We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$39
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ha An Hotel(Hoi An)
$55
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$61
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,962)
Filter reviews
1,962 results
Traveler rating
1,624
258
54
12
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,624
258
54
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barthe riverold townnight marketprivate poolthu bon rivershort walkhuge roomfree upgradespecial thanksclose to townstayed for nightsour honeymoona wonderful stayegg stationquiet locationbuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 1,962 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Marina resort is very new and other than some minor teething issues it is lovely place to stay. The staff are very keen to please and so friendly, with nothing being a problem for them. The rooms are very modern and clean, we had a private plunge pool villa, which was nice to come back to at the end of a hot day.
Only about 12 Villas all up with half the area being taken up by gardens so not overcrowded. The location is a leisurely stroll to the town, and very peaceful with nice grounds and good to watch the fishing boats slowly make their way along the river. The free bikes are a good touch and great way to get to around.
Believe they are looking to expand on the breakfast area, which was fine but expect will be even better soon.

Room Tip: Pool Villas are at the very front with uninterrupted river views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and loved coming back to the tranquil environment of this resort. The rooms and grounds are fantastic. Loved the view to the river. The reception girls, ground staff and the security guard were all extremely friendly and happy to assist.
A couple of things to improve- only 6 chairs around pool so that means they only put out 6 towels. Need to put out more towels as there are plenty of loungers along the riverfront.
breakfast range could improve.
We were out from7am-4pm one day and house keeping arrived after we returned to clean our room. With only 16 rooms and the price we were paying this shouldn't happen.
Be be tailors being pushed - makes me wonder the resort is getting kick backs.
Need to put room service menu's in room.
Need to put more screening between pool villas so you can enjoy your dip without seeing the people next door in their jacuzzi.
Saying all of the above as long as the price doesn't rise we would return as location and the resort are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This review comes as a bit of a problem for me to write, as we enjoyed the hotel and Hoi An greatly but have encountered many problems with it as well. We found the staff quite friendly, and the rooms comfortable. The location is lovely on the riverside, about 5 - 7 minutes walk from town...and it isn't the most picturesque walk, and at night it can be pretty dark on the roads.

The breakfast was pretty good, but I concur with other reviews that it seemed they had problems keeping the cold things cold...and there always seemed to be a shortage of juice. The other problem at breakfast was an exceptionally slow toaster, there was a queue of bread waiting to be toasted when we went for breakfast! Also the coffee/tea isn't brewed and refilled in a timely manner. In fact, most guests were up pouring their own coffee from the pots because the staff at breakfast seemed to disappear on a few occasions.

The pool is lovely, but somewhat small. If you're there trying to relax and enjoy the view and weather - cross your fingers that no children are there! Whilst we were there, about 4 children were also staying, and monopolised the pool and sunloungers (as there is only about 6 or 7 sunloungers for the entire resort!)

Another item was that it seemed many of the staff (aside from the front desk) did not speak more than basic English. We asked for extra towels and extra pillows (as there was three of us staying in the room) and we never received them, even though we asked 3 times. We did however receive an additional cushion for the sofa. Now this seems like a small detail, but when you are paying nearly 150USD per night, plus 35 USD for an extra person charge - details like this should not be missed. There should be enough towels and pillows for in the room - first time - for everyone staying. We also had dinner in our room one evening as it was raining, and we called to let them know we'd leave the dishes by the front door of the villa, and they said ok...next day (afternoon actually, as we went out through the patio area to the pool and breakfast) the plates were still there with bugs on them. It's this attention to detail that is sorely missing in this hotel.

I also agree with other reviewers that the water pressure needs sorted out in the bathroom...the shower area is fantastic, but the shower itself and the pressure let it down immensely.

Also there were no chairs or table on our veranda, again we asked for this as the room next door to ours had furniture, but again it never arrived. So we had to take out chairs from inside the room to even sit outside to enjoy the view or the weather. Again, this is a detail that should be right with the prices they are charging.

Another area where they messed up was our room. We reserved the pool villa which has the jacuzzi style pool in front the villa on the riverfront. We were given a river view room. Now whilst this isn't a make or break issue - it is when you are still charged for the pool villa resulting in an overcharge of nearly 100 USD!

This brings me on to my major complaints, and why I awarded this hotel a poor rating. The hotel charged the card I reserved the room with a 1 night deposit (without telling me) and then charged our other credit card the full price of the entire stay when we left....including the overcharge for the wrong room type! As we were running late that day, we didn't cross check the room rates, as I assumed they would have done this already, they did not.

I only found out once I got back to London that we had been overcharged to the tune of 250USD! I immediately contacted the hotel asking them to clarify the charges. They emailed back very quickly admitting their mistakes, and saying that they'll take care of it. After two and a half weeks, and many emails claiming ignorance of how to do a refund back onto a credit card, I still do not have my money refunded. All we get is false assurances that it isn't them, that their bank is very complicated and I just need to be patient. Easy for them to say as they still have our money. I have now had to refer this matter to my credit card company as a fraudulent charge, just stress that you don't need, as this is completely unavoidable if the hotel had proper procedures in place to deal with this type of situation - which they clearly do not.

To sum up, this hotel has great potential - but currently they are charging too much money per night for the service that you receive. It is one of those things that as long as you are very easy going, this hotel will be great for you. If you are very detail oriented and expect a 4/5 star hotel to have the details of 4/5 star hotel ready for you...you will be disappointed.

It's such a shame that we have had all these issues, because the hotel has great potential and I would have loved to given it an excellent rating. However, I think that a fair review that details all the problems is in order, because someone may be treating this as a splurge hotel in Vietnam as it's significantly more expensive than most hotels in Vietnam...and if that's the case, this one may not provide you with what you're expecting.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are charged the correct room rate for the type of you actually receive. Make sure that you thoroughly check your final bill, and also ask if you have been charged on the card you reserved the room with as well, before you hand over any additional money.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Msmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina74August18th, Manager at Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear valued guests,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Marina Resort and Spa.

Let me take this chance to say great thanks for your stay with us recently and thanks for your valuable comments, good as well bad to our Hoi An Marina Resort. As you may know, with them, we can see our shortcoming to improve services better and better to bring the most comfortable stay for all guests. We are delighted to know that you were enjoyed your vacation with us here but regret very much for the inconvenience caused to you which broken your pleasure while experiencing in Hoi An and Hoi An Marina Resort. We, our Hoi An Marina team promise that we will try our best to provide the best services to our guests. We will supplement what we missed and correct our faults as you mentioned.

Once again, please accept the sincere apologies from our Management and all staffs.
Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back our Hoi An Marina Resort in the coming time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a perfect paradise! this is the best place we have ever stayed in and we can't wait to come back!

My husband and I came to hoi an as part of our honeymoon and had originally booked another hotel, but after one night there with beds like concrete we chose to look for another place. When we found this gem the staff were lovely and showed us the rooms and gave us complimentary fresh juice while we looked around and considered the place. They gave us a special rate because it was our honeymoon and we were late notice, and then they gave us a free upgrade to the river view rooms! Then when we went out for dinner we came back to find they had come in and decorated our room with rose petals, flowers and a fruit basket all because it was our honeymoon, it was beautiful! On top of this, after their best rooms became available they offered us another free upgrade and we were able to stay in the pool villas, and when we moved in they'd decorated it again for our honeymoon. The owner also offered us a free glass of wine each to celebrate our honeymoon - they are the loveliest people!

The rooms - gorgeous! Very modern and clean, and also nice and large. Lots of windows so you get great natural lighting. The bathrooms are beautiful and the showers were great! In the river view room we had the biggest bed I've ever seen in my life, it was definitely bigger than a king! Comfy beds too. Internet worked well, we skyped family from our room and even from the poolside and it worked fine.

The resort itself is beautiful, they keep the grounds immaculate and have lovely views. The pool is really nice and its great they have Internet there so you can laze around by the pool on the iPad. They have bar and food service at the pool too which was Excellent. Location is perfect, it's peaceful and quiet here but only a 5 min walk or 2 min bike ride and you're in the centre of the old town. 10min scooter to either beach.They have free bikes for guests to use.

What wowed us was the service, everyone here was amazing and so friendly, the reception, the cleaners, security guards, owner, all of them! They always want to help you and were actively asking what they can improve since they're new (nothing in our eyes!).

Everything combined makes this place a perfect little paradise. My husband and I loved hoi an and when we visit again there's no question we'll be staying here. We recommend this place to everyone and can't speak highly enough of it!!!

Room Tip: River view rooms have the most privacy, biggest beds and best views ( plus you can watch tv from the bath), pool rooms have their own outdoor jacuzzis
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhninety H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been visiting Hoi An for 5 years now and though we have stayed in some lovely places nothing ticked all the boxes like this resort. With only 12 villas you can really escape from the old town hustle (just 5 mins walk away) and the staff are delightful genuine people. Happy to work here and happy to help with anything. The location just beside the river means you can watch the river boats going past from your room or from the outdoor free form seating. It was so good here that we have re booked for another 3 nights! The villas are spacious and tastefully laid out. We've actually taken photos of them for ideas for our own home. Lovely lovely lovely!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonKiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews