We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“why eat anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 41 Cafe

41 Cafe
Ranked #94 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“why eat anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate here on recommendation of our host family after a long trip from Da Lat and after tasting their banana pancakes returned for nearly every meal we ate in our 4 days in Hoi An.

The food is amazing (the best banana pancakes we've had in all of our travels through South East Asia) and the staff is beyond friendly. They all speak excellent English and are very helpful with choosing dishes (a big plus for us as my girlfriend is allergic to shrimp). The owners always seemed to be in a great mood, full of smiles and thank you's. Their 3 year old very cute daughter can often be seen running about trying to help as a little waitress. We returned every day having banana pancakes for breakfast and something different for dinner each day and were never let down.

There is a nice no pressure vibe (helped by the non stop Enya playing in the background), and the 3 for 2, 3000 Dong beer can't be beaten. We used Cafe 41 as the benchmark for the rest of our travels through Vietnam and no where else even came close. If only all restaurants were as friendly, helpful and delicious as this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    58
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste you're time anywhere else !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We where in hoi an for 3 days and after experiencing other local foods throughout south and central Vietnam we stumbled on cafe 41 recommended by our friends . We had 3 meals a day here each day , it was too good to try anywhere else.

Service is the best I have found in 2 months of south east Asia !

Family run , food was the best of Thai , Cambodia and Vietnam all for 1-3 dollars a meal !

Beers buy 2 get one free , works out to be 9 cents per beer !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
211 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A popular place with backpackers, many of whom tend to smoke – so that was a big downer for me as I hate breathing in cigarette smoke and having my clothes smell.

Staff seemed friendly and the draught beer cheap. However we experienced so many problems with our meal and drinks that it was a case of laugh or cry! We were most amused to see the pizza one of our party order arrive on a scooter!

Based on our visit could not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“The best "Cao Lau" i have ever eaten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited Hoi An last week, mu friend recommended me to try "cao lau" in 41 cafe and i did. It is so amazing, i thought it is the best " cao lau" i have ever eaten. The host is friendly, good food and it is just near by Hoi An downtown. I strong recommend this place. You have to try the food here if you visit Hoi An, if not, you haven't be in Hoi An

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, cheap beer, affordable, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

41 Cafe is right next door to Cafe 43 and equally as good. The family is so friendly and welcoming. Beer is cold and cheap!! I ate the Pho beef soup. It had extra vegetables and a lemongrass favor. SO good! The Vietnamese pancake is also excellent. Prices are cheap. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_Around_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 41 Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to 41 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing