We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic concept”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #1 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fantastic concept”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited this tea house on the 29/04/13 and loved it. The staff really are lovely, the coffee and snacks perfect. Its so nice to visit a place where your money actually makes a difference. This is a business that supports hearing and speech impaired staff whom otherwise would have very little future. We would encourage everybody to visit at least once. You won't regret it. :-) :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Our wait staff are so happy that customers like you are responding positively to our silent tea house concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,875
    213
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Silence is golden!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon tea at Reaching out tea house. The atmosphere was lovely and calm.

Even though the waitresses could not hear us, we were still able to communicate well with them as they have little blocks with pictures and text on them that you can use to communicate with.

If you're looking for a different afternoon tea experience, this has got to be one of your top options!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaheedFazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteeer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
When we hear from our guests who understand the ritual of afternoon tea in their home country, we are delighted that our Vietnamese tea service has been a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This tea and coffee house is part of the Reaching Out Group - a fair trade social business that empowers persons with disabilities through employment.

This is a friendly coffee house thanks to the staff who work there. Most of the staff here are either hearing or speech impaired so you really enjoy the tranquillity - so different from the noise in the other coffee houses.

The beautiful, shy smiles on their faces are an extra bonus because the tea, coffee and food are excellent.

We normally go to the Reaching Out Craft Shop to buy all our presents for family and were told about the coffee house by one of the staff there.

Both the Craft shop and the coffee shop are a must!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 275DianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our staff have trained for many hours to acquire the skills to serve our guests as graciously as they do at the Tea House. We are so proud of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful experience”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a lovely little tea house with a totally serene feel to it. The hearing impaired young women who serve you are absolutely charming. And the tea is superb too. Not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tandemflyer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of our Tea House. Visitors to Hoi An from all corners of the world are finding us and enjoying our tea and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great little tea house”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went here for a refreshing cup of tea - the setting was quiet and peaceful with excellent service from the speech-impaired staff. We sat there for an hour with our tea and nibbles, watching the busy world outside. If you are in Hoi An, you must go there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Tea House and thanks for encouraging others to experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing