We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number One in Hoi An For a Good Reason”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #2 of 58 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, the second location for our social enterprise, was created to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is handcrafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. Fairtrade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback.​.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent four nights (@ Victoria Resort) this last week in Hoi An and the Reaching Out Tea House was a highlight for sure.

After a long (and very hot) bike ride out and back to Tra Que village the cool calm of the tea house was a splendid respite. The lime juice was a refreshing re-hydrater and the iced coffee (with coffee ice cubes) was brilliant. My wife and I shared a cookie sampler with every morsel better then the last.

The young women who staff the tea house are spectacular and communicate expertly in silence - so much for the spoken word! Was a little surprising that everything was in English - but certainly made is easy to order and explore.

What a great way to unwind, refresh and support this lovely community. This is the number one must-do in Hoi An.

Don't miss the Reaching Out Handicraft Shop/Studio just around the block - another must-do in Hoi An.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alameda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Cycling in the countryside outside Hoi An is a wonderful way to see authentic Vietnam...as is of course experiencing our traditions of gracious service and delicious food and drink. Glad that you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,656 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Oh this place was so lovely, the atmosphere and decor was so relaxing, it's like a tea shop from the 1920's. The staff are ladies who are hearing and speech impaired. You are given a menu where you tick off what you want, they give you blocks with postits such as thank you, hot water, cold water and so on. I was given cold, refreshing water as i sat down. The tea itself is served in a beautiful tea pot and cup on a tray. The ladies working there are lovely. This place deserves a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive remarks. We worked long and hard to develop the service system to ensure ease for our customers, while maintaining the silence of the tea house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A lovely place to relax and watch the world go by in Hoi An. Very good tea / coffee. Wonderful service and a very good concept. Highly recommended. Does not cost much more than another cafe around Hoi An.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireC668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you helping us spread the word about our unique tea house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I'd heard about it and accidentally walked in not aware it was Reaching Out.

Wonderful concept, beautiful staff. Wish I could have sat down and absorbed more of its beauty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hawaii0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

It sounds like you did not have an opportunity to stay for a coffee or tea with us....maybe next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped here for an iced coffee and some cookies. Both were great. The staff were lovely, and the ordering system was clever, but simple. The whole place is charming and relaxed and quiet. Would absolutely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cortunefookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Our iced coffees are just the ticket on a sweltering summer day in Hoi An.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing