We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Cozy place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B'Lan Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B'Lan Homestay
Ranked #161 of 192 Hoi An B&B and Inns
HCMC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Does not like any others, Blan Homestay gave us the feeling like being at home. Wooden furniture from the floor to the ceiling. Surrounded by a pretty tiny garden. A cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

BLAN homestay offers a very rare kind and remarkable stay in Hoi An. It seems to lack any kind of management or presence of owners. Never saw anybody responsible during 4 days stay. Yes, it is  possible. The maid (at least I think she is) was the only one present sometimes.
Caught here a sleep (5 times) most of the time.. She speaks as little English as I speak Vietnamese so communication is a ‘challenge’. Which is fun in the beginning, but it gets annoying if you need advice or help or if you want to book something. The room was never cleaned during our stay!
No fresh towels, no new toilet paper (luckily there was enough) each time you wanted to contact somebody about this, you could not find anybody. The place seemed like a ghost house, empty and silent. Except sometimes the boyfriend of the maid / annex housekeeper was watching TV. Correctly guessed, this bloke didn’t speak a word of English and has only got eyes for the TV. Very helpful. No info provided upon arrival. Dumped into room (the room and house itself is perfect!). Even locked into the property on first night. It’s easy to figure out what key goes into what lock inside and outside, but some info would have been minimal. Asking to make a local telephone call was too difficult to achieve. No problem a couple of doors further at a friendly neighbor though. Also as stated in the accommodation info, not every room has got a (peace of) garden or private terrace. And the beds are rockhard. The garden present does not offer you any kind of seating or relaxing. And all this is quite strange if you look at the prizes this homestay serves you. If not booked with a very attractive discount – hooray for some searching on the internet – this would have been a very disappointing stay. And that’s a sad thing, as the accommodation and location are perfect. It could be a true gem! If you travel through Asia for a long time, you experience far worse accommodations but here the owners make the difference! Helping where needed providing info, living there hotel/guesthouse dream, going for gold. This seems to be the other way around. The property is good, so we do not need to look after it anymore. But the management needs to act upon this. Step up and improve, to make it a proper homestay, I think you’re doing it wrong this way. No recommendation for this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogier v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in BLan. We gathered thatit is a realtively new homestay as most of the tailors we visited had not heard of the place. We stayed in the Japense room that was very big with good facilities and was at the back of the house with a small balcony overlooking a small garden area at the back of the house. The room was clean and the bathroom nicely modernised. The house is located on a fairly busy road in a local neighbourhood which, in the morning especially, gets noisy despite our room being at the back. There are a couple of items that the owneers/managers need to improve on. It is marketed as a homestay but we didnt really see much of the family and the two ladies that were there most of the time didnt seem overly keen on interacting with us, I am not sure if they were the family or not. On the last night of our stay we had the aircon handset removed from our room whilst we were out during the evening and discovered its absence on our return to the room. The reason given was that it "was broken". Not satisfied with this we asked for "the boss" (who was not staying in the house) to be contacted so that we could retrieve the handset and start the AC so that we could go to sleep as the room gets hot this time of year. The handset was delivered back to the house and was working fine. This was quite a dishonest move and I would encourage the boss to not try and do such things in the future. We had a nice stay and were willing to recommend this place to others but after the incident on the last night we left with a bit of a bad taste.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNO321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The traditional Vietnamese house was lovely with lots of character and our room was a nice surprise as the pictures we had seen before hand didn't do it justice! The room was huge with a large bathroom and very clean. It had all the extra's you don't always get such as a fridge, TV, mini bar, kettle, even a dressing gown! It is in a great location, easy to walk to the main area near the river but not above a restaurant/shop as a lot of other accomodation seemed to be on the busier main streets (with all the street vendors!) The owner and the girl who worked there in the daytime were lovely, one of the nicest places we have stayed in our 4 months of travelling! Such good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I originally booked two nights, but extended my stay to five days. This homestay is a beautiful stand alone house in a local neighborhood. Amazing location. 5 min stroll and you are old town. The room I had was clean and well decorated with ac plus a beautiful bath.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alextravelasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Thank you for our stay. We had a very relaxing time and really enjoyed ourselves. The landlord is very friendly and funny. In the morning, We went to the market and cooked together, They showed us a lot of things about Hoi an, cultural, people ... It made us interest and memorable. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lephuong314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Blue Lake Homestay
Blue Lake Homestay
#48 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden River Hotel
Golden River Hotel
#88 of 192 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Areca Homestay
Areca Homestay
#68 of 192 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quynh Long Homestay
Quynh Long Homestay
#94 of 192 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viet's Family River - Hoi An Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B'Lan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B'Lan Homestay

Property: B'Lan Homestay
Address: 95 Nguyen Truong To, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B'Lan Homestay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BLan Homestay is located on the peaceful outskirts of Hoi An, and blends in with the natural environment. It is about 5 minutes walking from the city centre, within easy access to the main tourist attractions. Rooms offer spectacular garden front views, comfortable, beautifully decorated, fully equipped and decorated using designs of the Hoi An style. The BLan Homestay provides a different kind of hospitality and international standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B'Lan Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing