We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth staying, but a bit overpriced and away from the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vesper Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vesper Homestay
Ranked #41 of 191 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth staying, but a bit overpriced and away from the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the best thing about the stay is the manager who is very friendly. The room was OK and fairly clean. Location is not ideal, as it's far from the center and from the beach, but if you use one of their bicycles (for 20,000 VND a day) it's quite easy to get around. The bicycles aren't great quality though. It's very nice to venture away from the center though, there's plenty to see around, for which the location is quite ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After one night in the city center of Hoi An we decided to go another place. We found this lovely recently build house just outside of the city of Hoi An. The area is away from all the tourism and feels really Vietnamese. The 'manager' of the Homestay is a charming guy who does everything to make you feel at home without pushing you or being all around every time. The rooms are clean and lovely, as well as the bathrooms. I would recommend this place if you like to avoid sleeping in the middle of the touristic hotspots, but still want to be able to get there in a short time of period (motorbike takes you approx. 2 minutes). Rates are good, especially compared to the luxury you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmalii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodung, Owner at Vesper Homestay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for this great review. I am very happy to read this.

I will hope to see you again some time.

Kind regards,

Dung Do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose Vesper Homestay for the very low price we were able to get on Booking.com. Though it is slightly out of the citycenter, with a bike (VND 30,000 per day if you book through booking.com, otherwise free) everything is very close and manageable.

It is a very new property and it still looks that way. All is clean and proper. Beds are very comfortable and shower is nice and hot. Room was a bit smaller than most that we had in Vietnam.

Staff speaks English, though not fluently which makes communication sometimes challenging, but all in good fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's a good 20 to 25 minutes walk away from Hoi An town center. Infact, walking is quite pleasant. Depending on the route you take, you walk pass by a buzzling local morning market.

Bikes are provided by Vesper if you choose to cycle into the center instead!

Vesper's very homey! Clean and comfortable room, and spacious common area for chill out. For those who prefer quiet getaway from the lively town center, this is the place! I ended up staying longer than originally intended, and I've heard similar story with other travelers as well.

I would say the only inconvenience is that for breakfast, you would travel to their family restaurant in town center to enjoy it. But as said before, the walk isn't bad and there's always the bike!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Jolie Villa Hoi An Homestay
1.1 mi away
Azalea Homestay
Azalea Homestay
#38 of 191 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Grass Homestay
Green Grass Homestay
#53 of 191 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Viet's Family River - Hoi An Homestay
0.3 mi away
Tue Tam Homestay
Tue Tam Homestay
#26 of 191 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gingergrass Homestay
Gingergrass Homestay
#153 of 191 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesper Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesper Homestay

Property: Vesper Homestay
Address: 03 Hai Thuong Lan Ong Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vesper Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Vesper Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing