We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient house in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 123 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ancient house in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location of this ancient house transformed into an hotel. Very kind and helpfull staff. The breakfast however is a bit below standards and also the bathroom of the bedroom. However the location and the atmosphere are soo good which make it a worth place to stay! Reccomended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iCharlie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    92
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
151
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very unique hotel located right in the centre of the Old Quarters. Nice and clean hotel with only 6 rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. All the major tourist spots are within walking distance. Would definately like to stay again during my next vist to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Both the rooms on the ground floor will be good. First floor front room will be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewchoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Want to step back in time? Want to imagine Vietnam hundreds of years ago? Check in to Vinh Hung 1 and treat yourself to a stay unlike most any hotel experience. An Asia beauty, filled with the sights and sounds and beautiful fragrances of Vietnam. Simply beautiful, located in the heart of Hoi An, just a minute to the river and old Bridge. The staff treated me like a friend, arranged a bicycle for me when I decided to tour the countryside and returned it when I got back. Same with arranging transport for me whe I was checking out. What others have said about the showers is true, but trust me you won't care, and I promise it will be a highlight of your hotel experience in Vietnam.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (which is quiet at night) have more light. I was in the rear, my window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A beautiful hotel where the service is outstanding. It is centrally located, close to all major sites and restaurants. The hotel is beautifully presented. The staff are very friendly and helpful.I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staying in the Vinh Hung 1 Hotel was a unique experience. There are just six rooms in what was originally a Chinese trader's home and the atmosphere remains authentic and utterly beautiful. The furnishings are lavish, the rooms comfortable and large and the caring staff round out what for me was unlike any stay I've had except 1, also in a Chinese house, in Penang.

I must point out that it may not be for everyone. If you require quiet and absolute privacy the traditional single wall partitions of the rooms do not provide it. And the marble bathrooms have bathtubs but only an inadequate hand held shower so if your morning requirements include a good shower it won't be here.

But these small sacrifices are well worth a stay in such a unique place. It was, for me, the absolute best part of my 5 days in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no outside window. Ask for one that does if light is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This little hotel excels when it comes to atmosphere, it's like stepping back in time. Wonderful red lantern lit corridors and a building that literaly oozes history and charm.
I really enjoyed my stay here - I stayed in one of the back rooms, and yes - as other reviewers say - they are dark, but certainly not gloomy - in fact I found it added to the charm. This little hotel is an old merchant's shophouse and so has wooden shutters rather than windows.
I'm truly glad I stayed here, the staff were all so friendly and helpful, and I didn't experience any of the pushiness that others report, quite the opposite - I was constantly offered green tea :), greeted always in the warmest way and made to feel like I was truly welcome.
I was recommended some local places to shop and eat, but I was in every hotel I stayed in in Vietnam, so it wasn't unusual and it was done in a helpful manner in my opinion.
This little hotel is right in the heart of the old town, so an unmatched location but very peaceful as Hoi An is a sleepy, laid back little town. A really wonderful way to experience the charm of Hoi An, truly one of my highlights whilst traveling there.
Hoi An has lots of lovely places to stay but, if you can, stay here for one night as it is a magical experience staying in this fine old building in the old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissasLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you want a true authentic experience and not just another 4 star hotel claiming to be 5 star then stay at the Vinh Hung 1 Hotel. We stayed here as a family a few years ago and this hotel is still etched in our minds. It is very much a three star property in that the air con struggles, there are rickety stairs etc. However this is an original Chinese trader's home .Our three sons were fortunate enough to end up in the second-storey room of the original wooden house. It is furnished with antique furniture and oriental rugs .This front room has a balcony overlooking Tran Phu Street (centrally located) and it was one of the Chinese rooms which acted as Michael Caine's dressing room during the filming of 'The Quiet American'. Both my husband and I expressed our envy that the boys had scored this room as our room (on the bottom level) really was not much to rave about (which is probably why there are such ambivalent reviews). We all liked gathering in the boys room in the evening as we could look out over the balconey which was hung with beautiful lanterns and watch the nightlife go by. Staying in the ancient part of Hoi An with no cars is truely the way to immerse yourself in this fabulous culture. The staff did meet us on the outskirts of the old town (we were a bit worried initially) and carried our bags to the hotel. One American couple who seemed to be travelling the same Vietnamese route as us booked out of their 4.5 star hotel to stay at the ambient Vinh Hung 1 Hotel. Breakfast was down the street in a wonderful outdoor setting. We loved Hoi An, and we really enjoyed experiencing the Vinh Hung 1 Hotel. Isn't that what fantastic memories are made off,

Room Tip: Definately stay in the Special Chinese rooms on the second floor. Ask for the front room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misha692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#57 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#32 of 123 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#91 of 123 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#19 of 123 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing