We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely calm surroundings”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #2 of 64 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, the second location for our social enterprise, was created to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is handcrafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. Fairtrade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback.​.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was a lovely place just to sit and relax and enjoy the delicous coffees and cookies! It is not the cheapest place but i can only reiterate what all the other reviewers say!
We had the coffee tasting plate and it was wonderful - it is also great for picking up souvieners as well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

So many customers are thrilled that the tea sets, coffee glasses and tea and coffee are available to take home to enjoy memories of Vietnam. Thanks for coming to have a coffee taster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,633 - 1,637 of 2,255 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Reaching House Tea House became a daily ritual during a 6 day visit to Hoi An. This isn't just a cup of tea, it's a meditation of sorts. Being deaf the charmong staff find unique and colourful ways for communicating with customers.

I tried various teas which were all magnificent and the atmosphere and beautiful surroundings added to the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

The fact that you returned every day is an endorsement indeed...especially from someone from the UK where they love their "cuppa". Your recommendation really means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I went here for tea one afternoon and it was a welcome change to the bustle of the market and clothes shops.
I selected a tea and he chose an iced coffee and between us we chose the biscuit selection to share. Once it all arrived it was lovely, my husband had a hard time enjoying the tranquillity and seemed to want to talk albeit in a whisper about every bite of his biscuit! The only thing I would say is that they really do not need to give you the complimentary biscuit alongside your drink of choice if you order the biscuit selection. You do end up with a fair few and no-one likes to waste a biccie!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tashabegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Biccie lovers from Dubai...you've come a long way to enjoy our Tea House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic tea house, beautiful coffee and so quite and relaxing. All staff working here are deaf, friendly and helpful...yummy homemade biscuits

Thank pamela092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We think that our coffee is delicious too! Glad that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great experience and had a great chat with the manager. Had coffee tasting of three. Would go back but leaving Hoi An tomorrow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suttond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hope to see you the next time that you are back to Hoi An! The coffee taster is such a good way to find the one that you enjoy the most. Did you take some home?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing