We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lip-smacking”

Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko
Ranked #331 of 825 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dear Our value customers,Warm greetings from Blue Gecko Restaurant & Bar.We are pleased to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves as one of the freshest and greenest Restaurant & Bar in Hoi An, Vietnam. We are constantly looking forward to your listed destination from different countries. Thus we would like to explore the possibility of being included in your accredited list in Hoi An. We specialized in Vietnamese cuisines and asian foods...You will be satisfied and pleasured with servives at Blue Gecko restaurant & bar. Please feel free to get in touch with us to discuss further how we can be of service to you.With best regards,Ms. Phan Thi Le ThuyBlue Gecko Restaurant & Bar
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“lip-smacking”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

spotted blue gecko on the way back to my hotel and remembered that I had meet some travellers in Mekong delta some weeks back who had recommended, if in Hoi An not to miss having a meal here. Popped back later to check it out and don't regret it , lovely little restaurant off the main street at the end of an alley. We had a really great meal good size portions, tasty, fresh, just scrumptious. Well priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    31
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I feel satisfied. 5 stars for service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have dined at other locations and had great meals and service, so when I was in Hoi An for a Friday night and looking for a great steak, Capital Grille was my first pick. The interior was a terrific mix of a super modern building with very traditional art deco furnishings and lighting. Our server was very knowledgeable and his timing was impeccable. We started with Mozzarella wrapped in Prosciutto with balsamic vinegar and tomatoes. It was absolutely perfect. My peppercorn crusted steak with Courvoisier cream sauce was a little overpowering, so I scraped off the peppercorns and it was otherwise cooked at the proper temperature and tasty. We had the truffle fries and green beans for sides. Of course anything prepared with truffle oil is going to be yummy, but surprisingly the green beans were quite memorable. For dessert we had strawberries and it was the perfect finish to the perfect meal. Ironically, the check was less than we thought it would be.
Liked: Steak, Food, Service, Wine list, Atmosphere, Decor, Selection

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnhQuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Hidden from the busy and crowded streets of touristic Hoi An. Nice and quite with a fantastic atmosphere. Food is really good (try the water spinach with garlic) and affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathijsbroekhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Hoi An”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great place to eat. Just off the busy street you enter a beautifiul and quiet place to enjoy authentic vietnamese food. Service is great the food is scrumpteous and the atmosphere calming. Your host Quy is very accommodating and there is no hurry to leave. Do yourself a favour and visit this restaurant while you are in Hoi An.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya_carmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ghecko. Hidden Gem.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It would be easy to walk past the entrance to this hidden gem and not know. It was the best food I ate in Hoi An. The Crab soup was easily twice as flavoursome as any other I tried, and I tried a few. Every dish ordered in 3 visits by 3 people were excellent.

BLUE GECKO RESTAURANT & BARmore info‎
341 Nguyễn Duy Hiệu, tp. Hội An
Quang Nam province, Vietnam
+84 90 560 74 63
restauranthoian.com‎

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing