We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to visit, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Ranked #62 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely to visit, but...”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A gorgeously decorated and architecturally unique building, but agree with the former posts... Over 100 degree heat and the a/c that turned off meant a brutal return to the room. The street noise, the vibration of others walking on the floor in other rooms or having loud phone conversations.... But GREAT location - the best. If the staff recommends Ban Khao Silks for tailoring and pulls out the NYT article about it - STAY AWAY! We had a terrible experience there. But otherwise the staff was very helpful, packed a breakfast for our early departure and always asked how the day was.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    110
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
193
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We gererally stay in 5 star hotels, but there are not any luxury hotels in the antique part of Hoi An. The hotel is a gem, it is like staying in one of the UNESCO protected homes that you buy a ticket for. We had a front room that was used by Michael Caine in "The Quiet American". On first inspection, I wanted to book an additional night,but in the end we did not. In July the high temperature is around100 degrees and the air conditioner can not keep up. The bed (a lovely canopied one) is placed right next to the window and the street noise is very prominent. You need to squeeze between a column and the bed to get to the window to close the shutter. If two people are in the bed, one needs to climb over the other in the night to get out. There is very little natural light I the room, and the lighting provided is dim. The bathroom has a nice Japanese soaking tub, but no shower. The breakfast we took was fresh fruit because the bread offerings over 4 days were usually stale.
Inspite of all this, I would again stay at Vinh Hung 1 should I return Hoi An. the location is perfect, steps from everything and the architecture and furnishings are perfect reflections of a beautiful historic town.

Room Tip: The 4 back rooms are quiet but very dark. The two front ones are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in the "special Chinese rooms" and I was glad we did. A really special experience and a wonderful way to experience the old world charm of Hoi An. We had both Chinese rooms so had the whole front balcony to enjoy a drink and watch the world go by. My favorite experience in Vietnam!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We felt privilaged to stay in such an awesome building and welcomed by the kind staff.
However, the little things like breakfast and a leaky bathroom, felt a little tired. The staff also seemed very tired.
Would recommend if you are looking for somewhere unique to stay and charming architecturally.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Right in the centre of the the 'old quarter'. It oozes old world charm, beautiful dark timber and red lanterns throughout. The staff could not be any more helpful. They are very attentive. Our room was upstairs at the back of the hotel and unfortunately the water pump was underneath our room, so every time someone in the hotel turned on the tap or flushed the toilet during the night we new about it! The room however, was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at VH1 recently. Being a big fan of the book and film, plus a huge Caine fan, I really wanted to stay in the Hotel (The Quiet American) I was even lucky enough to stay in the room used for the film (208).
No doubt about it, the Hotel oozes charm and the room is wonderfully fitted out with in the classic Chinese theme advertised.
The location is great, but Hoi An is small.
I paid $95 USD per night for the room....there is no way this room is worth that price. I have been in Vietnam for 5 weeks now and stayed in far better Hotels for $20 - $25 per night.
Room 208 is very noisy! Being right over one of the main streets through Hoi An, the noise from below reverberates through the Hotel - Yes, i have very good custom ear plugs so I could sleep. You cannot have any down time, or rest time in the room as it's very noisy....and yes, you can here the TV that the reception staff are watching below you :)
Every time someone walks on the top floor, the whole floor moves and sways (Hotel is wooden and on stilts)
The staff were OK at best....when I tried to check in, one of the staff members was trying to convince me I didn't have a booking.
Once that was sorted, I was shown on a map which tailor to visit, which restaurants to eat at and then given a run down on the tours / services they have available - the usual deal in Vietnam.
Just a side note - but when are Hotel managers going to realize that Tourists / Travelers will not pay 2 or 3 times the price for Water / Booze / Coke / Laundry in the Hotel, when they can walk out side, turn left or right, walk 50m and have the service options for 1 third the price??
The best reception I received from any staff member was on my last morning when I was greeted for breakfast with the comment and a big smile "today you leave...yes?"
Breakfast is OK..but for $95 USD, I was expecting the works!
Disappointing for me, but you pays yah money, you takes yah chances :)

If you must, stay for 1 night, or just pop in and have a look around.

Room Tip: if you stay on the top floor / road side.....good ear plugs are a MUST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

What to say more than the others guests wrote already ! A wonderful hotel, clean, good service, with an excellent view on the river...the breakfast is excellent, the swimming pool, the spa...we stayed just 2 days in Hoi An for the 1st trip in Vietnam, we will stay more next time. Maybe one thing...familiar hotel, with so much childrens...we were just with friends...but it's ok ! it doesn't matter

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zluca2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#79 of 155 in Hoi An
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 155 in Hoi An
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing