We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place-low price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa
Ranked #26 of 245 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place-low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at loc phat in feb 2014, we found a new place, the rooms are large , clean and in good quality. The hospitality was warm and helpfull. The location is about 2 km from center, it is nice to walk , but if it too much, taxi charge 2 $ to get you their. I evaluate it in level of 3 stras.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Anat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    60
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
203
73
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerpen
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This places is possibly the best place I have stayed in, ever. The lady who runs the place speeds excellent English and is very knowledgeable about Hoi An and the rest if the country. Breakfast is a la carte and very nice. The rooms are stylishly decorated, with lots of windows and have very strong showers with plenty of hot water. Location is in between town and beach with both easily reachable by foot or bicycle (1$ from reception).We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4 that says it all.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank mrsmantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross-on-wye, england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Before I started writing this I looked up the 3 reviews that rated the place as "terrible" and, not recognising them, I realised they must have referred to a previous premises before the incredibly industrious Linh and her husband had opened the Loc Phat Homestay. I can only say what a stunning place they have created. Each room has a balcony overlooking the gardens and fish ponds, all immaculately kept. The rooms are spotless, the showers hot and powerful. I have no idea about the AC as, sadly, the weather was not good enough whilst we were there over Christmas to warrant using it!
Linh never seems to be off duty - I run a b&b in England and I honestly don't know how she does it. She is running a very efficient operation, from breakfast onwards. Not a huge choice at breakfast but always eggs cooked how you want, baguettes, fresh fruit and juice, amongst others, which you can choose to eat in the small breakfast room or out on the balcony.
On Christmas Eve, Linh had prepared a special Vietnamese meal for all her guests - she would not allow us to pay, even for the beers! The next morning my daughter and I had a private cooking lesson with her. It was fun, starting with a bike ride to the local market to select the ingredients, taking them back and preparing them, and then eating what had been cooked. What better way to spend a Christmas morning?
It was the first time I had been on a bike for probably 30 years or more and, flushed with success, we then set off towards the beach - a slightly wobbly 15 minute excursion. Sadly, it was more like the Atlantic when we got there but it proved that Loc Phat Homestay is ideally placed between beach and town because, on our return, we cycled into town for yet another fitting at the tailors.
All the places we stayed in Vietnam were good but I really think Loc Phat Homestay was outstanding.
Just remember to take a break occasionally Linh, and I wish you continuing good luck!

Room Tip: All that I saw were equally good, there is nothing above one floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hollysmum_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The Loc Phat is superb on every level and I would not hesitate to recommend the place to solo- travellers, couples or families. Having arrived on the recommendation of our 'Easy Rider' boys we were somewhat brow beaten from 2 weeks of relentless packing, unpacking and 48 hours on the backs on motorcycles. We were instantly impressed by the beautiful landscaping of the gardens and clean decor of the rooms. We agreed to stay for 2 nights initially but ended up staying 4 due to the high standard of care we received and the warm atmosphere that Ling and her husband seem to effortlessly maintain. The breakfast on the roof terrace was a clear highlight to our experience, and it has to be said that the western inspired breakfast was the best we were treated to whilst in Vietnam. Myself and two female friends made the most of the bicycle hire to scoot down to the beach or the town and river. For a mere 1$ a day it was a great bargain.

Ling, the owner of the property is without a doubt its best asset. Unreservedly, we agreed that she was one of amazing people we met whilst in Vietnam. Her advice about local sights and tailors was invaluable. She has the perfect temperament to allay the worries of travel weary guests and makes every request seem small. Part of the experience also involved Ling arranging our onward travel arrangements. She organised our flights and airport transfers, which made life so much easier for us. We would like to thank all of the staff at Loc Phat for the most restful and enjoyable stay imaginable. We really did not want to leave but are sure to return when we visit Hoi An in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here for a week in Jan., 2014 and had a great time. The room was clean and new, breakfast was perfect, the staff was very helpful, and the location was very convenient.
We would definitely stay here again next year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank alohabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Homestay itself is a nice place with a basic but very good breakfast, comfy rooms (eventhough the toilet started to stink after the first day..) and location is ok.
The only negative thing is the owner. We asked her about the laundry service they offer, 2USD a kilo and if they dry the clothes in the machine or hang it outside. She said either way is possible, whatever we prefer. So I asked her at least 2 or 3 times to please, please let it dry outside, NOT in the machine as some chlothes of mine would get damaged in the machine (they wash by hand not in the machine apparently). When we got back our laundry, 2 pieces were shrinked. So I asked the owner if they put it in the machine. After some discussions she admitted that her employee had put the clothes in the machine.. She then grabbed my shrinked blouse and said she would go to a tailor to do a "copy" of my blouse. Before I could say anything she already left with my blouse... When she came back (my second piece of clothing she just left somewhere at the reception, like a rag..) I told her I did not want a copy of my blouse in Vietnam as it was a present from my mother bought in South Africa just 2 months ago, worth 60USD. She then offered us a free laundry service which we rejected. She said I had to understand that it was a mistake and there was nothing she could do.. I told her that I understand it was a mistake, however, they have to make it good somehow. I said she could give me the 60USD but she just got more pissed and upset eventhough it was their mistake and she said she can not give me money for that but a copy of the blouse by using the buttons of the original blouse... I said I do not want that...The discussion with her was very unpleasant as she did not make any concession at all...Finally, I suggested she could give me at least 40USD, which she accepted reluctingly... Since then, she does not greet us, not even look at us and when we asked for new and clean pillowcases (second time by the way) she handed it over looking the otherway and very pissed. She is ignoring us because we confronted her with shrinked clothes and she is behaving like it was our fault...unbelievable and very unpleasant!!!!! This is not the way guests should be treated, especially not if the mistake was made by the host....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaLo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Loc Phat for a week and loved our time there. Linh and her husband were very warm and welcoming. Rooms were beautiful-so new, modern and clean. I agree with earlier posts about there not being much privacy in the open plan bathroom. Towels need to be updated also. Wifi was sketchy at times too. We were invited to celebrate a Tet lunch with Linh and her family which was a great experience. The location was not a problem for us as the beach and Old Quarter was easily reached by bike or scooter each day. Bikes are $1 per day and the scooter was $5. Breakfast was generous and you were allowed as much as you wanted. A really lovely, family ran homestay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmyj_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#25 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.4 mi away
Camellia Homestay
Camellia Homestay
#1 of 245 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Garden Villa
Magnolia Garden Villa
#3 of 245 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Homestay
Red House Homestay
#5 of 245 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charming Homestay
Charming Homestay
#9 of 245 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa

Property: Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa
Address: 420 Cua Dai Street, Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An, Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay Villa is run by Nguyen Thi Ngoc Linh, or Linh for short, whose family has lived on the same property for 4 generations. It’s named after my sons, Phat (which means development) and Loc (Luck). My roots stretch back to a small fishing village near Hoi An beach, while my husband’s family has lived on the property I now operates from for over a century. Linh claims to have established the first professional homestay in Hoi An and everything I has learned during my time working in hospitality is visible in the day to day going-ons of the Villa. Stay for a night and you will notice the family’s impact on every aspect of life in Loc Phat. Linh’s children, nieces, and nephews run around and play with their toys, my father-in-law stands aged and smiling as security, my sister greets you from behind the reception desk, my sister/brother-in-law serve you a complimentary breakfast, and my aunt will clean your room. In fact every employee of the homestay is a member of the extended family. ”We respect everything we have, because we are very lucky to have it” The homestay is more than just a business for us, it’s a way of life. The Homestay Villa has recently added brand new buildings to its complex, so visitors no longer live within Linh’s home, we have our own beautiful modern private rooms to retire to, all built around the tranquil garden. However interaction with the family is still a large part of the experience, and any guest who wishes to sit down for a chat or simply observe is greeted with open arms and a smile. Linh is an intrepid and well versed cook, and I exhibit my skills for the dinners I enjoys cooking for my guests for someone stay in the Villa are looking forward to have cooking class you will be composed of Cao Lau noodles (made from a secret recipe that is known to only one family in Hoi An), green mango salad, fresh spring rolls, and the famous Hoi An pancakes……….. with Linh for a homecooking class. Linh also takes great pleasure in talking with my guests and spends hours of my day interacting with anyone who has a question or is curious about the Hoi An way of life. I will organize any manner of trip for her visitors, from a excursion to a lantern making shop, a trip to a local market for ingredients used in the cooking class, or mundane things like arranging taxi service to the airport…………etc. The Homestay likes to give back to the community and every year Linh and my husband sponsor the education of two children, one from Linh’s fishing village and one from Hoi An. Since there is no such thing as free public school in Vietnam many children, especially the third or fourth born in any family, are in danger of missing out on a formal education. Linh was one of only five children to go to school in her village, so she has a deep empathy for the plight of uneducated children in the region. In addition the homestay also gives away a bicycle to one lucky child at the end of every year. If you haven’t already gathered we were charmed by Hoi An, Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay Villa, and the family living there and operating it. If you want to experience an authentic slice of Vietnamese life within Hoi An City, book a stay at the Homestay Villa. You will be welcomed to the family with big smiles and open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing