We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fundamentally bad.”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #109 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The air conditioning never cooled the room, the food was abysmal , the shower curtain reeked , the floors never free from grit. This "resort" is a resort in name only. I went to the "spa" hoping to find relief from the odor of the bay, but was greeted with the site of two men in the midst of their massages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear pricekarla1,

Firstly thank you for providing us with some honest feedback about your stay.We are sorry to hear that the room and services were not suited to the standards you expected and will make improvements with our facilities accordingly. We hope that the remainder of your stay in Vietnam was pleasant.

Best regards.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for River Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 623 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of your with Hoi An Express tours . Our room was spacious, overlooking the pool and garden . Close to beach . Restaurant had a good menu and reasonably priced . Would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear LalaVictoria,

Thank you for your feedback. We also find the River Beach with its unique location is perfect to relax. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and restaurants menu. If you return to Hoi An we will be pleased to host you again.


Best wishes.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staid for more than a week with whole Family, (grown up children). I had selected the Hotel for my 60 year celebration. A memory - location!
We were all very well taken care of and enjoyed all facility. Very nice breakfast with fresh fruit and a varied selection of local specialties’ in the warm food section.
Used the bicycle service nearly every day. Very convenient location both very close to the beach and in perfect cycling distance to Hoi An old town.
Also excellent selection of tours’ and coach services.
Special thanks to all personnel in the reception and Ms Hien and Mr Toan who gave us several insights and tips’ during our stay.
Would love to come back!

Room Tip: Select room with river view on the upper floor! Quiet, No noise from traffic or pool area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Người quản lý at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Sang svan,

At first,thank you so much for your time spent with us and your great comments . we appreciated.
We just received an Award of Excellence 2014 from Trip Advisor. This is very nice and we would like to say thanks to all our guests.
We hope to see u again.
we wish you all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Location is not a strength if you are looking for a direct beach front hotel. You have to walk across a street and some local restaurant to reach the beach. Not many shops arount either.
Nice pool and the room is fairly good. Pleasant stay but without excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Người quản lý at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear XuTo,

At first,thank you so much for your time spent with us and your great comments . we appreciated.
We just received an Award of Excellence 2014 from Trip Advisor. This is very nice and we would like to say thanks to all our guests.
We hope to see u again.
we wish you all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at midnight, which wasn't ideal. The resort was almost pitch black. But when we woke the next morning we could see how beautiful this hotel is. Yes it is aging, but the entire resort was clean and tidy. Rooms were very spacious and we had a balcony over looking the pond and the pool.
Staff were helpful.
Buffet breakfast has a large choice.
There is a free shuttle into town but within walking distance of the hotel there are shops and lots of restaurants right on the beach.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lozza8209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear Lozza8209,

It is pleasing to hear that you found the hotel to meet all your needs. We are delighted that you took advantage of the free shuttle service and that you had a good view and impression of the types of rooms on offer. We look forward to hosting again and thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in May. Location is excellent if you wanna be near the beach, just a 2 min walk across the road, hotel has an area with loungers reserved for people at there hotel for free. few little shops around the hotel and great spa on the right as your coming out of the hotel, got hot stone massage there for 10 dollar for 1.5 hours. Lobby of hotel nice and staff very welcoming and helpful. Pool area lovely with pool beds, cocktails from bar are good. Room was big and beds comfortable, balcony was big with table and chairs and lovely view of the river. room was a bit dated though. We ate in the restaurant for lunch one day and dinner the next, on both occasions I had an upset tummy. Breakfast wasn't great but omelettes were nice.

Make sure you get a taxi down to the Hoi An old town, is amazing at night lighted up by lanterns.

Room Tip: don't eat in restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Người quản lý at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Sasha,

At first,thank you so much for your time spent with us and your great comments . we appreciated.
We just received an Award of Excellence 2014 from Trip Advisor. This is very nice and we would like to say thanks to all our guests.
We hope to see u again.
we wish you all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked into the resort for two days, stayed eight and wished we had stayed even longer. The reception staff led by K Trang is welcoming, accommodating and extremely professional, they are genuinely interested in you, nothing is too much trouble. Had a terrific room near the pool, with king sized bed and great aircon. The breakfast was sensational and generous, the best we have had in Vietnam, a good range of food to choose from and a table piled high with all manner of tropical fruits. This a a great location as there is a lovely sea breeze and you will be cooler than if you stay in the town. We are definitely returning to this resort next year for at least a week

Room Tip: Ask for K Trang at reception to help you
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjatpatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Người quản lý at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your nice review about us, I passed the message to all my team and special thanks to Trang for making your stay so special. Please believe that is has been a real pleasure to welcome you at River Beach Resort and We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#85 of 159 in Hoi An
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#77 of 159 in Hoi An
1,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#66 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $45 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cua Dai Beach, River-Beach Resort offers rooms with cable TV and free internet access. The Resort features a pool. The resort is 4.8 km from Japanese Bridge and 16.2 km from Marble Mountains. Rooms at River-Beach have balconies overlooking the pool, garden or De Vong River. A minibar and safety deposit boxes are available. Sightseeing tours can be arranged at the resort’s tour desk. Guests can savour traditional Vietnamese dishes at Cyclo Café and Restaurant, located along De Vong River. Cham Pub offers drinks and evening entertainment. River Beach Resort & Residences situated in the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site-Hoi An where the De Vong River meets the South China Sea, right at the heart of Cua Dai Beach. The Lagoon Pool area and Coconut Palm Garden are the most beautiful places to enjoy the sun bath and relaxing cocktail or meal with a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing