We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Beach Resort
Ranked #109 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and really enjoyed our time here. The hotel is in an awesome spot, just a short walk to the beach, close to a number of restaurants and has all the facilities you need. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable. The rooms need to be renovated/refurbished, but they were in the process of doing that when we were there - painting, new floors, fixing the bathrooms etc etc - so they are committed to smoothing a couple of rough edges in the rooms.

The pool is small but really nice. There are chairs that are half in the pool (which is fun!) and a big umbrella to protect you from the sun. River Beach also has a deal with one of the restaurants on the beach, but get there early as their chairs fill up quickly.

The buffet breakfast is good and sufficient - we ordered eggs every morning and they were cooked really well. This is a small, private hotel, so don't expect a huge chain hotel's buffet breakfast. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning. If you see the chefs cooking doughnuts near the egg station, I recommend grabbing a couple while they're still fresh and just get a little sugar and they melt in your mouth!

The only negative is the sound insulation of the rooms. We could hear every conversation out in the corridor, when people were on their balconies and the next door's air con motor. When staying here, please keep this in mind. About 7 of the 10 mornings we were there, we were woken up by people having ridiculously loud conversations in the corridor outside our room - once at 4:50am, once at 5:45am and the rest about 6am. (This is not really the hotel's fault, but the sound insulation is lacking).

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to and from Hoi An town which is great. If the times don't suit, it is only a $4 metred taxi ride.

A really good hotel if you're on a budget, its not as flash at Victoria or Furama, but its a great place for the price you pay!

Room Tip: The hotel is 3 levels, so ask for a 3rd level room (to avoid hearing guests in the upstairs room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for River Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 623 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great spacious room overlooking river. Spotless and kept like that all through our 5 day stay. No mouldy bedsheets... clean pool. Gardens always manicured and tidy. Staff just great. Shuttle to hoi an. Sea and beach ok for this area staff at pool very accommodating. Restaurant food good and a happy hour 4 to 7 with lots of free nuts!! Best hotel for the price in area. Would definitely return. When it rained the staff even got out tablefootball.
Bikes were a great way to see area and free... WiFi and mini gym also.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandkim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh / Ms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked this accommodation at the last minute and it was the only hotel we could find with any family rooms available during Tet. Judging by the reviews on TA, River Beach wouldn't have been our preferred option and this turned out to be the reality unfortunately. This is not a great hotel. While the staff have been making repetitive responses to TA reviews for the last couple of years about the hotel being committed to refurbishing, this clearly isn't the case and hasn't happened to any meaningful extent. The place is old, tired and has a sad kind of run down/past its glory days vibe to it. Our room had a nice view of the river – if you stay here you have to request a river balcony, some of the other balconies are facing into walkways and common areas and have zero privacy – but the room itself was dark, gloomy and stuffy. Our bed had a consistent mouldy/musty smell even after the sheets were changed. The plumbing didn't work well (the shower would not drain and the bathroom would flood). Rooms have wi-fi but the signal was weak and it kept dropping out. The kitchen serves up some very average food and the menu is extremely limited which is why I suspect the restaurant is always empty. The pool area is a bit of a sad affair and the brownish water made sure we didn't get in. River Beach is close to Cua Dai beach and the hotel has an arrangement with one of the beach restaurants to use their seats and provide towels. This too was a sad affair. The waiter at the restaurant wasn't interested in us and begrudgingly provided towels (two for four people) which were damp and already used. The hotel and surrounds are noisy – there is always music playing loudly from very early in the morning until late at night which makes it hard to sleep. On a positive note, the staff are friendly and helpful, there is always a quick response to requests and the free bikes were a real bonus. That said, there are plenty of hotels and resorts in this area, an River Beach would be towards the bottom of the pack. If you can afford one of the better hotels in the area, I would recommend you do that. I kept thinking of Fawlty Towers while I was here and that isn't a good thing.

Room Tip: choose river view rooms, they aren't facing into common areas
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Dean M,
Thank you for staying with us at our resort. We regret to receive your comments on our services and to learn that you are not happy with some of our services during your stay. On behalf of the Management and staff at River-Beach Resort, I would like to apologize for all the disadvantages and inconveniences you had encountered. We would take your comments as our experiences to improve our services and train the staff to improve and obtain higher level of professionalism.
Kindly accept our apologies and we hope to welcome you to our resort in your next visit to witness these improvements.
With my best regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh/ Ms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and when visiting the beach near Hoi An it is where I always choose to stay. The Hotel is just a very short 1 minute stroll to the beach. The food served in the Restaurant is amazing breakfast, lunch or dinner your taste buds will be gloriously rewarded. All the staff are so lovely extremely polite, courteous and go out of there way to be of service to you .4 star all the way in every way at The River Beach - well that has been my experience over the last 3 years and I am headed there again soon. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The Hotel itself is located right on the river which adds such a beautiful atmosphere especially early in the morning when all the local fisherman are headed out for the days catch. There is the pool to enjoy, a small gym, free internet and a free return bus service to the town of Hoi An.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsten6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach R, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Kirsten,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh / Ms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived and check in went fast. Rooms for family were not adjacent, but close, with swimming pool view. Staff showed other adjacent rooms, but we stayed on the ground floor to be able to go directly in the nice pool. Rooms are nice, as we had everywhere, clean with free water, wifi, HBO movie channel and airco. There is a free shuttle bus to town. When we were there, it was full every time before the departure time. It probably went twice, but best to be 10 minutes before. Taxi is 4 USD to Hoi An. Around the hotel are restaurants and laundry services. There is a private beach at 200 meters; sea was rough. At night frogs are sometimes singing and there is some noise from other guests in the corridors, but overall rather quiet. Breakfast good, Vietnamese and international, as everywhere. Souvenir shop had low prices. Overall recommended.

Room Tip: River view rooms seem best
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Ben K,

Warmest greeetings from River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An !

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh / Ms.
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our arrival was delayed by one day due to a typhoon and cancelled flights. When we finally arrived and checked in, taken to our room I was disappointed to find only 2 single beds when our reservation clearly stated 2 adults and 1 child aged 10. When I asked reception staff, they insisted that I pay an additional USD$20 per night for a fold out bed. After numerous discussions with front desk staff/managers, nothing changed, this for me, tarnished my stay here. We were not entitled to a refund for our night that we were delayed so having to pay extra for something that we had already paid for was a rip off.
On the up side, there were a couple of lovely little cafes across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here if you need more than a double or single because they will want to charge you ex...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelleandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Michelleandkids,

Thank you for staying with us at our Resort. I really regret to hear about your situation in your comments on our TripAdvisor. After searching and reviewing your booking, I found that the situation is different from what you had mentioned.

First, kindly be advised that your Agent sent us notification of cancellation of your room on Oct 27 (01 night) due to the typhoon and your delayed flight in Nha Trang. We confirmed the booking cancellation without charge due to the typhoon. Please contact your Agent for any refund of the cancelled night if you already paid your Agent.

Second, the booking request sent from your Agent was for the room with an extra charge of breakfast for your child only and did not book the extra-bed. As any hotel policy, when guests require to set-up an extra bed, the hotel will charge for the additional bed. We recommend you contact your Agent as well if you previously booked and paid for the extra bed through your Agent.

I regret that all these troubles come from miscommunication and misunderstanding between us that may cause inconveniences during your stay. I hope we would have chance to welcome you again at our Resort next time and hope you will have a better experience and trip at that time.

I wish you a Happy New Year with full of joys, happiness and prosperity.

With my best regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was spacious and very nice. The hotel has excellent grounds and a very good breakfast. They run regular shuttles into the old town, which we found to be extremely charming. While we didn't have time to use the pool, it looks to be a good one. If we ever return to Hoi An, we will likely book this place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#83 of 159 in Hoi An
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Beach Resort
Hoi An Beach Resort
#77 of 159 in Hoi An
1,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#66 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $45 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cua Dai Beach, River-Beach Resort offers rooms with cable TV and free internet access. The Resort features a pool. The resort is 4.8 km from Japanese Bridge and 16.2 km from Marble Mountains. Rooms at River-Beach have balconies overlooking the pool, garden or De Vong River. A minibar and safety deposit boxes are available. Sightseeing tours can be arranged at the resort’s tour desk. Guests can savour traditional Vietnamese dishes at Cyclo Café and Restaurant, located along De Vong River. Cham Pub offers drinks and evening entertainment. River Beach Resort & Residences situated in the beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site-Hoi An where the De Vong River meets the South China Sea, right at the heart of Cua Dai Beach. The Lagoon Pool area and Coconut Palm Garden are the most beautiful places to enjoy the sun bath and relaxing cocktail or meal with a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing