We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here recently having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our group were all pleasantly surprised with the facilities of this hotel. Rooms booked were the Standard and Deluxe and we were all happy with the quality of the room. Room was large and bathroom was excellent. Staff very accommodating and bikes were handy, and always ready for use. Pool was one of the features especially as it is in the shade in the afternoon, and big enough for a decent swim. Most hotels are outside the heritage listed area in Hoi An, but town was accessible by bike, taxi or walking. Taxi was very cheap and arrived promptly after booking.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony look out over pool which is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    289
    91
    25
    17
See reviews for
116
308
49
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights when travelling Viet Nam in March / April 2013. The hotel in recently built and very new, this is the only reason i have marked it down slightly, it lacks a hotel feel and atmosphere its very clinical, but im sure as it gets worn in it will delevope into a great little hotel. It costs approx 15$ pppn. The hotel is clean and tidy as you would expect with a new hotel asnd to be honest is one of the cleanist i stayed in while travelling. The food is average nothing great nor does it make you ill, however it is does not really cater for western travellers appitite.The staff are friendly and helpfull and the hotel offers many services. Again as i found by with most hotels in Viet Nam the hotel pick up from the airport is very expensive unless you have a free collection service so just get na taxi. The location is great, once you have found your way round, Hoi An is a maze of back streets and you seen miles from the town but your now it is like half a mile!. Moped can be hired from the hotel at a cost of approx 3$ a day and there is also free pushbikes but the mopeds are a better choice to explore the quiet town.

Nice cheap and clean hotel with pool.

Warning!!! this hotel when i was there only takes CASH NO CARDS !!

Room Tip: ask for pool view or you will get the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlingWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here during my visit to Ho An
A nice hotel with good spacious rooms clean and comfortable
Thought not in the old city part was not too far for a walk or cycle ride
Breakfast was good
Just had one complain did not have the wake up call on both nights that i stayed there
the restaurant serves decent veg options.
overall stay was fine

Room Tip: Chose rooms on top floor for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameya_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel, and the first thing that comes to mind is that we wished we stayed more!
Rooms are spacious and well-kept, and the complimentary fruit plate is a very nice touch, and the swimming pool is nice.
The rooms are big, clean and the staff were wonderful - especially the breakfast and dinner staff. I thought the breakfast had great choices and we ended up eating dinner there a few times as the food was so good - in fact much better than we had experienced in some restaurants in town.
The location of the hotel is halfway between the An Bang Beach and Hoi An town. It's a good 15 minute walk, 5 minute cycle or a short cab ride to town. The hotel provides free bikes for guests and it's a great way to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tu n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen D, Owner at Sunshine Hotel Hoi An, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
thank a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We hired a Deluxe double (the one with balcony) and Standard twin (the cheaper one with bars on the window but has 3 beds), good generous room sizes and very comfortable. Great bicycle service with dedicated attendant to bring bikes out, pump tyres etc, heaps of people using the bikes some even had baby seats. The ride/walk into town can be taken many ways through back streets if you want to avoid the main roads, there seems to be a lot of small scale new development in this area. Lots of little pool halls around if that's your thing. Location was just right for us as we spent some time in town, some at the hotel pool and some out at An Bang beach.

The pool is excellent about 5'2" deep ok for diving into the deep end, there's a little ledge at the shallow end to sit on also handy for kids. Given that it was extremely hot when we stayed it was nice to get a bit of shade around the pool in the afternoons.

Hotel are happy to organise services for a modest fee such as delivery and booking of train tickets and airport transfers. We also hired electric bicycles from the stall owner outside the hotel which was handy.

Mini bar and restaurant prices are very cheap compared to other hotels e.g. 450 ml Saigon beer 15,000 (about 70c) sitting by the pool. Breakfast had good variety but the other restaurant food was fairly ordinary, not bad but not good either. The restaurant next door or across the road offer better options.

Will definitely go here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in during our 4 months travelling. The rooms were modern, clean and nicely sized. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was generous.

The only issue with this hotel that I can see is the location. For us this was not at all a problem as they had a complimentary bike hire service which allowed us to be in the centre of town in 5 minutes.

The staff were the friendliest that we met in Vietnam and they really made this hotel special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great specs, great staff and great service! We stayed here after a long trip around Asia and this was definitely one of the best places! The service was top notch and the staff were all very polite and accommodating, especially the front desk. Our room was fantastic and they even upgraded us to a bigger room because the one we booked on Agoda was full. Upon check in, they gave us cold water and a fruit plate as well as nice tour of the hotel with advice about the town.
The breakfast buffet was full of Western and Eastern delights and I loved the fresh juices and banana shakes for free each morning. The pool was well worth it and we spent more time there than we would have expected!
The only service that was not spectacular was my massage in the hotel spa. My masseuse was only 18 years old and it was obvious she wasn't as strong as I would have liked, but she tried nonetheless! I think I would go elsewhere for a massage if I were you.
The free bikes are a great addition as it is about a 15 minute bike ride away to the center. But we needed the exercise, so we didn't mind at all.
TIP: If you have time, go up the road and turn left onto a road that goes through the rice paddies. Biking through the ducks and buffalo was one of my favorite activities (and free)!
Enjoy! It's worth the mid-range price to stay here!

Room Tip: There are two rooms 101 and 102 that are not over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#8 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#49 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#58 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#81 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel Hoi An
Jade Hotel Hoi An
#9 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Spa
Venus Hotel & Spa
#7 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Property: Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 36 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing