We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming accomodation in perfect location”
Review of La Tonnelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Tonnelle
Ranked #97 of 270 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming accomodation in perfect location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This little hotel has only three rooms and is situated very close to the heart of the amazing heritage listed town of Hoi An. I stayed in one of the second floor rooms, very comfortable if a little sparse. The decor is very understated and adds to the atmosphere, the lack of TV was no issue for me as I hardly ever watch the things anyway. Water pressure was erratic and the water smelt really bad for the first few minutes that you ran a tap or the shower. Breakfast was great and service was pleasant and efficient if not over friendly, once again not an issue for me. The location (as stated by others here) is perfect, just 50 meters from the Japanese Bridge on the quieter side, I really felt part of the old town and was glad not to have to walk or ride back into the more modern part of the city a couple of times a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
80
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a small guesthouse offering simple but stylish rooms in a very attractive house. The lady who runs it is just charming and the rooms although sparsely decorated are lovely. Bedding was fresh, clean and good quality. I would definitely say that this was one of the more cute places that we stayed in Vietnam and we were made very welcome.

Lovely reception/café area just off the road under the some shade.

The guest house were helpful in arranging a transfer from the airport at a competitive price. I hadn’t quite realised that the La T was on a road that cars couldn’t access so I was a bit confused when we were deposited a short walk away from La T by the taxi with our bags. Just would have been helpful to have known in advance or maybe for somebody to have met us there especially as La T isn’t mentioned on their signage outside.

I’d definitely recommend this place to stay although Hoi An as a town (even though as beautiful as it is) has too many rodents for my liking which did affect my ability to entirely relax during the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the two double bedrooms on the second floor, which opened up to a nice sitting area with lovely mid-century modern furniture. No detail went unnoticed: from the rattan lanterns hanging in the restaurant, the cool wooden sliding door to the bathroom, to the hanging ‘garden’ that is tended to daily.

Our bed was firm, but comfortable enough. One thing to note was that the shower pressure was a little weak and the water had a bit of a rusty taste/smell.

Even though we had checked out already on our last day, our flight wasn’t until the evening and the staff let us use the restroom in one of the unoccupied rooms so we could shower and freshen up before our flight to Ha Noi.

A few things to note: the entire town basically shuts down after 9pm because most of the businesses are family-run. Be aware when walking/biking back at night that the lights will probably be off and it will be hard to find the hotel. One night we had come back from taking a stroll after a late dinner and the door was locked (it was around 9:30pm). We knocked on the door and felt bad disturbing one of the staff, who was sleeping in the reception area. All the lights were off inside the hotel, too, so we stumbled a bit in the dark.

Another thing is that only motorbikes and bikes (no cars) are allowed on the street where La Tonnelle is, so that is something to consider when schlepping your luggage about a block away if you arrive/depart by taxi/car.

La Tonnelle’s location was central, just a few meters away from the Japanese Bridge and from the riverside. We rented bikes everyday and everything wasn’t more than a 10 to 15-min bike ride (on flat roads).

The staff was was quite pleasant and helpful, one lady going out of her way on our last evening to accompany my girlfriend to get those delicious Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwiches—the lady said that if we went on our own, they’d charge us the tourist price!

All in all, we’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located just steps away from the Japanese Bridge in the historic part of Hoi An, this b&b's location cannot be beat. The service is professional but may come across as cool to some - queries are handled efficiently and professionally just don't expect them to offer any tips on sightseeing unless you ask. Rooms could be improved (some slippers for use in the room, hand bidet for toilet, the bathroom door oiled and connection on light fixtures fixed) and perhaps even aired to get rid of the musty smell. Overall though, good choice if you want to be based in the historic city.

Room Tip: The suite downstairs is roomy but noise can be an issue if there are noisy upstairs guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed there for two nights recently and are very happy I did. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. The rooms are small but well kept and clean. The common area decor is very charming. The first morning we woke up there, I got a late start and figured that I and missed the free breakfast times (it was already 1130am), but much to my delight they said there wasn't a time limit and I got their delicious free breakfast both days (omlettes and French toast are recommended).
One of the best parts about his place is that it is on the no touristy side of the Japanese bridge so it's much quieter. You are only a two minute walk to the bridge and the heart of old town, but far enough to really feel away from it all. Also, they serve wine in the cafe part, and for much much cheaper than most places in town.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try to get the suite - its a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x57114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

this place is a nice little find in a quieter part of old town just near the Japanese Bridge. The staff are so friendly and the decor has a shabby chic old french style feel. the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is simple yet testy. I would recommend the larger suite style room. Wifi is included. This is a great place to unwind and relax away from the heavy tourist traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a great location 1 min walk from the japonese bridge, what males it perfect if you want to escape the motorbikes and be able to walk everywhere. The rooms are a bit old and could use some maintenance, but the friendlyness of the staff and the nice garden at the front to have breakfast and relax, and specially the location make up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#60 of 152 in Hoi An
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.1 mi away
Nha Lan Homestay
Nha Lan Homestay
#111 of 210 in Hoi An
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#30 of 270 in Hoi An
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosy House Homestay
Cosy House Homestay
#109 of 270 in Hoi An
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner Homestay
The Corner Homestay
#78 of 270 in Hoi An
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnelle

Property: La Tonnelle
Address: 44 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your La Tonnelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing