We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not June or July”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #99 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not June or July”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The resort has lovely well equipped rooms, very clean and well maintained. Their staff are delightful and efficient.
I stayed at this resort 2 years ago and was happy to go back, I had forgotten about the pool, which although being cleaned and having chemical checks every morning looks very uninviting. It is an odd shade of light green and quite small, as the day goes on the water overlaps onto the lawn, so by the end of the day resembles a waterhole in a swamp.
The hotel is now very popular with the Vietnamese families especially during June and July, who have different ideas about childrens' behaviour. We had to move rooms on the first day because of excessive noise and screaming from the family in the room next door
They also had a open air corporate function one night, which we were warned about. We did not expect it to be so noisy we couldn't even hear the TV. To the staffs' credit they pulled they pulled the plug to the amplifiers shortly after we complained, We were we given a wonderful free dinner in compensation. Best avoided in June and July school holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear pambicoot,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Many thanks for spending some time in writing us a feedback and review about our facilities and services as your comments are very important to us. Again, we apologize for all the troubles that we have caused you during your stay with us but still thankful for your considerations.

The RB Hotel's Management team is doing its best to fix all these issues for your further satisfaction.

We hope to see and welcome you once again here at the River Beach Resort next time you get to visit Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    234
    89
    39
    21
See reviews for
144
217
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 5, stayed here for 2 nights in 2 connecting rooms.
t is close to the beach, provides free bus rides to town. Also provides free rental bikes, we rode the bikes to explore the surroundings rice fields and nearby villages!
Staffs could be a little more friendlier, like "smile" when greet guests, or answer questions etc!
There was a function during our 1st night, the music was loud but it finished at 9pm. So we had no problem with it. However, I found the hotel guests from North Vietnam to be so rude and loud. They spat in the pool, talked loudly in the hall way until past mid-night. Thanks goodness, we only stayed there 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Warm greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thanks for spending some time in writing us a feedback and review about our services and facilities. Thank you also for spending 2 nights with us with your family during your stay here in Hoi An. We highly appreciate your generosity and company.

Though we weren't able to satisfy you and your family due to some reasons (e.g., loud music and unsmiling staff), we still hope to see you and serve you once again when you get to visit Hoi An next time. Our management team is doing its best to fix these issues. And for sure we'll do far better service next time.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Several of us stayed at the hotel for 10 nights and had the family rooms and Deluxe. Restaurant and foyer staff and very friendly, reception not so much.

Restaurant is excellent and very clean offering an array of options for breakfast and a great dinner banquet. You couldn't complain about the restaurant or the service.

I was lucky to be on the 3rd floor in a river view which had a beautiful outlook. You wouldn't want to be on the 1st where you can hear people when they walk past. The Super Deluxe overlooking the river has an excellent outlook.

Hotel is certainly dated but an excellent price if you only want to sleep and utilize the pool in the centre of the grounds.

The day spa is very ordinary as are the services and offerings. Better off going to the shops right outside the hotel. You can get your laundry done across the road too.

The gym definitely is not what is portrayed in the photos...far from it and not even useable. Overall this hotel is great for the cheap price and inclusive full breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaii0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Hawaii0.

Greetings from the River Beach Resort and Residences Hoi An!

Many thanks for taking the time in writing us a feedback and for staying with us for 10 nights during your trip in Hoi An. Your comments and feedback are important to us. Though we didn't quite satisfy you with a number of services that we have (e.g., spa, gym, frontdesk), we are still grateful for having you as our guests and for considering us as a good option while staying in Hoi An.

We are trying our best to improve our facilities and services. Please let us know when your next visit in Hoi An will be and we'll surely won't disappoint you then!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We initially booked for a 7 night stay. Our room was spacious with good internet access & a nice balcony, roomy bathroom also with great shower pressure, a nice fruit basket left for us also. All the staff were lovely. There is a very good shuttle service into town and back at no cost.
Unfortunately that's the end of the positives. We read here they are undergoing refurbishing but we saw no sign of this & staff didn't seem to understand what I was asking about when we requested a refurbished room. Our bathroom had splashes from previous guests toothpaste or soap droplets on the splash back & mirror from our day of arrival, but frankly is so old it's hard to make it appear really clean. The towels are small & thin. There is a constant unpleasant smell coming we presume from the river (not the resorts fault I know) but at times it's really strong, this permeates through into the room and makes sitting on the balcony unpleasant. An oil burner in the room may have helped here. Laying around the pool is difficult as there is only 5 chairs (they are doubles), there are loungers along the river which I used but here the smell was more over-powering here so didn't stay long.
The food at breakfast was adequate but the tables were never wiped down with anything other than a dry serviette, we never sat at a table that wasn't covered in ring marks & food stains at any time. The worst thing for us though was the noise, we were kept awake till near midnight with children playing, crying etc on the lawn under our room and slamming doors at all hours, starting at 5am. There was no need to slam the doors they shut easily, but it was constantly happening every 5 min or so, enough to wake us every morning. This resort is definitely not a four star resort. 3 star yes, having said that we really only paid a 3 star rate to be honest. It may suit families that are more used to noise but unfortunately it didn't suit us. We only stayed 4 of the 7 nights originally booked, but the staff were very understanding of our early departure which we thank them for. We were even offered us a fee lunch due to our issues, we declined this as it's not the staff's fault the guests were so noisy but we appreciated the gesture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear nette Tasmania,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a long and detailed review of our facilities and services. We would also like to send our gratitude for staying 4 nights with us during your visit in Hoi An. Even though we weren't able to meet your highest expectations, we are still thankful that you considered the River Beach as your second home here.

We really regret that we've disappointed you with our utmost customer service. We admit that we've made mistakes in terms of the services and the rooms. We are currently doing renovations and refurbishments throughout the hotel to make your stay more enjoyable. So if you get the chance to drop by Hoi An again soon, please do let us know. We'll make sure next time that you won't be disappointed.

Looking forward for your return!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. We stayed 4 nights and it fared very well against the other hotels of similar price which we stayed in during our trip.

Main pros: (1) excellent location with a free shuttle bus into Hoi An town; (2) spacious rooms; (3) very friendly/helpful staff; (4) nice river views at hotel and nice private beach a few mins' walk away.

A few things to be aware of though: (1) there were a lot of kids during our stay - perhaps it was the time of year. Noise travels quite far in the hotel so it was often a little noisy; (2) the bathrooms were a little dated; (3) there could do with being a few more sunbeds at the hotel and the beach; (4) the breakfast isn't the best we've had in Vietnam.

Overall, though, really liked this place and would recommend it highly for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Dan W,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Firstly, thanks for taking the time in writing us an informative recommendations and reviews. Thanks also for choosing the River Beach as your base while visiting and exploring Hoi An. We are happy to hear that you've had good time with us.

With regards to our facilities' flaws, we regret that we didn't quite reach your expectations. Our management and staff are doing their best to change everything for the better. In fact, we're doing some refurbishing and renovations in the coming months this year for higher customer satisfaction. So in case you get to visit Hoi An again next time, you won't be disappointed with us.

We look forward in greeting you in the near future!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had stayed at River beach for 5 days with my family. We choose the river view with very large balcony. The hotel located really fantastic, about 2 minutes Cua Dai beach which provides some great views at the end of day.

The room was spacious and clean, the buffet breakfast was very good. The staff was very kind and helpful.

I am really happy when staying at here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Huy V,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback about our hotel and our buffet breakfast. We are all happy to hear that you've enjoyed yourself and your family while staying with us and for choosing the River Beach as your second home here in Hoi An.

We hope to hear from you again and look forward to welcoming you next time you get that chance to visit us.

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed there for a week with my 10 year old son and husband. We had a junior suite which was modern, spacious and clean. Breakfast is excellent with a huge range of loc a l and western food. Great swimming pool and gardens and amazing location - right on the river and 2 mins from the beach. It's about 5 km from Hoi an. The hotel has a shuttle bus and free bicycles. A taxi costs about 80000 dong. That's about €3. You really have the best of both worlds. You can also cycle to an bang beach in 10 mins. The staff are the real assets of this hotel. Thank you for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: 207 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear amdev,

Warmest greetings from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a feedback and for staying with us for a week together with your family. We are pleased to hear that all of you had a great time and had the "best of both worlds" while staying here. The River Beach staff are also happy about your comment.

We look forward in seeing and welcoming you once again here in Hoi An!

Best Regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh (Ms.)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sea and Sand Hotel
Sea and Sand Hotel
#121 of 144 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#72 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Property: River Beach Resort
Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#61 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing