We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ancient Faifo

Ancient Faifo
Ranked #150 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An opulent experience to delight the senses, ancient faifo is a venue like no other. Combining elements of art, music and history, ancient faifo offers culture catered to the highest tastes with its menu of quintessential Vietnamese cuisine and innovative reinvention of ancient recipes.
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a great dinner at Ancient Faifo. We chose 3 courses each, and they were all tasty and beautifully presented with lots of fresh herbs. This restaurant takes the local exciting flavours of Vietnam and transforms it to a delightfull well presented plate. The service provided by the staff was impeccable. The prices are however quite expensive compared to other Vietnamese restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EiB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review. Our price is a fraction more than other restaurants however we believe it is valuable for what you get and for the total experience. Hope your great evening was not spoilt due to the bill at the end. We are constantly reviewing each one of our dish and its price and ensure we are competitive in the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    120
    49
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vietnamese dinner in elegant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

On a street with many restaurants, Ancient Faifo seemed distinctive as we wandered down the lovely street in the historic area of Hoi An. We were not disappointed in our decision to select it for dinner. It was quiet, food was excellent, and service welcoming. A jazz pianist and singer added to the ambiance. It was one of the outstanding meals we ate in Vietnam during our two weeks and definitely the best in central Vietnam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your wonderful review on us. We hope to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally a good restaurant in Hoi An!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

After travelling in Vietnam for a couple of weeks, we came to Hoi An and found that the prices are higher and the food quality is lower. We decided to try this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews and had a great dinner. The food was decorative and really good, also great coffee. Service and atmosphere was very good, but the piano player made a little bit too much out of himself (playing too loud and not exactly vietnameese music).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ingrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review and feedback on our pianist. We will pass it on accordingly and explore more of Vietnamese tunes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely food, great atmosphere. Quite a romantic vibe with piano playing in the background. We had a table on the balcony which was perfect. This was my favourite dining experience in Vietnam.I would really recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura555lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for choosing us to be your best restaurant in Vietnam! We hope to be THE chosen one for those coming to Central Vietnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic setting ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely evening with good food. 3 course meal for £11 each, cant complain. The passion fruit mouse was incredible! Just to note they add tax and a service charge on automatically. Have to slightly mark this down as there were ants in the sugar.... We advised the waitress who sorted it out very quickly. We aren't the type to complain, just in case anyone else kicked off. Art studio is also something special .... Nice bathrooms too.

Helpful?
Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review. Apologies for the ants in the sugar bowl, they are not usually there. Our tax and service charge are clearly mentioned in each menu and again in the bill with details of each. Hope it was not too confusing for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Faifo also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ancient Faifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing