We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, value and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tonnelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Tonnelle
Ranked #76 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, value and staff”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

La tonnelle is a great hotel right in the heart of Hoi An, about 200m from the Japanses bridge, a perfect location! Rooms are simple but very clean and have everything you need. The staff were so friendly and Would help you do anything you needed. The services were great, washing for $1.50 a kilo, bike hire for $1.50 a day and they will organize private transport back to the airport for $17. The only negative is that because the house is built with a lot of wood it can get quite echoey and if you have loud neighbours it may be hard to go to sleep. Would reccomend to anyone staying in Hoi An, purely for location and price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soph7592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    48
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
80
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My favorite hotel in Vietnam! Charming, quiet place near Japanese Bridge is very pictorial. Beautiful, clean and cosy room. Good cooking, and you might have a breacfast (good choice of local and european dishes) till 8 am till... any time you wish! Quite right practice I think. Very friendly stuff! I love my vacation in La Tonnelle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaZw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights and loved the place. thanks for an amazing time. the staff were beautiful and we really appreciate their kindness to my husband and me,,,, but especially our son.there was lots of laughs and lots of fun and understanding.....even as our 4 year old had some traveling blues and temper tantrums.great value for money. chung, one of the staff was really good to us as were all the staff,i just wish i could do justice to their vietnamese names, which unfortunately i cant.the staff speak better english than i can Vietnamese. the kitchen was yummy and leoungs cooking school was fun and great. i agree with another review, chungs sister was a good referral for clothes.
Don't stay here if you are prone to complain about water smells and a few cobwebs or lack of slippers..........if you want 'stars' attached to your accommodation it's not for you.... if you want charm and friendliness and can reasonable understand you pay for want you get, you may like to consider this place.the staff try really hard to met your needs and exceeded our expectations and they put up with all our strange customs,,, like dragging masses of shopping home and our western style parenting. thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eamonsweeney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location at the quiet end of the Japanese bridge, but still very close to where everything is happening. Room was simple but good and had everything we needed. Service was fantastic and staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were very good, in a gorgeous setting. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. If I were to come back this is where I would come. The people working there are just charming, nothing too much trouble, you feel very comfortable there and it is so quiet and peaceful yet near to everything. Chung recommended a tailor, her sister and the work was well done and reasonable. We forgot some clothes at the guest house and one of the girls took a full speed 30 minute scooter ride to Danang to return us our stuff. How many people would do that?
Yes, there was a funny smell of drains but the place was clean and comfortable and I recommend it to anyone looking for some authenticity and contact with nice people who care.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Didn't stay here but went to lunch a number of times in its small treed courtyard. It was great. Would highly recommend as a restaurant. In a peaceful location in Hoi An it is clean, has a good menu and can recommend the Chicken Pho and Papya salad. Felt very different to other parts of Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two month journey through Southeast Asia and when I think back on the trip, I know that I will think most fondly of La Tonnelle. The hotel is located on a section of street that is pedestrian only. It is quiet, rustic and small, but a very short walk to the busiest parts of the ancient city of Hoi An. There are only three rooms, but the reception area opens onto a shaded terrace where anyone can stop in to eat or enjoy a glass of wine, beer or iced tea, and we met several interesting people with whom we spent relaxed late afternoons. The room was sparsely furnished but comfortable, and we enjoyed the included breakfasts, but it is really the staff that makes this place special. They are warm and solicitous and provide an atmosphere that is casual and comfortable. La Tonnelle is just perfect for couples who want to "experience" Hoi An. Guests can explore the tourist sites and shopping to their hearts content...but when it's time to relax, people-watch, and drink in the atmosphere, the terrace is a perfect spot. I would stay at La Tonnelle again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The one room downstairs has an efficiency kitchen,a separate sitting room, and a small patio. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#29 of 142 in Hoi An
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#59 of 142 in Hoi An
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nha Lan Homestay
Nha Lan Homestay
#107 of 196 in Hoi An
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#32 of 244 in Hoi An
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosy House Homestay
Cosy House Homestay
#107 of 244 in Hoi An
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnelle

Property: La Tonnelle
Address: 44 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Tonnelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing