We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking location between beach and town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Ranked #86 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cracking location between beach and town”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Good quality accommodation - we got upgraded too and it was a very good price. Nice pool, close to the beach and town (you can walk to the latter but not the former!) and they have bikes which you can borrow... just beware on the bikes though as we had ours stolen from town and we had a 3 day tour with their security guard looking to locate them, about 10 discussions with the hotel and a trip to the police to try and resolve matters as it wasn't our fault - they were locked and in a place we thought was safe. We're writing to the manager to get them to review their policy or get insurance in place so you don't get charged in situations like this. That aside the staff were very helpful, the food was reasonable and the cocktails at the poolside were excellent! Would stay again if we are lucky enough to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    293
    94
    25
    20
See reviews for
119
313
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lovely hotel. We arrived at 7am as we'd taken the night bus from Nha Trang and knew our room wouldnt be ready till after 12, but they had bathrooms on the ground floor we could use to shower after the long journey, which was great. Its also really close to the bus drop off point! The room was nice and clean, although it did smell quite smokey, but we opened the windows, so it wasnt too bad! he bathroom was spacious and clean. Free buffet (large selection) breakfast included with the room, with a guy making yummy eggs to order! They also had a beautiful swimming pool and surrounding sun bed area, although it wasnt heated so we didnt use it! Staff were really helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom hotel and we arrived quite late to Danang airport. The hotel does organise airport pick ups but unfortunately they didn't respond to my email. We had a good stay, buffet breakfast wasn't bad - room was clean enough and the staff were friendly. (Outside the room, it was untidy but nothing to deter us). Tuc at the reception helped us book our train journey from Hue to Hanoi and the Easy Rider trip to Hue. We also exchanged our money at the hotel which was a very good rate (£1=35,000dong). They have a pool (which we didn't use) and bike rental so we got a lot from the price we paid! Catering staff couldn't speak English well and therefore was hard to determine whether they used different pans when cooking ham and the veg for omelettes.

Located a little far from central Hoi An - and therefore we found a little difficulty in getting back to the hotel from Hoi An.


Booked the hotel from booking.com which was very easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Sunshine made our Hoi An visit amazing. The staff are very helpful and went out of their way to serve us The rooms are spacious and clean, well worth the price. Breakfast has a wide variety and the pool is clean and quiet. The free bike rental was a great bonus as well.

All in all, an excellent stay outside the ancient town, halfway to An Bang beach. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 9 nights in April. Brought along two more adults and two small children.

You enter this hotel and the lobby seems really open and welcoming. Off to the right is a doorway to the pool, a bit further in on the right the entrance to the dining room.

Staff is really nice. Pool is small and perfect. You can eat at small tables near the pool if you want to be outside for meals.

Guests talk to each other and feel very much at ease. We met wonderful people from New Zealand and Australia.

Rooms are fine, we were on the fourth floor, no problems. They are big and clean.

Dining room choices are good, we ate lunch and dinner there several times.

The small resto directly opposite the hotel was excellent. A family runs it, seems like one person working with one frying pan and doing a great job. When the place is busy you have to wait a while. Beer was 4,000 dong. I am not a beer drinker but had it at every meal.

Also opposite the hotel, to the right, is a small spa with all sorts of treatments, good prices, excellent standard of work and lovely owners. It opened up recently. The spa in the hotel did not seem busy to me, I did not try it.

People have mentioned bugs - they are all over Hoi An it seems. There are no screens anywhere and the creatures can go wherever they want. Bring insect repellent.

Old town is very touristy, has lost a lot of the magic it had years ago. Beaches are nice.

The hotel offers various tours, bikes are free and overall - this is a terrific place to have an inexpensive holiday. The hotel van took us to and from Danang airport for about $20 US each way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lactmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, two adults and son. Was a great stay. The bonus is the free bikes and has a great pool. We loved the breakfasts included in the price. The place is very new and the rooms are clean. The beds were large and new. This is compared to some slightly out of town but that is a good thing. It is only minutes to bike to town or to the beaches. After the busy ancient town and markets it is a lovely to come back here. The hotel staff are very helpful. Highly recommend this place

Room Tip: The high rooms have lovely views to the rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topchick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been to Hoi An a number of times and while I enjoy the town, some of the options for accommodation have been pretty shocking, particularly with how rude the staff can be. However, this place is absolutely great, the rooms were clean, the staff friendly, it's ideally located between the town and the beach. Best place I've stayed at in Hoi An, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 147 in Hoi An
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#64 of 147 in Hoi An
605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#90 of 147 in Hoi An
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#9 of 147 in Hoi An
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
#23 of 147 in Hoi An
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel Hoi An
Jade Hotel Hoi An
#10 of 147 in Hoi An
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Property: Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 36 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing