We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Beach Bar”

Soul Kitchen Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 752 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal Beach Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I see some sharp criticism here of the food. Can't really speak to it since our tapas & ice cream cake (it was someone's bday & everyone got a piece!) was all free. & who can complain about free?

I can comment on the drinks & atmosphere which were both top notch. Extensive cocktail menu. Highly attentive service. Comfy loungy seating. Low hanging orange lamps that swayed in the ocean breeze. Clearly a lot of regulars. Good mix of expats & locals. And a fantastic acoustic duo playing favorites like Radiohead's "Karma Police" & REM's "Losing My Religion." My husband & I spent 2-3 very happy hours here. I plan to return to Hoi An & to this bar!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    229
    65
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

After having recommendations to try Soul Kitchen we were very disappointed. It does have a great location but our food was inconsistently cooked and I ended up with an upset stomach all night. I think it would be fine during the summer months but not during the slower winter months.

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place, food need attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We really liked the afternoon spent at Soul Kitchen kicking back playing pool and having a few snacks and drinks. The place certainly has a better atmosphere and layout than the majority of the plain boring restaurants that line the beach.

The food was mostly good but I had Ostrich which was not properly cooked, the meat was thin at the ends and thick in the middle where it was still raw. Rookie mistake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“soul kitchen hoi an”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Travelled today to Soul kitchen and as someone else noted NO SOUL the food I ordered the large shrimp and basil pasta, came out four prawns still with heads on and a very dry basil pasta. Explained to waitress and bartender what a johnny walker red was, partners fish and chips dismal, ordered a glass of wine which tasted like vinegar, I cannot believe people rave on about this restaurant I would not waste my time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just spent five days at An Bang beach Hoi An and ate at this restaurant a few times ....
Wow ...We loved the mix of food and the quality of food..Always perfect....To watch the beach and enjoy quality dining is just fantastic.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Kitchen Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Soul Kitchen Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing