We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast and comfortable rooms”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 6 nights here with our 3 children. We had an early check-in on arrival at about 11am. They gave us spacious adjacent rooms (though not interconnecting) which were very comfortable and had views over the pool. Breakfast was excellent with fresh eggs, pancakes, fresh bread and cakes all baked in the hotel and a variety of fruit (plus noodles etc. which are not for me in the mornings).
The bar by the river is good for a happy hour drink and sit and enjoy the views. The pool is OK but gets quite busy at times. They have bikes to borrow free of charge which we used to ride into town a couple of times. The shuttle bus to town works well if the timings suit you.
The lovely beach is only a couple of minutes walk away and the hotel has an agreement with a restaurant called Goby on the beach to use their sunbeds and towels at no charge. Prices here are fine and you can have a beer and a decent lunch for not too much.
All round a great beach stay and if you are travelling with children I would recommend staying by the beach rather than in Hoi An town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Tim T,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Many thanks for taking the time in writing us a very informative recommendation and feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated by the whole River Beach staff. Thanks also for choosing the River Beach as your home for 6 nights during your stay in Hoi An Town with your family and kids. We are glad that you've enjoyed most of the services that we offer in the hotel.

We look forward in seeing you again in the future when you get to visit Hoi An next time!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading a few reviews we were a little nervous abou staying here. We booked two nights as the hotel we were staying in the old town was not available for our entire stay in Hoi An.

We were very pleasantly surprised from the beginning, the check in process was a breeze (and very friendly). Friends arrived before us and no issue with them checking in even though the booking for both rooms was in my name.

The rooms were the real surprise packet. We were lucky enough to get two rooms on the ground floor facing the river. Although the rooms were a little dated and the bathroom in need of a refurb compared with other newer hotels we have stayed in, the river aspect and sitting area more than made up for this.

Unfortunately last on the first night one side of our very large bed broke. I think this has happened before as staff quickly understood and fixed it while we were having breakfast the next morning.

The dial to control the fridge temperature was missing and after a day we realised why our drinks weren't getting cod, the fridge was set on the lowest temperature, again easily resolved.

Breakfast was a little disappointing as the pancakes were served cold, not freshly cooked like many hotels. The sauté eggplant however was fantastic, just a shame it was only available on the first day.

Free bike rental was great. On day 2 when my tyre defatted during the ride, there was no issue when my friend rode back ahead of my and got my partner to ride back with to bikes so I didn't have to walk all the way back to hotel. Unlike some hotels which return damaged bikes to 'stock', security out the bike aside and began fixing it.

Some of the feedback around the pool I found a little unfair. Yeast times it can be busy but the hotel cannot predict usage. We could generally get a lounge but the issue when we stayed was other guest who left used towels in the lounges rather walking 5-10 metres to return them, making it look like the lounge was in use when it wasn't. One group were so lazy they took our unused towels from our lounge rather than walking 5 metres to when the towels were kept. Short of having the area patrolled (something that would feel uncomfortable) there isn't much the hotel can do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacalyn Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear wackijac,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences!

Firstly, thank you for choosing the River Beach as your second home during your 2 night stay here in Cua Dai area in Hoi An. We would like to send your deepest gratitude as well for taking the time in writing us a long and informative feedback about our resort, staffs, services, and facilities. Your comments are very important to us.

The whole team is glad to hear that you and your partner had a smooth check in at the River Beach. We always try to do the best that we can to satisfy every guest that we meet. Though you've had a couple of troubles with the rooms that you were staying at, we are still thankful for being such understanding guests and for letting us correct our honest mistakes.

The River Beach Resort team is working hard on improving our facilities and services to better satisfy existing and future guests.

Once again, thank you for your generosity and kindness. We look forward in welcoming you once again when you get the chance to visit Hoi An next time!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This has to be one of the best Hotels we stopped in on a two week trip around Vietnam. Close to beach, enough shopping nearby, huge rooms with a large patio. Nice pool with handy bar with nightly happy hour. Great breakfast with lots of choices, serenating (two Amigos) in the evenings for your entertainment.
Dont miss along the road "Daddy day care centre" better know as Twist Restaurant/bar run by ex pat Aussie,David, who gave good advise on where to eat.His best advise, if you are looking for a taylor, is to see Mr Minh, 62 Phan Tinh St, Cua Dai beach Hoi An. Our wives went mad and he made everthing they wanted, beautiful workman ship.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Paul H,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you so much for choosing the River Beach as your second home during your stay in Hoi An and for taking some time in writing us a feedback about our hotel, staff, facilities and our services. Your comments are very important to us.

We look forward in welcoming you again the next time you visit us here!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A good quality resort with large and comfortable rooms. Nice outlook to the river if your room is on that side (we had 218). Very close to a lovely beach and good range of restaurants, tailors and other shops.

Breakfast offers a good variety of dishes, and omelletes are excellent. We found staff to be friendly and helpful, although a number on front desk were limited with english speaking.

The Thaio Giang massage salon right at entrance is excellent, with friendly and highly skilled staff. Across the road and closer to the beach the "House of Lan Vo" proved to a tailor providing great service, good value and excellnet quality tailored clothes - no need to look elsewhere.

Overall a pleasant resort and will be back.

Room Tip: 218 is wel located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BARGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear BARGK,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for spending some time in writing us a feedback and recommendations. Your comments are very important to us. Thanks also for choosing the River Beach Resort as your second home during your stay in Hoi An! We are glad that you had a good time and that we were able to satisfy you with our services. Though we are still on the process of improving our staffs English skills, we try our best to make your stay unforgettable.

We look forward in meeting and welcoming you again when you get the chance to drop by Hoi An next time!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We found this hotel hard to fault. The staff were really friendly and kind. They accidentally booked us into a room with a single bed but easily moved us to one with two singles with no problems and were extremely nice about it. The complimentary breakfast was a large buffet with lots to chose from. However, it is often very busy so you feel rushed to eat and there is no sense of intimacy when dining.
We ordered room service one night and ate our meal on the balcony which was nice. The chocolate mousse isn't great, but the ice-cream is fantastic. The view across the river is nice, although the space beyond the palm trees is a bit dreary.
The pool was almost always populated by noisy children and there isn't a lot of space to swim away from them. The pool lounges are few and far between so unless you grab one early, they will be taken up during the day by others. Often the pool splashing moistened the grass around the pool and turned it into a dirty sludge. Yet, when the kids are gone, it is nice to swim about at night with a few cocktails.
The room was really well presented, with large comfy beds and modern furniture. We had our clothes laundered and the only fault in that regard was that they delivered the completed clothes the next morning at 7am, waking us up from a planned sleep-in.
The hotel is close to the beach but when we went to go for a swim, the few private lounges were all taken and we had to leave our stuff on the sand. The hotel isn't close to town, so you can't walk there.
Still, it was definitely one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in for that price and would definitely stay there again if we came back to Hoi An one day.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank young_coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear young_coconut,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thanks for spending some time in writing us an informative feedback about our facilities and services here at the River Beach. We would also like to send our deepest gratitude for considering and choosing us as your home while visiting Hoi An.

Though we are aware of the fact that our services still has flaws, our staff and management are always on the go to do the best we can in satisfying our guests at all times which we assume that we did just that when you were here.

We look forward in seeing and welcoming you once again when you get the chance to visit Hoi An one more time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The resort has lovely well equipped rooms, very clean and well maintained. Their staff are delightful and efficient.
I stayed at this resort 2 years ago and was happy to go back, I had forgotten about the pool, which although being cleaned and having chemical checks every morning looks very uninviting. It is an odd shade of light green and quite small, as the day goes on the water overlaps onto the lawn, so by the end of the day resembles a waterhole in a swamp.
The hotel is now very popular with the Vietnamese families especially during June and July, who have different ideas about childrens' behaviour. We had to move rooms on the first day because of excessive noise and screaming from the family in the room next door
They also had a open air corporate function one night, which we were warned about. We did not expect it to be so noisy we couldn't even hear the TV. To the staffs' credit they pulled they pulled the plug to the amplifiers shortly after we complained, We were we given a wonderful free dinner in compensation. Best avoided in June and July school holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear pambicoot,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Many thanks for spending some time in writing us a feedback and review about our facilities and services as your comments are very important to us. Again, we apologize for all the troubles that we have caused you during your stay with us but still thankful for your considerations.

The RB Hotel's Management team is doing its best to fix all these issues for your further satisfaction.

We hope to see and welcome you once again here at the River Beach Resort next time you get to visit Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 5, stayed here for 2 nights in 2 connecting rooms.
t is close to the beach, provides free bus rides to town. Also provides free rental bikes, we rode the bikes to explore the surroundings rice fields and nearby villages!
Staffs could be a little more friendlier, like "smile" when greet guests, or answer questions etc!
There was a function during our 1st night, the music was loud but it finished at 9pm. So we had no problem with it. However, I found the hotel guests from North Vietnam to be so rude and loud. They spat in the pool, talked loudly in the hall way until past mid-night. Thanks goodness, we only stayed there 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Julie S,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thanks for spending some time in writing us a feedback and review about our services and facilities. Thank you also for spending 2 nights with us with your family during your stay here in Hoi An. We highly appreciate your generosity and company.

Though we weren't able to satisfy you and your family due to some reasons (e.g., loud music and unsmiling staff), we still hope to see you and serve you once again when you get to visit Hoi An next time. Our management team is doing its best to fix these issues. And for sure we'll do far better service next time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#83 of 162 in Hoi An
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#70 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $43 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cua Dai Beach, River-Beach Resort offers rooms with cable TV and free internet access. The Resort features a pool. The resort is 4.8 km from Japanese Bridge and 16.2 km from Marble Mountains. Rooms at River-Beach have balconies overlooking the pool, garden or De Vong River. A minibar and safety deposit boxes are available. Sightseeing tours can be arranged at the resort’s tour desk. Guests can savour traditional Vietnamese dishes at Cyclo Café and Restaurant, located along De Vong River. Cham Pub offers drinks and evening entertainment. River Beach Resort & Residences situated in the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site-Hoi An where the De Vong River meets the South China Sea, right at the heart of Cua Dai Beach. The Lagoon Pool area and Coconut Palm Garden are the most beautiful places to enjoy the sun bath and relaxing cocktail or meal with a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing