We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of La Tonnelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tonnelle
Ranked #94 of 280 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the two double bedrooms on the second floor, which opened up to a nice sitting area with lovely mid-century modern furniture. No detail went unnoticed: from the rattan lanterns hanging in the restaurant, the cool wooden sliding door to the bathroom, to the hanging ‘garden’ that is tended to daily.

Our bed was firm, but comfortable enough. One thing to note was that the shower pressure was a little weak and the water had a bit of a rusty taste/smell.

Even though we had checked out already on our last day, our flight wasn’t until the evening and the staff let us use the restroom in one of the unoccupied rooms so we could shower and freshen up before our flight to Ha Noi.

A few things to note: the entire town basically shuts down after 9pm because most of the businesses are family-run. Be aware when walking/biking back at night that the lights will probably be off and it will be hard to find the hotel. One night we had come back from taking a stroll after a late dinner and the door was locked (it was around 9:30pm). We knocked on the door and felt bad disturbing one of the staff, who was sleeping in the reception area. All the lights were off inside the hotel, too, so we stumbled a bit in the dark.

Another thing is that only motorbikes and bikes (no cars) are allowed on the street where La Tonnelle is, so that is something to consider when schlepping your luggage about a block away if you arrive/depart by taxi/car.

La Tonnelle’s location was central, just a few meters away from the Japanese Bridge and from the riverside. We rented bikes everyday and everything wasn’t more than a 10 to 15-min bike ride (on flat roads).

The staff was was quite pleasant and helpful, one lady going out of her way on our last evening to accompany my girlfriend to get those delicious Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwiches—the lady said that if we went on our own, they’d charge us the tourist price!

All in all, we’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for La Tonnelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located just steps away from the Japanese Bridge in the historic part of Hoi An, this b&b's location cannot be beat. The service is professional but may come across as cool to some - queries are handled efficiently and professionally just don't expect them to offer any tips on sightseeing unless you ask. Rooms could be improved (some slippers for use in the room, hand bidet for toilet, the bathroom door oiled and connection on light fixtures fixed) and perhaps even aired to get rid of the musty smell. Overall though, good choice if you want to be based in the historic city.

Room Tip: The suite downstairs is roomy but noise can be an issue if there are noisy upstairs guests.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed there for two nights recently and are very happy I did. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. The rooms are small but well kept and clean. The common area decor is very charming. The first morning we woke up there, I got a late start and figured that I and missed the free breakfast times (it was already 1130am), but much to my delight they said there wasn't a time limit and I got their delicious free breakfast both days (omlettes and French toast are recommended).
One of the best parts about his place is that it is on the no touristy side of the Japanese bridge so it's much quieter. You are only a two minute walk to the bridge and the heart of old town, but far enough to really feel away from it all. Also, they serve wine in the cafe part, and for much much cheaper than most places in town.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try to get the suite - its a bit bigger
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x57114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

this place is a nice little find in a quieter part of old town just near the Japanese Bridge. The staff are so friendly and the decor has a shabby chic old french style feel. the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is simple yet testy. I would recommend the larger suite style room. Wifi is included. This is a great place to unwind and relax away from the heavy tourist traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerpetualTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a great location 1 min walk from the japonese bridge, what males it perfect if you want to escape the motorbikes and be able to walk everywhere. The rooms are a bit old and could use some maintenance, but the friendlyness of the staff and the nice garden at the front to have breakfast and relax, and specially the location make up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ineslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at La Tonnelle last June. I was travelling with a friend.
I had been several times to Hoi An, and purposedly decided to stay at a small hotel, well located to access the Old Town, but not in the busy areas, with lots of tourists and noise day and night.
La Tonnelle, located accross the Japanese Bridge, was the perfect choice.
It has 3 double rooms at the upper floor and one two-room apartment, which can accommodate up to three guests, at the ground floor. The concept is more of a home-stay than a hotel, which makes you feel welcomed and at ease from the moment you arrive.
Easy to comunicate with them over the phone or via e-mail for reserving the room and arranging airport transfers.
The furniture in the rooms is confortable, the free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea/water, a much appreciated touch. Fans and air conditioning in the rooms, and well designed bathrooms.
Nice breakfast, a la carte, served at the front terraced area, and good options for meals at other times.
They have a good selection of books fo guests to borrow, as well as a variety of leaflets with information on tours, activities and visits available in Hoi An and environs, which they are happy to organise for their guests.
The staff were superb, incredibly helpful and well informed, as well as kind and patient when accommodating any requests.
It was easy to walk back at any time to drop back some shopping, have a break enjoying a cold drink and food, or simply to have a shower and a rest before going out again.
We felt at home, not at an hotel.
Staying at La Tonnelle made us feel relaxed and safe, and provided the perfect complement for an enjoyable visit to Hoi An.
I hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_noku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just went there last weekend, felt impress at the fisrt moment. Frendly staffs, nice hotel, lovely concept. We stayed only 1night in a small room for 2 persons on second floor. Simple furniture and wc, comfortable bed, fridge and AC is available.

However, the taxi couldn't get to the hotel. The staffs asked us check out when it was 10.30 am because other customer coming.And when I asked why, she said: you have to check in after 2pm and check out before 11am. Not cool when I paid 35$. I would expected more with that price. For the next time, I will stay in another hotel with more free time for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#72 of 158 in Hoi An
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.6 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#27 of 280 in Hoi An
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner Homestay
The Corner Homestay
#83 of 280 in Hoi An
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nha Lan Homestay
Nha Lan Homestay
#112 of 219 in Hoi An
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnelle

Address: 44 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Tonnelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing