We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Vietnam”

Baby Mustard Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 777 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in Tra Que vegetable village,a traditional village near Hoi An old town with two amazing views: the poetic river and the beautiful garden, Baby Mustard restaurant is a bamboo and coconut leaves house close to nature. We offer the Vietnamese village cuisine with many dishes are only found in our restaurant. Welcome to BABY MUSTARD RESTAURANT!
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The Best in Vietnam”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Delightful experience, the best and freshest food we experienced in all Vietnam. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    131
    42
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! The best of Vietnam!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place hidden away off the road heading for An Bang beach. Well worth the effort to get there. They have their own gardens where they grow herbs which they picked to put in our meal. We had the Ban Xiao which were the best we've had and a very generous portion. We also had an amazing chicken dish with rice.
The staff were very friendly and had good English and we could have stayed all afternoon chatting!
Try the 'secret drink', very refreshing and only 15k vnd.

Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LottieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant and cooking class”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Where else do you get to choose the food you would like for dinner, learn how to cook it, and then get to enjoy it in a wonderful restaurant constructed of bamboo, and set amongst the herb and vegetable gardens.

Our gorgeous cooking teacher and the owner of this wonderful place is 23 year old Nguyet, who will also email the recipes to try once you are home... and by email, help you them if you have any questions.

Cycle here, or Nguyet will come to town and personally pick you up... it's a treat regardless of whether you choose to cook yourself or just treat it as a restaurant.. you will leave better informed about what you eat and how it is grown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sues2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a special dinner”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You will know about baby mustard only from tripadvisor and then go there only if you really want to. Actually is much easier to stop in one of the thousands of restaurants in the town. But Baby mustard is a different experience, is not just food, that by the way was delicious, it is also a way to know about a small village and to get in contact with real people that want to do business in a different way. A dinner at Baby mustard is something between go to the restaurant and visit some friends, the young lady that served us is cute and extremely clever, we learn more about Vietnamese culture talking with her than from our reading and traveling. We asked her to visit the garden and she showed us some 20 different types of herbs that made clear to us way their food is so tasty. We really recommend making a small effort to go to visit this family. What worked for us to find them was to ask our hotel to call them and indicate direction to the taxi driver, locals know the name of the village where they are. We will keep our dinner with them as one of our best experiences in Vietnam.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fraste255204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Came here for a late lunch and was so impressed. All the food is so fresh and meals are delicious! Only problem is its quite far out from hoi an. Otherwise its perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoziLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Mustard Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Baby Mustard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing