We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed experience!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We(4 of us) had one of the worst experience in our trip in this hotel. First of all, this is little too far from the town but that's ok. We biked to places. The hotel has swimming pool and great breakfast buffett.

When we stayed there, I had to book a separate room for one night and they gave me a room in 5th floor which didn't have any elevator. So basically I have to take the elevator to 4th floor and then carry all my stuff to the 5th floor. They didn't even offer help. I'm at least ok with that but then two of my friends' money got stolen. We were so shocked that something like that has happened to us.The owner and the girl at the reception really tried their best to solve the issue. They even showed the video footage in which we can see the maids going into the room with no cleaning supplies and then coming back after few mins and then going again with cleaning stuff.

They paid for the car trip to the airport which is nice but still $250 in Vietnam is a great deal of money and losing it caused some issues for my friends since they were hoping to do some shopping. And then the hotel told us that they can't take credit card and they wanted only cash. After we told them that we can't do that since we need the cash to use in places where only cash is allowed, somehow the credit card machine miraculously worked.

Hotel is good, food is good, most of the staff is great. If it was not for the stolen money and credit card fiasco, I would have rated higher. Overall a mixed experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    289
    92
    25
    19
See reviews for
116
308
50
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 other friends in a clean, airy, fairly spacious triple room. Breakfast was good. Lovely pool and loungers. Enjoyed the location as beach and town easily reachable on the free bikes. Staff friendly.

Bathroom was nicely decorated and clean but gap between bath and wall meant that every shower ended up flooding the bathroom unless a 'dam' of towels was placed around the bath. Also we were in room 109 directly above the restaurant area looking out over the pool - this really should not have been a problem. However, every morning just before 6am a racket of clattering cuttlery, banging gas bottles and shifting crockery began - this was frustrating as I am sure the commotion could have been reduced considerably by exercising a little consideration for the guests paying to sleep!

All in all this hotel ticked the boxes for our stay, and would have got 4* if the morning disturbance had been a one off. I would recommend staying here, but would advise avoiding the first 2 floors until the kitchen staff have had a few lessons in general hotel courtesy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely - spacious rooms, helpful staff, everywhere clean and new. Tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary fresh fruit in room. We did send some laundry to be done and it was returned un-ironed which wasn't very helpful. Breakfast was good - pool looked inviting. As everywhere is flat it is easy to cycle around with the hotel's free bikes. I would say though that I felt we were a bit too far out of town. I didn't like walking back in the evening along quiet and only partially lit streets. The hotel was great but I would have preferred it nearer to town. However on the upside we arrived on the bus from Hue and the hotel was only a couple of hundred yards from the bus stop.
Warning - we asked for an early morning call and it was forgotten. Fortunately we were up anyway.

Room Tip: We had a room with bars at the window - not sure why. Rooms further along the corridor had balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel, and the first thing that comes to mind is that we wished we stayed more!
The hotel is still very new, so it is very clean. Rooms are spacious and well-kept, and the complimentary fruit plate is a very nice touch.
Breakfast was very good and there was a good choice, and the swimming pool is big enough to do a few laps.
What made all the difference was the staff: they really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. One example: we needed shampoo (real one, not the one from the hotel), and 5 minutes later, it was delivered to our room with a smile! They were also most helpful to book a private car for the airport transfer (cheaper than a taxi), give us some advice on where to eat (Morning Glory, so good we went 3 times!), etc.
For sure, next time we go to Hoi An, we know where to go!
Thank you to all the staff at Sunshine Hotel and keep up the good work. It's not often that we find this quality of service in Vietnam...

Room Tip: Rooms 501, 502 and 503 are close to the water-boiler and it gets a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriceDLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel from the time I first walked into the hotel I felt totally relaxed,it has a lovely pool the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is amazing good choice of fresh juices,hot asianfood,toast,pancakes,omelette fruit tea coffee you couldn't fault it.i stayed here for 6 nights and had a lovely relaxing time and it was great to use the free bicycles to get around so much fun,slightly out of town but its a lovely walk in the evening loved every minute of my stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrythomsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's fairly new and it's absolutely nice and affordable! Room & toilet were clean, they even serve us welcome fruit platter! What a nice touch... Breakfast is included and there's a pool & wifi in the hotel. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassielelolea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, nice hotel, shame the sun is only on the pool till about 2.30pm. Food was okay, nice staff, rooms were very spacious and clean, quirky bathroom, with 2 showers. Great to have free bicycles to get you around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#8 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#50 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#59 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#82 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel Hoi An
Jade Hotel Hoi An
#10 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Spa
Venus Hotel & Spa
#9 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Property: Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 36 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing