We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #111 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean rooms, comfortable bed, and pretty average spa, though it's comparably inexpensive. The buffet breakfast is sub par. Bear in mind the hotel is not directly on the beach, it's about 7-10 mins of walk. The hotel provides with a voucher to present at the affiliated beach cafe, which provides with umbrellas and beach chairs. Might need to buy drinks and snacks as a courtesy.

An unpleasant incident at check out: even though i presented a printout of agoda booking, which already charged my card, the receptionists wouldn't let us go until they physically charged my card right there. As a result, they made us running late to the airport and i had to deal with my bank for weeks after the holiday. It makes one wonder if it were the first time they had customers with agoda booking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNotes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Aciellia B,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel staff and services. We highly appreciate your efforts since your comments are very important to us.

Regarding the issue, we really do apologise for the inconvenience that we've caused you. We admit that we still commit such mistakes and are currently working on our improvements for our existing and future guests.

We hope to see you and welcome you once again when you get the chance to go back to Hoi An Town.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 636 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent 6 out of a planned 7 nights here mid OCT. 1st night missed because of cancelled flight due to typhoon.
We arrived to see aftermath, hotel had been evacualted night before, beach facilities blown away, lots of damage to roof.
Determination to clean up was massive and although they had to close pool and beach bar they did an excellent job. Very littel impact on us.
The rooms are large, clean and very functional but the balconies have a rather pathetic wooden lattice separating from next room. They offer no privacy and there are nice calming views to be enjoyed from these balconies.
Rooms lack any sound proofing and early morning staff (6am) although talking in a low voice can still be heard as per people passing outside.
It was the 1st place we experienced the Vietnamese way of serving food as it is cooked ie. starters can arrived after main courses. We were a bit put out and couldn't get them to understand starters before mains but then found it happened in a number of places.
Cannot fault food.
Pity about balconies and lack of soundproofing apart from that nice hotel and area.
Cannot remember which but 1st or 2nd restaurant on left as you leave hotel and turn left, small family run, serves excellent, very inexpensive, food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have best views, no problems with noise from aircon etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Jim T,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

We are happy to hear from you! Many thanks for spending some few minutes in writing us a feedback and comments about our hotel, our amenities, and our services. We give high value to our customers feedback and we would want to improve every little mistakes or shortcomings that we encounter.

We look forward in seeing you again and welcoming you here at the River Beach when you get the chance to get back in Hoi An.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went during a fairly quiet period. Truly relaxing in a good location close to the stunning beaches and within minutes walk of all the beach bars and restaurants. Staff were good and not at all overbearing. Not sure I would come here again as there is so much choice locally.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JontyK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear JontyK69,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel and services. We are very happy to hear from you as your comments are important to us. It is a great pleasure to know that you've enjoyed staying with us.

We do hope that you would stay with us again the next time you visit Hoi An. We will do our best to surpass your expectations next time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We hade booked 5 nights at the hotel. Arriving after the thyphone the seside had suffered a lot but repaier were made quickly and we could use the beach. The hotel swimmingpool was not open the first day but quick repairs cleaned it and we had good times in nice surraundings. The hotel has a perfect location near to Hoi An city and only minutes to the seaside beach. The service in the restaurant, reception and roomservice is very efficient and nice. The free schuttelbus to Hoi An city is a good service . we would have liked to have at return connection also at 10 oclock pm. We took the Vietnam menue one day and the quality and service were in top.

We had a nice room with balkon and river sight. the room need in our opinion a brusch up if the hotel shall be considered as four star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorgen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Jorgen T,

Greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Many thanks for spending the time in writing us a feedback about our facilities, staff, and services. Thank you also for bearing with us during your stay since you got into our hotel right after the Typhoon Nari which caused a lot of damages around the area. Our hard work and perseverance to rebuild everything again from scratch made it easier because of your kind words.

We hope to serve you again the next time you get to visit Hoi An in the near future!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of a private tour of Vietnam and Cambodia (review to follow). This was our relaxing time in the middle of the tour and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hoi An and in particular the location of this resort. Our tour company said it was a 4 star, however, by North American standards this may be a little high. The hotel is about 4 km from the ancient town and we found it to be in a fabulous location right on the river, a minute or two walk to the beautiful sandy beach and in a wonderful spot for viewing local Vietnamese life.

We had a nice large room with an side entry area and full balcony with nice views over the pool and pond. There was good wi-fi, a lovely fruit plate, a fridge and kettle (the breakfast staff kindly let me take a little milk to the room for my tea). The pool was small but adequate for us as we prefer the beach. We enjoyed happy hour in the little gazebo / bar over the river as we watched the fishermen set their nets. We did find some loud hallway noise late one night from an inconsiderate family with extremely noisy children.

We found breakfast to be quite good, but there were a lot of people in a relatively small space. I learned that guests emptied the yogurt tray quickly, but I had success in asking staff for a container once they understood. We had a very tasty dinner one night in the resort, accompanied by live music.

We took a taxi (very reasonable) the short distance back and forth to the old town one day as we did not want to work around the shuttle times and another day took the complimentary shuttle (nice service!) to see the night lights and have dinner in the old town.

Our favourite part of this area was seeing the Vietnamese people making full use of the beach at sunrise and sunset (not out in the heat of the day!), watching the fishermen set and bring in their nets, and seeing the local’s at their early morning daily market (4 or 5 am to 8 am?)...no tourists around but us.

We got up really early for us (4:45 am the 1st day, 4:15 am the next) for sunrise and after watching the fishermen in the river from the resort, we walked the short distance to the bridge for better views—to find the bridge go to the road and turn to your left (with the hotel at your back). Here we had gorgeous sunrise views and were able to watch lots of fishermen bringing in their nets. The bridge was a constant stream of scooters, bicycles, pedestrians and motorcycles heading to the market or the beach. The produce, seafood and meat market is between the hotel and the bridge on the river side...just stand back (out of the way) and watch the action. We went to check out where the rest of the people were going (back past the hotel, to the end of the road and straight ahead to the water) and found the beach full of the local people playing in the water, lying on the beach, exercising, playing volleyball, etc to the rising sun. Quite a special experience and we are so happy to have stumbled upon early morning in Hoi An. (Don’t tell everyone, though, as we don’t want this ruined by a bunch of tourists!)

We would definitely visit Hoi An again and stay at this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear endlesstravelwishes,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time on writing us a very informative feedback and recommendation. We really appreciate all your efforts and your kind words since these are very important to us. The whole River Beach team are very glad to know that we were able to make your stay unforgettable and that you've enjoyed your trip in Hoi An. It is true that one of the most interesting things to see in the morning is watching the Vietnamese people making full use of the beach at sunrise and sunset.

We look forward for your return to Hoi An and hopefully welcome you once again in the River Beach.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel with a girlfriend. We were stuck in the hotel for 2 days during a typhoon Nari, but the owner went out of his way to accommodate our needs. He put DVD player in our room, sent us in a taxi to get DVD's etc. staff were awesome, very nice hotel, the hotel restaurant has lovely food. Beds are very hard though. Spa was closed due to typhoon because it has outside access, which was disappointed. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear cjpark,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Many thanks for writing us a feedback about our hotel, our staff, and our services during your stay at the River Beach. Your kind words are very important to us and are much appreciated by the whole RB Family. Even though you and your friend got stuck in the hotel during the typhoon Nari, we are happy to hear that we were still able to make it up to you by providing you with more services.

We hope to see you again in the near future when you get to visit Hoi An and we'll be more than happy to welcome you!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was part of our 4-star Hoi An express tour package. It's nice but not quite 4 star anymore. That being said, most staff were very nice. The pool was clean and refreshing. Happy hour was decent and the free shuttle to town was a great idea.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Penepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Penepu,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking your time in writing us a feedback about our hotel and our staff. Your comments and feedback are very important to us. Thank you also for choosing the River Beach as your second home during your stay in Hoi An.

We wish you all the best and look forward in welcoming you again in Hoi An the next time you visit!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#71 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $42 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cua Dai Beach, River-Beach Resort offers rooms with cable TV and free internet access. The Resort features a pool. The resort is 4.8 km from Japanese Bridge and 16.2 km from Marble Mountains. Rooms at River-Beach have balconies overlooking the pool, garden or De Vong River. A minibar and safety deposit boxes are available. Sightseeing tours can be arranged at the resort’s tour desk. Guests can savour traditional Vietnamese dishes at Cyclo Café and Restaurant, located along De Vong River. Cham Pub offers drinks and evening entertainment. River Beach Resort & Residences situated in the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site-Hoi An where the De Vong River meets the South China Sea, right at the heart of Cua Dai Beach. The Lagoon Pool area and Coconut Palm Garden are the most beautiful places to enjoy the sun bath and relaxing cocktail or meal with a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing