We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed place out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #95 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxed place out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The resort is a $3-$4 taxi ride from the old town which is good as you're away from the hustle of tourists. This place gets a lot of group tours which effects the quality of the breakfast - it's a buffet and it gets a little tired looking. The breakfast setting, however, is really lovely, overlooking the river.

We stayed in the furthest set of villas which meant it was very quite but a bit more of a walk and the wifi network drops out more! We did have a nice outdoor area overlooking the river, the rice paddies and the man walking his buffalo - not making this up.

The villas were kept clean and the staff were always very friendly. We booked a couple of tours through reception and these were really reasonable and their recommendations were good. One of the drivers was quite hilarious in his efforts to get people to go to go to TiNa Fashion - it was less funny after about the third or fourth attempt.

Like everyone has already noted, get your beers and laundry from Mrs Ha across the road - maybe not the wine!
This place is probably a 3.5 in my books, if they improved breakfast it would lift.

Room Tip: Get a villa towards the back of the complex near the river but not too far back that the wifi networ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    253
    96
    30
    18
See reviews for
111
283
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights but wished it was more. I have read other reviews complaining about the distance from town, but 5-10 mins in their shuttle bus or about 5 mins and US$3 by cab in the evening is outweighed by the tranquil location. Our room looked straight out onto the river, at night we could hear the fish jumping out of the water, which was a change from the busy streets of Ho Chi Minh City. The rooms are finished in timber and were spacious with a newly renovated bathroom. The balcony was a great asset but probably not up to Australian standards, our 2 year old could have easily slipped through the railing and it took her 1 minute to figure out the door latch. The pool is beautiful and we enjoyed a morning swim after our buffet breakfast each morning. Watching a local vietnamese man collect his fish from his nets in the morning made for a relaxing experience and we got some great photos. The staff were great and every other customer we saw was cheerful and relaxed which tells you quite a lot. We were very happy with our stay here and will stay here again when we come back to Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirstyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This resort was recommended by our travel agent in Hanoi, so we did not have any experience of the resort. Our first impression was beautiful. The grounds are spread out and beautifully maintained. The rooms are in separate blocks with our block having 6. We were on the second floor as recommended by Ms Lai Thi Kieu Phuong from Vietnam Nam Explorer Travel. The room was air conditioned and the bathroom ornate and spacious. Our view from our own balcony was stunning over looking the river and rice paddys. There is a free shuttle bus running to the markets 5 times a day and to the private beach 3 times a day. Breakfast was included and loads of variety with an egg station. We will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the second level. Better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked the Hoi An Riverside Resort as two separate friends had loved it and because our stay in Hoi An, of 5 nights, was in the middle of a six week trip to Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. We wanted somewhere that we could both enjoy the town but also relax away from the hustle and bustle.. The Hoi An Riverside was perfect for our needs. The rooms are large and lovely, the beds are comfortable, the AC was great (one day was about 104 F or 40 C), and the service quite good. The breakfast was fine with all the usual offerings but the setting for breakfast, overlooking the river, was gorgeous. As was the view from our room that also had a lovely balcony. And the swimming pool is perfect! People should be aware that its a good ways out of town, not really walking distance, but the cabs come quickly, are cheap, and get you into town in about 10 minutes. There is also a complementary shuttle but it isn't frequent enough to use all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although it is not an easy walk to the old part of Hoi An, it is by far the most spectacular location. Driving by other hotels we had looked at we were glad with our location. There is nothing better than sitting and eating breakfast by the river overlooking the rice patties. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is the clearest I have seen anywhere. In hindsight we would have been happy to pass up our three nights in Hanoi to have stayed in Hoi An. We would have loved to have taken advantage of the beach club. It is a pretty easy walk to the beach which we unfortunately realized on our drive back to the airport.
The staff like in most places we experienced in Vietnam were extremely friendly and willing to help.
Although our rooms were large and well appointed we did have issues with a musty smell. This is not a problem in the whole hotel as the two rooms other family members were staying in in the same building did not smell. I think it was just unlucky on our behalf.
The restaurant should be the best restaurant in town and people should be catching taxis to go there to eat but unfortunately ambiance only gets you so far. Breakfast is good but the two times I ate there for dinner I was not impressed. Food was cold and just OK. Out of the three places I ate the local meal Cau Lau it was by far the worst. I hope for the sake of the hotel and the guests they do something about the food.
I would with out a doubt stay here again and with all there is to do and buy in Hoi An, the beaches of Danang and possible trips to the mountains, beaches north of Danang and trips to Hue i would strongly suggest a week in Hoi An.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_in_the_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights and wished we'd stayed longer. Set right on the river, you get a sunset cruise the day you arrive, which was simply stunning. Great pool and the rooms are quite nice. Food isn't anything special at the restaurant, but the hotel staff are very friendly. It's a little out of town but it's very quick and cheap to get in (around $2)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew_Fuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March. The hotel was fairly quiet but the staff took good care of us. Love the location. Only a 5 minute drive into town. Use the shuttle or a cab is $3. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. Breakfast is quite good and in a lovely location beside the river. We also had cocktails here in the early evening happy hour before heading to town for dinner. Pool is amazing. Check out the restaurant that is next down the road on the same side as hotel. It has a sign out front saying "slow food for slow life!" the hotpot was excellent. Great service and nice location. In Hoi An, we did Morning Glory cooking class and market tour which was great (we are both chefs). Also get Banh Mi at Banh mi Phuong which is a little stall at the eastern side of the market. Anthony Bourdain has written about it. It is incredible...and only $1!! We ate lunch there 3 times. Hoi An is a magical place and the hotel is really an ideal spot

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#14 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
2.6 mi away
Royal Riverside Hoi An Hotel
2.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 175 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An +84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#58 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Hoi An Riverside Resort And Spa
Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Riverside Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing