We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, nice food.”
Review of The Vetiver Restaurant - CLOSED

The Vetiver Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Vetiver Restaurant is located at 580 Cua Dai, the arterial road that connects the quiet ancient town with the business district of Cua Dai. The Vetiver is an attractive stop for visitors who travel to Hoi An.
2 reviews
“Lovely staff, nice food.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by this place after missing the shuttle from our hotel. It was empty but we decided to give it a go.

Food was very tasty, try the White Rose, light and fresh. We also for a complimentary dessert which was a nice touch.

Staff attentive and friendly. Would say give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelkat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service and free wifi!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Husband and I stopped here to use our computers with the wifi and have some drinks. The place was empty (late morning/early afternoon). The service was excellent. They were very friendly and attentive. The fresh spring rolls were average. The white rose dumplings were not as fresh as Faifoo. The liquor options are priced very cheaply (25-40,000 VND for midshelf liquor. They also had outlets outside so we were able to sit and use our computers for as long as we needed. We would definitely return to relax, have drinks and do work on our computers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Take the course”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I and two friends spent a wonderful afternoon learning to cook Vietnamese food here. The course is well-organised and good value, you're taught by a genuine master, and getting to eat the food at the end is worth the price alone.

I can recommend the Banh Xeo, Pho and Canh Cua Cha, as well as the deep-fried wontons - this is a place that's well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yes, just terrible”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Food was so bad, had to send one dish back, we just couldn't chew through the port, had it replaced by a noodle dish that was bland and basically inedible. Read previous reviews, can't understand what people raved about, couldn't have had a worse meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FabDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Best food we had in Vietnam”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped by here as it was right next to our hotel. We'd walk past and it would be empty and we felt kind of sorry for them. Having looked it up on tripadvisor and saw it had good ratings we decided to give it a punt and we were greatly rewarded for it.

The staff were very attentive, polite and helpful with describing the dishes. We had the banh xeo which was excellent and some noodles with beef. The portions were on the generous size and we really enjoyed both dishes. The staff made sure we were topped up with side sauces.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StammySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vetiver Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing