We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must do”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #1 of 48 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

quiet, nice, peaceful place to relax. coffee and tea are excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are pleased that a "neighbour" from down the coast in Nha Trang found our Tea House and shared a good impression with friends on Trip Advisor. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
There are newer reviews for Reaching Out Tea House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,401 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

At the top of my friend's "to do" list for Hoi An was the Reaching Out. I'm not typically one for tea houses, so I couldn't understand why it was so important to visit. Now I do! The atmosphere of silence can be uncomfortable for some, but it was the perfect environment in which to enjoy a delicious coffee and cookies.

Prior to visiting, I had no idea the place was run by people with hearing issues (it became quite apparent once I got there!). The staff are an absolute delight. This is a wonderful oasis in which to unwind, enjoy beautifully served beverages and contribute in a small way to a wonderful cause.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Glad that you followed your friend's advice and found your way to the Reaching Out Tea House AND enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in Hoi An for 5 days, every day we visited the teahouse. We really love the coffee and tea but most of all the peaceful enviroment and the lovely girls who work there. If we visit Hoi An again in the future it wouldn't be complete if we didn't visit the teahouse again.... You really have to go there! Robert & Lotte Pham

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were so impressed with this place we kept coming back while staying in Hoi An. Beatifully served tea and coffee, delicious cookies, refreshing juices..the place is so calm it's pure pleasure to just sit there, relax and sip your drink. Still, in our opinion, it's the staff that make this Tea house such a lovely place. They are the real stars-graciuos, caring, smiling,looking after every small detail....definitely, the most memorable place to visit in Hoi An.

Thank mirsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

When customers return day after day...we know that we are doing something right! And yes...our speech and hearing impaired staff are stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What an awesome experience it was visiting Reaching Out. The quaintness of the place, gentle waitresses, amazing tea (served so beautifully) and the delicious cookies to go with it all made this an unforgettable experience. A definite MUST DO while you're in Hoi An!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caitlyndebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

MUST DO in capital letters is a great accolade! Thanks. We love hearing from satisfied customers. Your messages keep us motivated to continue our service excellence at the Reaching Out Tea house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing