We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Stars for Bon cafe!”
Review of BON cafe.restaurant - CLOSED

BON cafe.restaurant
Price range: $1 - $3
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 Stars for Bon cafe!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were first tempted to sit down try out Bon Cafe when a group of westerners waved us over claiming the food was delicious.. they were right.

The owner Loi, suggested we first have the platter which was a combination of Hoi An specialities - it was super tasty! And of course we went on to order more as our appetites were wet - I suspect it was one of the nicest meals we had in Vietnam.

The staff are friendly and helpful and ambiance is really quite special.

We decided to book a food tour through Bon Cafe where we set off on bicycles in the morning to see how the greens are grown and got the opportunity to try many of the herbs straight from the fields which we washed down with a delicious local syrupy farmer beverage that helps keeps energy up (we were originally told that the strange looking bits inside the drink were tad pole eggs by the guide - It wasn't! which was very disappointing indeed)

The cooking session was a real treat and good fun, our guide and head chef was lovely, funny and very knowledgeable.

Thank you Loi, thank you Le Bon cafe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mifsud87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a disaster”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we fall into this restaurant on the way back to the city. This is not good at all. dishes are poorly presented, the food has no taste!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonkinoise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great city stop!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was great. We had tasting plates, all of them scrumptious. The ginger tea was to die for.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Violet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Refuel for more sightseeing!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant was great for lunch and to take a break from all the scooters and shops! The staff were friendly and keen to show how each dish should be eaten (do you mix ingredients and toss, do you wrap in a pancake, do you eat with your fingers or chopsticks) and were especially pleased when we ordered hot ginger tea and then asked for more water to top up the pots. The white rose dumplings and the pancakes were a highlight, but everything was tasty and fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant has a marvellous outdoor courtyard/patio area that is very romantic. I have to say it was one of the more memorable meals that I had in Hoi An. Because of its location, a 10 minute walk east from the centre of Hoi An, some might not make it here. that would be a shame. the setting is quaint, modern, clean, and welcoming. The food is imaginative and very tasty. The price was reasonable and the service was friendly without being intrusive. it is worth the walk - try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank spydaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BON cafe.restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing