We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
265
274
112
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
274
112
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfree shuttlefamily suitenice poolstayed here for nightsshuttle servicetaxi ridebaorelaxing stayvietnamrenovationsunbedsbalconiesmassagespastaxistours
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 722 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here over new years for 4 nights and for the price it was an absolute waste of money. The reception staff were rude and did not speak English. The rooms were average and the bathroom was poorly designed so the shower flooded every time we used it. Hot water wasn't always available for showering either and our toilet didn't flush for the last two days of our stay. We had to pay $93.00US for a 'compulsory' gala dinner and it was the worst meal I have ever eaten, totally bland, flavorless and served cold.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

When we were headed to Hoi An I really wanted to stay on the beach. River Beach Resort was the only place where I could do this within my budget (okay it's not quite on the beach but only 2 mins away).

It's still not a cheap hotel but it's certainly the cheapest by the sea and you do get what you pay for.

First the positives - the room was big and clean, the view out over the river was spectacular and in general the hotel location between sea and river is absolutely lovely. The staff are very very friendly and helpful too - and that really made the stay special.

The negatives - well the breakfast didn't change in the week and while it was essentially okay the pastries could have been a lot fresher and in general it was all a little uninspired.

As regards the building work, having read previous TripAdvisor reviews we were worried about noise from builders. We contacted them twice ahead of our trip and we were assured that the building work had come to an end. It hadn't. However, they obviously made an effort to keep the noise to an absolute minimum and because the work was being carried out to the roof it wasn't noticeable most of the time. Still, we didn't appreciate being lied too. That said, if you are headed there and are worried about building noise, then don't be.

On the whole the place was very quiet and relaxing - give or take the breakfast time annoying muzak and slightly noisy Russian neighbours we had for a couple of days of our stay. Also we did ask them to stop spraying the grounds at midnight with a machine that sounded like an electric drill - to be fair they did, straight away.

So not perfect and if it's price alone that you want to book on then you're better off staying in the centre and doing without a pool or the sea. But if you want both and the likes of the Life Resort are just too expensive then you won't regret booking this place.

There is room for improvement but it's a pretty decent hotel. I live in Hanoi so Hoi An is a fairly frequent escape. I could imagine, in the future, heading there with a larger group - safe in the knowledge that it would be both affordable and acceptable to all.

* Finally - I also wanted to say that if you head straight out of the hotel - the restaurant shack directly across the road is run by the very helpful Miss Hoa. The food is great and we ate there very cheaply almost every night and she also helped us with all sorts from hiring a taxi to finding presents to take home for family. A very nice lady with a lovely family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourmanwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

6 nights in Family Suite on river side of hotel; Couple with 1 child; long-time expat residents of Vietnam.

Pros:
Hotel & rooms generally tidy & in good condition; staff genuinely friendly & well-intentioned; not many Hoi An hotels offer conjoining rooms at an affordable rate; located directly across street from beach (50 meters away); staff's English quite capable in variety of situations/contexts

Cons:
Not one of the 'expat-ish resorts' in Hoi An but rather 'quite Vietnamese'; breakfast choices changed once in 6 days; 2 midnight calls to reception an hour apart required before staff acted on our request to ask the local fisherman to move his loud diesel boat away from the front of our room (on our first night there!); renovations (some quite major) seem to be going on all the time - workmen all around the resort (though not in late afternoon or PM); internet throughout resort yes but streaky at best - on one hour, off the next.

I decided on 'yes' to recommend but I'd only do so after making it clear what to expect. Overall an OK place, especially for its location and good rates.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

They are re-roofing one wing and adding an addition. It's concrete construction so there is a lot of jack-hammering and sledge-hammer work going on. To be fair, however, we heard nothing until after 9AM and slept very well (first floor room by the pool).

The construction will take several weeks, judging by the manual labor and scale of the job. If you have not yet booked here, I'd recommend booking elsewhere. If you have booked but can cancel without penalty, do that. If you are booked and are within the penalty window, insist on a first floor room.

The resort is very so-so, probably average for Hoi An beach resorts. It's out of the way, a 60VND/3USD cab ride to the old city. Not much to do here, so I don't see the point in booking out here unless you enjoy huge ocean waves (nobody's swimming) or just sitting by the pool.

The resort itself is pleasant. Frogs croaking in the pond last night but the kitchen staff caught them all last night to serve to us today for dinner. Yuk. Breakfast buffet is boring, same cereals/eggs/noodles as everywhere else. Bread in Vietnam is awful, what a surprise! I thought the French had taught them how to make bread!

The staff is eternally smiling and fawning but clueless...no maps of Hoi An and no advice about the area unless you want to pay for overpriced tours. Go out the entrance, turn left, and head for Bao Han restaurant with the signboard for laundry, bus tours, currency conversion etc. Great food, great hostess with a fine sense of humor and good wine list, and she can arrange everything you need at half the price of the tour desk.

On a budget? We arrived from Hue on the bus and the hostess at the hotel where the bus pulls in has rooms for 8USD/person/night, and they even have a pool. About one-tenth what we're paying here. And no cab ride needed to get to downtown.

We are taking a bike ride this afternoon with Heaven and Earth, again book it directly on their website (see TA Activities for the URL) because they charge 1/6 of the tour desk price.

Enjoy Hoi An, it's very pleasant! But we would just stay downtown if we had it to do over.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I awoke this morning at 7am to jackhammering and hammering. We were not only not informed of this prior to checking in, but were told that "all guests should be up at 7 am anyways" as a response. The staff is robotic and cold. The bathrooms flood easily, the roof has chipped paint and the food is subpar. All I can say is that this place is not as advertised. Either splurge an extra 10-20 dollars and stay at the Victoria, or stay at a cheaper hotel. This hotel is awful and needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyOn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews