We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of the bunch - but remember it's street food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hi Restaurant

Hi Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best of the bunch - but remember it's street food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of a man in the shoe shop (which, it turns out has an advertisement above the tables at Hi's) and the food was quite tasty, good price (much less than the full on restaurants in Hoi An, but more comfortable than the market), and had cute red tables and lanterns.

I figured we'd been recommend this place because the shoe shop had some kind of tie with this particular food stall and that all the places in this little row of food stall restaurants would be about the same. So we went and tried out a couple other places in this strip and while the menus are the same, it turns out Hi's really was the best of the bunch. We ended up going back to Hi several times and would highly recommend this spot if you're looking for tasty local food at a good price.

One thing to remember though - this is more or less a street food establishment and you do need to be careful about things like uncooked veggies that may have been washed in tap water. I got a bit of a stomach cramp that lasted a day and a half after eating the greens that came with the ban xeo (this was the only thing that I ate that my BF did not). They were wet and there must have been a bit of tap water on them.

I put this on myself though for being complacent about something I would have paid attention to elsewhere. After that, I avoided the raw greens and like I said, happily went back again. For the fully cooked meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0ut-0f-0ffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    131
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes for good street fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A little place on An Hoi island just off the main stretch. Fierce competition means that every restaurant will flock at you with their menu but make your way down to Hi. The owners are as smiley and friendly as you could want and the food is tasty and plentiful. A good solid meal at a good price. We went here twice, first meal I had Chicken stir-fry with ginger, lemongrass and chilli. Classic combo, done well, tho the chicken was slightly overdone. My friend had Eggplant hotpot which was delicious. Second trip one hungover morning, i had Duck noodle soup, friend just had spinach cooked with ginger. Again quite good. Drinks are all cheap, especially the juices at half the price of the main strip cafes.
So if your looking for "gourmet" Hoi An this isn't it. (I've been let down by every so called "gourmet" restaurant here, but will concede that might just be bad luck.) But if you want a nice meal at a steal, get along.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinduckTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here on TA good reviews. Varied menu,cheaper than restaurants on the busy side of the river. Staff very friendly. Excellent service. Can recommend the pineapples and coconut pancake, we ordered one each but we should have shared. Will definitely return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So cheap and so delicious. What more could you want.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went today for a late lunch, As I arrived 4 were leaving and raved about their meal and all made suggestions of what to order. 3 others had just ordered and shared with me that they loved their meal. I then ordered Banh Xeo, a country pancake which I'd also made at a cooking school the day before. This one was much better than mine, so so so tasty and the cook,on serving it, cheerfully dmeonstrated how to put it together within the rice paper and dip.. Later a father and two young souns came and all orderd the Cau Lau and all three ate eagerly. For my hearty Bahn Xeo and a can of diet coke I paid under $4 US. It was so tasty. Across the bridge walk to the lefy. Go to the end and vaguley turn right. There it is!!! Its in what i would call the outdoor food court. The proprieter is cheerful and very polite. Its great and at $4 US I walked away smiling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Interesting thing is that every customer was chit chatting to the other a sign of happy cusotmers I'm sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank enVacance55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food for reasonable price. Restaurant is located a bit out if the tourist areas but its worth the walk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaajoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing