We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allround excellence”
Review of Ancient Faifo

Ancient Faifo
Ranked #147 of 786 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An opulent experience to delight the senses, ancient faifo is a venue like no other. Combining elements of art, music and history, ancient faifo offers culture catered to the highest tastes with its menu of quintessential Vietnamese cuisine and innovative reinvention of ancient recipes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allround excellence”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to Ancient Faifo after seeing the ratings in trip advisor and we were not disappointed. From the moment we stopped to look at the menu outside the restaurant it was evident how friendly the staff were. The service provided was excellent. The interior was very classy and the live music was a treat. We both had the "Hoi An trio chicken rice" for the main course and for dessert we had "dark and white chocolate mousse". The food was absolutely delicious and filling. I also had a glass of Cafe Sau da which was one of the best I have had in Vietnam. The price maybe on the higher end of the scale when compared to other restraunts in the neighbourhood but its fair considering how great the food and service was.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Archunan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the overall experience. We do Hoi An's speciality of "Com Ga" aka chicken rice and "Faifo Sua Da" aka Vietnamese iced coffee with condensed milk, very differently than other places! Definitely should be on order list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    122
    49
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High quality, high end dining - mostly - and a good experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Overall we had a very nice evening here during our stay in Hoi An. It's in a lovely setting right in the old town. Ordered three starters between us, all of which were very good indeed - the lotus salad and the sesame beef were particularly excellent. The mains were a bit of a mixed bag - we thought the chicken was rather overcooked and under-seasoned, and the pork dish was nice but not outstanding. The seafood hotpot was an absolute delight however.

Service was attentive and friendly. They also do superb Martinis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your valuable feedback on our food. We constantly look into the improvement of our food and service. Glad you had a nice evening at Ancient Faifo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Authentic Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate here last month and felt that the food was of a very high standard.
We were moved to an outside table once they realised that the person that had made a reservation wasn't going to turn up. Felt that the staff were eagerly awaiting us to leave. thankfully the portions were sufficient that there was no space left for dessert!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tashabegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your review. Our food is prepared according to international standard following strict hygiene standard. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Just simply the best food in Hoi An! Service is fantastic, presentation amazing and the variety of flavours tantalises the taste buds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear writer, many thanks for your excellent review. We really appreciate and happy to have served you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
326 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Overall probably the best”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to some amazing restaurants in Hoi An but Ancient Faifo was probably our favourite. The atmosphere was refined - in a beautiful dining room - but not stuffy at all and they were very welcoming to our 2 year old. Very impressive that even a top place like this has a kids menu. Service was perfect all the way through though we didn't need the 5 minute explanation from the owner at the end about why this was the best restaurant in town. The food was really interesting and presented beautifully - was it as flavoursome ss Morning Glorty and Miss Ly? Maybe not but it was delicious and the overall experience was top notch. Incredible value too even though expensive for Hoi An.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for you review and hope we exceeded your expectation. Mr Bao, our F&B Manager, can be quite chatty but genuinely wants to ensure your dining experience at Ancient Faifo is a wonderful one (sorry if this bothered you). Hope your entire family enjoyed the dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Faifo also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ancient Faifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing