We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vietnamese Food at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Faifo

Ancient Faifo
Ranked #145 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An opulent experience to delight the senses, ancient faifo is a venue like no other. Combining elements of art, music and history, ancient faifo offers culture catered to the highest tastes with its menu of quintessential Vietnamese cuisine and innovative reinvention of ancient recipes.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel manager (David from Golden Sand - Hoi an) and loved the atmosphere and food. The most elegant restaurant we ate at in Hoi an. The table settings and decor were first class, the staff were attentive and the food was top notch.
We were entertained by a wonderful piano player and Vietnamese singer - no other restaurant had this sort of entertainment that we went to.
Definite must do while in Hoi an!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HughnicheVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear writer, many thanks for your wonderful comment. The piano and Vietnamese singer bundled with other facilities and services are what makes us unique and so Ancient Faifo....We would definitely love to see you back, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    118
    49
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ultimately, it's all about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

While Ancient Faifo receives high marks for decor, ambience and service, sadly I cant say the same about the food.

The menu choices are bundled, and they are a starter and a main course for 250,000 or you may add a dessert for 325,000VND. Our starters were the Seared Tuna and Prawn Mango Salad, and the Duo of Calamari, which by the way was excellent. At this point I was even more intrigued and excited about the entrées.

The Steamed fish in banana leaf and the Beef Shank (taken from the receipt - however the menu romanced them with a more eloquent description) unfortunately were both far from creative or tasty. In fact, the best description would be that they were bland, uninspiring and extremely disappointing.

The Chocolate Tempura dessert was also quite good.

Total bill (no alcohol) 880,378 . . . 5% service and 10% tax are included

Listen, if you care more about atmosphere then this is a great restaurant for you, but if it is all about the food; then based on my experience I would be hard-pressed to recommend the Ancient Faifo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your valuable comments about our food. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the mains as much as the entrees and desserts. We will certainly look into these closely and take appropriate measures. Thanks for detailing the figures of our menu, they are perfectly correct amount for bundled choice. However guests are also free to have individual dish should they wish to. We have individual price for entree, main and dessert. We're glad you had the opportunity to experience our place and hope to see you back with more satisfying courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaams-Brabant
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our first night in Hoi An could not have been more romantic. This must be one of the most beautifully decorated restaurants in Hoi An :-)
The waitresses were really lovely with us and the kids and very attentive.
The food was really beautifully presented and good (although I must admit we have eaten tastier during our trip in Vietnam).
I think what we loved most here was the place itself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PetraJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your beautiful review. Ancient Faifo's decor has been specially designed to bring up the house's memory of the past as well as Hoi An's culture. Thank you for appreciating that! Look forward to having you and the kids again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilliGarlic
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Deconstructed delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here for a late lunch and were the only patrons. Despite the obvious difficulties for a kitchen our meals were perfect. Gorgeous cocktail to begin, and then Vietnamese cuisine deconstructed with French skill to create a contemporary version of great traditional favourites. Possible not fusion, but certainly a flair for combining the very best ingredients. This along with the perfectly fitted out restored colonial house that the restaurant is in make it one of the more expensive restaurants in the area, but still a very reasonable piece of cared-for luxury. Also, upstairs is air conditioned, which makes it perfect for a long lunch. Service from attentive and knowledgeable multilingual staff was outstanding. Save this one for your "special" night in Hoi An.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear writer, thank you for your valuable comments, all of which are spot on! We differentiate ourselves from other dining places to make your experience in Hoi An to be even more special. We look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Special Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had dinner here last Saturday evening with my family. Beautiful old two storey building. Very traditional looking and beautiful.
The restaurant is in the middle of the Old Town and is a great location within easy reach.
The menu was broad but we opted for the set menu. Great value for only about $12-20.
The food was excellent. The servcie was attentive and professional.
I could not fault the evening. If you have the chance I would recommend this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank applesanddiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientfaifo, General Manager at Ancient Faifo, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear writer, many thanks for your special review. Happy you had a special evening at Ancient Faifo. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Faifo also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ancient Faifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing