We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not disappointed”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #3 of 45 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was curious about this place as I am a sign language interpreter. The reviews of this place are truly deserved - we were not disappointed. The drinks and cookies were presented beautifully by smiling staff. My only regret is that I couldn't ask them more about their signed language (from what I could see it looked a bit like ASL?) as they were all kept very busy with a steady stream of customers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Interpretergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
The very positive reviews on Trip Advisor have certainly raised customer expectations and we are pleased that we were able to meet yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,778
    205
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquility...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the reach out tea rooms, sitting in silence and communicating via blocks was such a break from the hustle and bustle. I tried the coffee taster, each coffee came with a little biscuit and everything was delicious. The beautiful staff are just incredible, so friendly and constantly smiling. I really felt at peace in this place and in fact would say it was my favourite place in veitnam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
When we heard that our Tea House was your favourite spot in Vietnam we were very excited.
We take great pride in being able to deliver an authentically Vietnamese experience, introducing visitors to our fine teas and coffees while they enjoy our traditional hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful tea shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a gorgeous find this in amidst the noise of Hoi An. I read about this on trip advisor and determined to find it. My mum and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience here and the delightful service provided by the lovely girl who looked after us. The cookies are Very yummy too!! If you are looking for a peaceful place to recharge your batteries then you must go here! The lovely girl also then walked us around to the Reaching Out handicrafts store! Great service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
The staff at Reaching Out are equally proud of our tea house and our craft shop where all the tea ware is made (as well as jewellery, and fabric art for table and bed).
Tranquility, quality and good memories are our objectives for meeting customer needs. Seems like we hit the target for you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tranquil, relaxing and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were served by hearing impaired waitresses who were lovely. I don't drink tea but my companion had an awesome tea sampler which she loved. I had a lovely coffee and a few snacks. The reaching out craft Center is just round the corner. Definitely worth popping in for a cuppa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are always pleased when someone from the UK enjoys a cuppa with us at Reaching Out. The
samplers of both tea and coffee are a good way to taste more than one of our exclusive Vietnamese products. Thanks for stopping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful tea tea shop what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are in Hoi An you must visit this place the most refreshing iced coffee and fresh orange juice in the most wonderful surroundings. Set up here last year this cafe helps those with impaired hearing throughout Vietnam so not only do you experience some of the best teas and coffees in town the service is wonderful and you are helping fund a worthy course. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Repeat business is the best accolade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing