We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experiance”
Review of Low Land

Low Land
Ranked #139 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Experiance”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had great food everywhere we went in Hoi an but this restaurant was simply the best.We were in a party of 8 and everyone thought that the food at Lowland was amazing. A great host and staff, coupled with a bucket of cold beer and amazing food, what more could 8 Aussies wish for.You must Try this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mick4922London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    56
    20
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There are several excellent restaurants in Hoi An, but this is simply the best. Very friendly personnel and excelent food. Ask for the specialities. They are not on the menu, but they are e real taste sensations. Especially chicken in pasion fruit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great rooftop view”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had a great meal here, on the top floor, with a view across the river. While it was a simple wonton soup and chicken rice the chef managed to pack it with flavours to deliver another memorable meal. 2 starters, 2 mains, 3 heinekens for a little over $10AUS.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giantcrx P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

After being in Hoi An for seven days and eating on alternate sides of the river we decided on Lowland as the maître’d seemed very nice and not too pushy, it looked nice from the outside but it was better when we went in.
First we ordered drinks, I had a beer. 36,000vnd (£1.20) the wife had a Singapore Sling 59,000vnd (£2). Good value in a nice restaurant, had paid less for drinks but the food wasn't as good.

We ordered a range of Vietnamese/Hoi An specialities including Prawns with Green and Prawns with Franch (their spelling) potato, both were wonderful, the Franch potato is shoelaces of potato wrapped around the prawn and deep fried, delicious, the Prawn with Green was exactly that, Prawn with Vivid green rice paper which gave them a crunchy outer and a juicy centre. We had Fresh Spring Rolls, Fried Spring Rolls and Satay, Prawn on Sugar Cane, Grilled Pork with sesame seeds and all were excellent. We had sampled most of the dishes in other restaurants but Lowlands were the best for everything.

They had a good wine selection all chilled and not on display in the searing heat as some places did. We ordered a bottle of Aussie Chardonnay which worked out at £14, it was served in an ice bucket and the attentive staff poured the wine whenever necessary.

Great service!

Great food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true gem by the river!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had the chicken with fish sauce and rice, while my partner had fried noodles with chicken. Both dishes were very tasty, and the portions were huge for the price! The chicken with fish sauce is spicy, even for a peranakan Chinese like myself. The menu states chicken fried with peppers, but it came fried with ground chilli. A very pleasant surprise. Extremely yummy. This restaurant sits on the river edge and has an awesome view of the lantern-lit restaurants on the other side of the river. We were planning to explore other restaurants tomorrow, but after tonight's experience, we will be back tomorrow!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynRedDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Land also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Low Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing