We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of B'Lan Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B'Lan Homestay
Ranked #188 of 275 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed 3 nights in the Japanese room and thought this was the best room of our entire Vietnam trip. The place has a very cozy and homely feel, and is tastefully decorated. The room was clean, very spacious and the bathroom is wonderful. There's even a balcony with a garden view which is great place to have a tea/beer at the end of the day. We slept like babies on the futon-inspired beds, which are perhaps not for everyone if you're used to soft, cushy beds... Location is in a quiet and typically Vietnamese part of town, while being just 5 minutes away from the old town. Breakfast isn't included (which is the only downside of this place) but the nearby Treat's café recommended by the previous Tripadvisor member was a great place to go to.

The girls are very friendly and helpful (one of them speaks much better English than the other) and we had an amazing time chatting and learning Vietnam phrases before boarding our overnight bus. They also helped us rent bicycles and book our overnight bus, and let us use the shower before taking our bus.

We had an amazing time and would definitely come back here the next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graooou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at B'lan House - lots of character and lovely staff but minimal English. We originally booked the Japanese room which is upstairs but when we got there the room was so hot and after an hour with air con on and not getting any cooler we asked to change rooms. They were happy to oblige so we moved to room 1 downstairs which was lovely and cool with ceiling fan as well as air con. Our only criticism would be that the mattresses at least in the two rooms we used were very hard as they were 2 inch thick latex but on hard teak table like bases. Still, If you stay at B'lan House (which we still recommend) breakfast is not provided so just 5 min walk to lovely, cheap restaurant for scrambled eggs, fruit platters etc... called Treats - go out of B'lan House, turn left, first turn right, walk along about 200 m and before next street you will see the place on your right.

Room Tip: Room 1 - downstairs for cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had no expectation in the begining, but the spot is amazing the staff helpful and smiley.

The rooms are big and clean. They are quiet and have a beautiful design.

For the price I think it's a great option for Hoi An.

Really really a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We are experienced travellers who have seen a multitude of different hotels during our travels. This one is incomparable to any other as it has unique interior design inspired by Japanese architecture. It is 5 minutes walk away from the old town (central attraction of Hoi An) and yet it is quiet enough for some peace and tranquil.

The room is airy and there are many shutter windows that open out into the courtyard. There was a balcony attached to our room with some charming cane stools where we sat and had our night conversations. The whole place is full of wooden furniture and flooring and that gives the feeling of being close to nature while staying in comfort. There is a big screen tv and a modern furnished bathroom. The room is cleaned everyday (though you should let the receptionist know, as they don't like to presume you want housekeeping and would rather respect your privacy).

The owner of the homestay, Bich Lan (hence the name B'Lan homestay) was extremely helpful. She directed us to the best coffee and noodle places and even ordered sleeper train tickets for our return to Ho Chi Minh city at local prices. If we had bought it ourselves it would have cost us a lot more.

We were impressed by the value for money we received staying there. We planned to stay for 2 nights and ended up extending for a total stay of 7 nights.

-Edmond and Melissa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmondTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stay at Blan for only one night. It is almost the cheapest in Hoi An. And the location is great, close to the bus station and a distance from the river. The room is confy and clean. It seems we are the only guests that night, but the maid said only one room left... Indeed it's a very quiet place. Only 4 rooms on the second floor.

Internet is very fast( probably because only we use it). Decoration is traditional. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Does not like any others, Blan Homestay gave us the feeling like being at home. Wooden furniture from the floor to the ceiling. Surrounded by a pretty tiny garden. A cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

BLAN homestay offers a very rare kind and remarkable stay in Hoi An. It seems to lack any kind of management or presence of owners. Never saw anybody responsible during 4 days stay. Yes, it is  possible. The maid (at least I think she is) was the only one present sometimes.
Caught here a sleep (5 times) most of the time.. She speaks as little English as I speak Vietnamese so communication is a ‘challenge’. Which is fun in the beginning, but it gets annoying if you need advice or help or if you want to book something. The room was never cleaned during our stay!
No fresh towels, no new toilet paper (luckily there was enough) each time you wanted to contact somebody about this, you could not find anybody. The place seemed like a ghost house, empty and silent. Except sometimes the boyfriend of the maid / annex housekeeper was watching TV. Correctly guessed, this bloke didn’t speak a word of English and has only got eyes for the TV. Very helpful. No info provided upon arrival. Dumped into room (the room and house itself is perfect!). Even locked into the property on first night. It’s easy to figure out what key goes into what lock inside and outside, but some info would have been minimal. Asking to make a local telephone call was too difficult to achieve. No problem a couple of doors further at a friendly neighbor though. Also as stated in the accommodation info, not every room has got a (peace of) garden or private terrace. And the beds are rockhard. The garden present does not offer you any kind of seating or relaxing. And all this is quite strange if you look at the prizes this homestay serves you. If not booked with a very attractive discount – hooray for some searching on the internet – this would have been a very disappointing stay. And that’s a sad thing, as the accommodation and location are perfect. It could be a true gem! If you travel through Asia for a long time, you experience far worse accommodations but here the owners make the difference! Helping where needed providing info, living there hotel/guesthouse dream, going for gold. This seems to be the other way around. The property is good, so we do not need to look after it anymore. But the management needs to act upon this. Step up and improve, to make it a proper homestay, I think you’re doing it wrong this way. No recommendation for this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogier v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Blue Clouds Homestay
Blue Clouds Homestay
#6 of 275 in Hoi An
435 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
3.0 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B'Lan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B'Lan Homestay

Property: B'Lan Homestay
Address: 95 Nguyen Truong To, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — B'Lan Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BLan Homestay is located on the peaceful outskirts of Hoi An, and blends in with the natural environment. It is about 5 minutes walking from the city centre, within easy access to the main tourist attractions. Rooms offer spectacular garden front views, comfortable, beautifully decorated, fully equipped and decorated using designs of the Hoi An style. The BLan Homestay provides a different kind of hospitality and international standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B'Lan Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing