We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HI is my best culinary experience in Hoi An!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi Restaurant

Hi Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HI is my best culinary experience in Hoi An!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Mr Hi and his lady companion were very helpful and the food was excellent.

If you want to try out Vietnamese food (except for banh mi), e.g. cao lao, white rose, fresh spring roll, hot pot, etc., then you are at the right place!

Try Saigon & 333 beer.

He offered cooking classes as well but we didn't have the time to try it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWSN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    127
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good, but address on TA is wrong!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first time we tried to find this place, we were very hungry and it was excruciatingly hot. We looked up at 15 Nguyen Phu Chu and did NOT see this restaurant. I think we may have even bickered out of the sheer frustration. Long story short, KEEP GOING! At the end of the street you will see a series of food stalls, you will turn right and the food stalls will now be on your left hand side. Look for stall 15.

After reading a helpful review here that informed us of that, we decided to return and try our luck the next day. We ended up eating here twice. The prices are great; you can't beat them, and they have all the Hoi An specialties. We tried the Cau Lau(the best!), the shrimp wontons, the White Rose dumplings(delicious), and the wonton soup. Everything was really good and very fresh. It was really wonderful to find an expensive place to try all these regional specialties.

You are eating outside, so keep that in mind. The couple that runs this stall is so nice and friendly; they are all smiles and make you feel quite welcome (and not like a fatty chicken!). Also, you must get some fresh beer!! At just 3-4,000 dong, it would be a sin not to!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem. Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went to Hi's based on the glowing reviews and we where not disappointed. Food comes quickly, servings are well sized, and the food is incredibly tasty. Dishes were simple and flavorful, while avoiding the copious oil and salt that you see at many other restauraunts. Some of the best noodles, spring rolls, and vegetables we have encountered on our travels through Vietnam. To cap it all off the beer is very cheap which helps cool off after a day of exploring.

Overall definitely worth checking out, just a short walk off the riverfront near the back of the string of outdoor restauraunts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_WorldWanderer_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ate here 3 times in a short stay in Hoi An. Efficient and very personable service with the best crispy wontons imaginable. Cau Lau and Spring rolls were also pretty good. The atmosphere is bustling, particularly at night, with a number of similar eateries sharing the same large dining space - like a food court, traditional Vietnamese style. The meals aren't large by western standards, but with the cheap price you can sample a few and with the cheap draft (bia hoi) beer @ 4000 dong on a hot day, you can't go wrong.
The address is not correct ( I understand that they moved a while back) but is just around the corner at the end of Nguyen Phuc Chu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fourth_estate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good cooking class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Before we did the cooking class, we tried a few dishes first.
You can pick 2 dishes each, and after the cooking class you don't need to eat for 2 days :)
Try the fried wonton. It is so good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marievermandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing