoi An and we appreciate that we are recognized for offering something unique and authentically Vietnamese.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing