We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently returned from a fantastic trip to Vietnam. Stayed 3 nights at the Little Hoian Boutique. From arrival at the airport we were greeted by the friendly smile of Tien (known as Robert to us westerners, and I hope I've spelt your name correctly Tien). Tien was friendly, helpful and kept us laughing for the 30min drive from Denang to Hoian. He taught us alot of Vietnamese words, Hello, Thank you, OMG too expensive...etc.... which was extremely helpful and I wish we had met him from the start of our trip, I would have packed him in my suitcase and taken him with us.
Now for the hotel...check in was a breeze, reception staff were helpful and friendly even though we arrived late, after 9pm, nothing was a problem. Rooms were large and spotlessly clean, (we had 2 rooms) and overlooked the river with a small balcony, We were lucky enough to be there over the full moon festival and we were able to sit on the balcony and see millions of floating lanterns come down the river.
Hoian is known for the shopping and the location of Little Hoian Boutique is excellent. It's just across the river from the old town, we walked everywhere.
If you want to visit the beach the hotel has a free shuttle bus that can take you to and from a private beach at certain times during the day, where you have access to free shade hut and lounges.
Will definitely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank LoweFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for the recent wonderful stay with us . Robert Tien & our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    297
    51
    8
    13
See reviews for
255
775
121
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good points;

- Above all, definitely the staff. Friendly and helpful to a person, knowledegable and with good English
- Very friendly welcome, helpful information given (but not overloaded), we were given some vouchers for use in the spa etc, which was a nice touch
- Breakfast very varied and fresh, with a good selection of fruit and both Asian and Western style choices
- Access to a gorgeous private beach, with a shuttle arranged by the hotel and free towels
- Pool area is nice (if small)
- Rooms are a really nice style, cleaned well, well stocked minibar, very comfortable big bed
- Location of the hotel is excellent; close enough that the main stuff can be accessed easily on foot but on the slightly quieter side of the river
- Guest care: It was my birthday while we were there, neither I nor my partner had mentioned it to them but when I came down for breakfast I was wished a happy birthday and they brought me a cake (which sadly I didn't get to eat, I hope the staff enjoyed it themselves!). A really lovely touch.
- Good, free wifi in all rooms

Less good points:

- The hotel is still rather new and some things need to be ironed out. For example, one of the pictures was missing from our wall, which wouldn't be a big deal except there was a picture hook there - it didn't look great. Also the wardrobe in our bedroom wouldn't open quite fully as a result of poor positioning with the bedroom door, and the safe kept malfunctioning. These are small points, but stop the hotel being truly excellent and deserving of the rack rate price (many good deals to be had though, I'm sure - I think we paid about 1/3 of the rack rate).

Overall, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Little Hoi An and didn't want to leave. I must just mention the staff one more time as they really were all very professional, warm, welcoming and helpful. Keep at it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Writer,

Your comments are so GREAT and constructive and our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your Brilliant comments on everything on your plus points during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We trust that other travelers will find your detailed comments as a good & helpful advises when looking for an appropriate accommodation in the very central & convenient location with personalized services.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the town and within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The staff are attentive and helpful. The airport pickup is a reasonable cost and you are greeted with a bottle of chilled water and a cool face washer. Room décor is very good and we were given an upgrade as the hotel was not busy. Only the rooms have AC so the rest of the hotel is hot, especially when we were there, so there is no sitting in the foyer as it is too hot! Breakfast is good with a variety of items and freshly cooked eggs and omelettes available. We had no trouble communicating with staff as they all spoke adequate English. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for the recent wonderful stay with us . Our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff in the Little Hoi An Boutique Hotel were particularly welcoming and made our week's stay quite special. Our room was good (overlooking the river, which would certainly be the best view) and breakfast was varied and plentiful. The hotel is only 5 minutes' walk from the Old Town so easy access to all the tourist sights. There is a free shuttle to the beach nearby and staff were also happy to arrange other day trips such as diving to Cham Island, and visit to My Son temples. All in all a good base from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: River view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for voting us as:" Lovely hotel in beautiful town ". Our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel ranks number 21 on the list and I nearly missed it. I'm so glad I didn't!

The location was excellent, central but without the accompanying noise. The decor was tastefully done, comparable to any 4 star hotel. The breakfast selection was not large, but sufficient and very tasty. The staff were attentive and eager to help. The bed was also comfortable.

The only single sad complaint, if any at all, would be their inhouse toothpaste which does not taste very nice. But heck, that's because I'm a fussypot and a review may not seem credible if it comes across as too perfect.

Seriously, it's a good place and at USD70/night, it's a freaking steal for all the quality service and standard. Now, will you guys please bump it up to the top 10 list so no one misses this excellent little boutique hotel?

p.s. their pick up service at the airport was excellent too! we were greeted with cold bottled water and wet towels. Their driver was a very safe driver too!

Room Tip: Rooms facing old city do not really have any views. Not sure about the river view rooms. But who ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphinelikestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Writer,

Yeah, This hotel should be on the top 10 list. Let's vote for it, then other travelers don't miss it. Your comments are so GREAT and our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your "Oi Troi Oi" comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Small hotel, great location, rooms nice and clean. Reasonable beds as most beds in vietnam are very hard, would have like to stayed more nights, on check in we did say we may stay longer we would let them know in the morning as we had two rooms when I came down in the morning they informed me they had sold the room and only had one available for us. Would have been nice to let us know as we would have spent more nights there as we were comfortable and happy. We had to pack up and move the family to another hotel which was an inconvenience, we just wanted to make sure we were happy there before confirming we wanted to stay longer. It would have been nice if the staff could have notified us they were selling our room considering we had two rooms each night. Otherwise this is a nice little hotel and very comfortable place to stay and convenient location. The most disappointing thing was early in the morning staff running up and down the stairs were very noisy as our room was located close to these stairs, make sure you choose the rooms away from the stair wells.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for voting us as:" Great location & nice rooms ". Our "little" TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Little Hotel Chain as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was nicely decorated. The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. A little confusion at time of checking out due to one of the staff not understanding English very well but this is not a problem.
Got a room on the ground floor facing the terrace in front of the hotel so it was not the best to enjoy the balcony.
The breakfast buffet was just ok but I would have preferred some better Vietnamese coffee and better bread (baguette).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anhangabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuhao, General Manager at Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Writer,

On behalf of the Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on the tripadvisor and pleased to learn that you were so impressed with our boutique hotel design and the level of services rendered to you from our staff.

We really appreciate your constructive feedback and will rectify whatever reasonable you mentioned in order to make our little hotel chain to be the most favorite places for all travellers into Vietnam.

Again, thank you very much for your selecting our "Little Hoian" as your home away from home and we look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

With best regards,

John La
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.0 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#32 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 2 Thoai Ngoc Hau Street | Song Hoai Square, Cam Pho Ward, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking that legendary Hoai river running peacefully in front and just a few steps from the famous Japanese Bridge (the symbol of Hoian), the Little Hoian Boutique Resort offers guests a superb location whether your pleasure be relaxing, touring, shopping, dining or simply exploring the two Unesco’s World Heritage list: Hoian Ancient Town & My Son Holy Land.Our 30 stylish rooms & suites are tastefully designed and decorated with a perfect blend between the Vietnamese lifestyle architecture and Heritage influenced theme, to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. No matter how many times you come back to visit us, you can always experience something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing