We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Best meal in Hoi An and Viet Nam "”
Review of Ancient Faifo

Ancient Faifo
Ranked #149 of 789 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An opulent experience to delight the senses, ancient faifo is a venue like no other. Combining elements of art, music and history, ancient faifo offers culture catered to the highest tastes with its menu of quintessential Vietnamese cuisine and innovative reinvention of ancient recipes.
New York City, New York
1 review
“" Best meal in Hoi An and Viet Nam "”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 2 days in Hoi An for honey moon and we find this restaurant on tripadvisor , amazing when we come there, the old house with nice decor, special upstair with many bows and plate on the wall.( we love it). we had two starter and two main for dinner, food is very good and service also.very nice

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time both at the restaurant and Hoi An.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    122
    49
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good service !!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

this is the best restaurant in Hoi An with nice decorration, good vietnamese food and special service is very excellent. will recommend...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johanness h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear writer, many thanks for your comment and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - Poor service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant at 9.15 and was told by the waitress that the restaurant's last order was 9.30 but if we were "quick" we could go indoors. I said that we would rather not be rushed but she insisted that it was "ok" if we only took one hour to eat. The waitress was quite persuasive so we decided to take a table. Once inside the restaurant we were then very rushed with our order. A couple of the waitresses then watched over us whilst we ate our meal and made us feel very uncomfortable. It was very obvious that we were not welcome and they were wanting to close the restaurant.

The food was excellent and probably the best that we have had had during our stay in Hoi An but it's a shame that the chef had taken so much time and effort to produce such delicious food that we could not fully appreciate the chef's efforts.

If we had known that we would not be made to feel welcome we would have postponed to another evening as we really would have liked to experience the wonderful food prepared by a talented chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your valuable comment and we are very sorry to hear about the poor service you came across that evening. This matter is taken internally and we will ensure it will not happen to our forthcoming guests. It would be our pleasure to extend a warm welcome should you wish to visit again and enjoy a complete Faifo experience including the food. Rest assured your praise to the chef and all of our kitchen brigade will be passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food styling!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is very very clean and it's atmosphere is wonderful and romantic.The portion of the starter is like a main course. We tasted 8 different dishes and all of them were tasteful. The food styling was asian modern. The service was excellent and the numbers of the staff were friendly and especially polite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ouranoupoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your excellent review. Our food styling is indeed modern Vietnamese that has been carefully created to suit everyone's palate. We hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant in Hoi An”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a very pleasant experience to eat in this nice restaurant in Hoi An. As first time visitors to this old charming city, my wife and I only happened to choose this restaurant for dinner. Although it looked decent, it was not very obvious from outside until we went inside and had our dinner. Excellent ambience (the upstairs is better than the downstairs and we sat at the tables at the little balcony), very friendly and attentive staff, and good quality food. When we went back for the second time (we had dinner at this restaurant twice during our five night stay in Da Nang for holiday), the staff even prepared two disposable rain coats for us as it started raining when we finished dinner and put a plastic strap to the neck of a half finished large sized water bottle in order to make it easy for us to carry it to the hotel. I was very impressed by their consideration and attentiveness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sungduk h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review and double patronage. We were pleased to have you back and will do our best to serve our clientele. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Faifo also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ancient Faifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing