We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and heartwarming.”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #2 of 73 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, the second location for our social enterprise, was created to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is handcrafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. Fairtrade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback.​.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

It's good to have good tea, good food and to feel good about it. The staff was incredible in silence, and the support that the cafe and store offer to the speech and hearing impaired community in hoi an is heartwarming. The cafe is gorgeous and affordable. This place is a must visit if you're in hoi an.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JesseAndChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, voluteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

There are so many choices for excellent food and drink in Hoi An. We are grateful that so many visitors are finding us at the Reaching Out Teahouse and enjoying our uniquely tranquil place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,696 - 1,700 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is AMAZING! Out of all the cafes and restaurants we visited in Saigon and Hoi An, this was by far our favourite place. We sat in the children's room the two times we came here which is simply lovely. The staff were lovely too. The outdoor and indoor setting both very beautiful. To be honest, I can't remember what my tea was like because I was too busy gushing with enthusiasm and awe. Even the toilet was nice (my 3 year old son even said to me "I would like a toilet like this one day").

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Giggola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

The recently added children's room seems to really meet the needs of parents and kids...a place for their own quiet time and activities....even the children seem to respect the silence and tranquility of our place as they colour and draw. I can assure you that your tea was delicious!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful Tea House in the middle of Tran Phu - perfect spot for hiding from the midday heat.

Delicious coffee, tea and biscuits - amazing staff, most are hearing impaired or deaf; this seems to make the customers act with a certain degree of decorum, lending the place calmness even by Hoi An standards. Quite why this is given that the staff wouldn't be able to hear a louder buzz of customers is an interesting question, equally so is watching the staff work so efficiently together.

The vintage tea sets, English sign-blocks and paper/pens are a great touch. We loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danielrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We encourage silence in our Tea House for a number of reasons. Our intent has been to create an oasis of tranquility in the bustling centre of Hoi An where the focus is on the taste of our tea and coffee and the gracious and hospitable service. Undistracted, our customers are also able to relate to the reality of the non-hearing world and to realize that through gestures and smiles our needs can be met. We are so appreciative that our visitors are respecting this tranquility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Popped in for tea and coffee and to escape the noonday sun, and glad we did. Exquisite service and ornate crockery, with various cake and biccy options, in a cool shady setting. Young staff are lovely and eager to please; a great business and good work, not charity! Go and see for yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Redclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

The cool, quiet at Reaching Out Tea house is a treat, isn't it? Glad you like the biccy's ( that's biscuits for those who are not Brit!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came here with no expectations but left feeling happy, seeing and experiencing the good that this tea house is doing. We each ordered a selection of tea's and coffee's with some cookies and sat and enjoyed the drinks, the atmosphere and the friendly and genuine staff.

Well worth taking a few minutes out of your day to enjoy this tea house and feel the joy that the staff bring to this place as well as really good coffee and tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing