We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best base for Family Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Ranked #70 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Halong bay, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best base for Family Travel”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel has only 6 rooms but designed in traditional style with all wooden facilities. Large room with only one window overlooking the old streets - some little light lacking but modern facilities inside.

There's a large "light well" in the middle of the hotel like the simple architecture in Hoi An.

Many restaurants are available at your footsteps.

The hotel can organise biking tour for our Family. They are very friendly and always happy at their job.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    110
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
193
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed at the Vinh Hung 1 with my two children and was impressed by both the beautiful atmosphere and the lovely manner of the staff. The 125 year old Chinese trading house has been made into a tasteful hotel complete with antique furniture. While the hotel is dark I felt the lightning was evocative of another period in time and we all felt the gentle darkness only added to the overall atmosphere of the hotel. A highlight for us was the buffet breakfast which we ate at an absolutely enormous wooden window, while watching the to and fro of life on Tran Phu St. I stayed during the rainy season and really felt as if I was in a Graham Green novel. In fact Michael Caine used the hotel as a dressing room during the filming of The Quiet American in Hoi An, Vietnam. I would return in a second to this beautiful old wooden building, just to sit at its' wooden window and sip my morning coffee, to slow my thoughts and watch the rain and people in the street of Hoi An. Bliss.

Room Tip: Try not to stay too close to the kitchen it's a wee bit noisy as they set up for breakfast. Upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

the fantastic place to enjoy Vietnamese - Chinese traditional atmosphere, good room even the furniture is not new. The lady owner was really fantastic and always be welcoming to all the guest. The place is in the center of Hoian town with very many shops and bars. The night with lanterns was the great memory of the day and we felt the ancient city more than anymoment. The special breakfast made to be enjoyed inside the room seemed to be the best part of the building; However, cannot recommend the hotel to any group with small kids and the Old. Anyway, it has only 2 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trong d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We love hotels full of character and quirkiness but also enjoy the basic luxuries in life !
So choosing a hotel that was said to be Highly recommended we were excited to see this hotel
This hotel deffinately falls short of being number 1 , it's only pro is its location !
It is dark and dingy beyond the point of being quirky- there are lights all over the hotel but for some reason are never turned on!
The smell of damp is so overwhelming that it takes your breath away and the windows aren't opened to air out your room before your arrival !
The cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom are serious concerns ! On arrival the dustbins in our room had not been emptied and the floors feel grimy - a good polish would do wonders ! I had to shower with slip slops on for fear of contracting a foot fungus !
The amenities are of a very cheap quality and not replaced daily !
The towels are funny pink and yellow colors, small in size and have no absorbency ! Feels like they came from a student dorm rather than a rated hotel !
The bed linen was of a very low thread count and I'm not sure that clean either !
There is a constant droaning noise from the water system in the hotel , which guaranteed will keep you awake or wake you up !
The bed feels like springs are popping out ! A massage is needed when you wake up !
The shower doesn't have a shower head but rather a hand held hose which makes showering very difficult !
All in all We were very disappointed and grossed out by this hotel ! Not recommended !

Room Tip: Stairs upstairs are dark and steep - not for the elderly or visually impaired !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRogaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a wonderful building with impressive decor, wood panelling and antique Chinese charm but unfortunately we could not cope with the musty, damp smell and the rats scratching at the doors and windows and ceiling space ( sounding the size of monkeys) during the night meant that we had to leave. The staff were very helpful and moved us to the Vinh Hung Resort for the rest of our stay in Hoi An.
It is a beautiful building but perhaps should be a museum rather than a hotel, certainly until they can resolve their vermin problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

First impression is very dark and moody and ambient, which is fine to look at but not to stay in! We were given a downstairs room, it was damp and smelt musty and what's more no windows! Solid wood pannelled room with stone tiled floors, the bed was damp, there was a sliding partition that opened into the hotel, but anybody would be able to see you!

Early morning (before 7:00) we were woken by the cleaner swishing water and then manually scrubbing the stone floors outside our room, clearly no consideration for guests. Breakfast was poor, considering the good quality bread and croissants we have had in the rest of our tour they must have gone out of their way to find the worst possible!

I asked to be moved to a room with a window, and was moved to the first floor which had 2 windows but even so smelt musty and the bed was damp, that together with a nylon mattress cover made it a very uncomfortable night, but the windows helped and the floor was wooden so we didn't hear the early morning scrubbing, and did I mention the toilet flooded.

Be sure it's what you want if you decide to go there, some people like this sort of thing, but there are lots of other hotels in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dafnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Maybe you will read the review here below too, yes it is dark, dark red wood, as original old houses are.
Yes, it was musty, no wonder after 3 weeks of flood, so the basement was more than 1 m under water, so I was really astonished that most of the watermarks are already removed and the hotel was operating so fine.
The house has 6 rooms only and all together some 10 bed.
The rooms in ground fool i would not recommmend as they are really dark, but upstairs its nice, big rooms, marmor tiles in the bathroom, big tv, wireless working,
Near to the river and the japanese bridge.

Will come back here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#78 of 156 in Hoi An
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 156 in Hoi An
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing