We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa
Ranked #19 of 188 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time at Locphat Homestay. The staff was very friendly and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was nicely done up and completely new furnished. The location is good too as it is close to the city center and to the beach (both about 10min. by bike). One little minus: the bikes were not included in the price as we read on the webpage before. But 1USD per day was bearable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GlobalCitizenTini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    53
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
172
72
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Echt te gek. Very good rooms and Linh and Rocky are so nice and helpfull.... unbelievable . We celebrated new years eve with the staff and guests and they made a wonderfull dinner for us. They also helped us with booking a great motorbike tour to Hue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mknapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My fiance and I originally booked 4 nights with Linh and Rocky at Loc Phat Homestay. From our first encounter she was pleasant, uppity and reassuring. We thought that we would be in the homestay, however they were just finishing up construction on their new site, a hybrid hotel/homestay of sorts where we would have interaction with the family and their employees, but staying in our own private room - with great water pressure and hot water, air condition, international TV channels and super clean decor. However, the real joys are within the city and people of Hoi An. With Linh's assistance we discovered market vendors, food stuff and "best of" sites that made us extend our stay to 6 nights, and then to 9. She made many attempts to make our stay pleasant, getting to know us, making a full-on New Year's dinner, on top of all her responsibilities at her full-time job and her pregnancy!

For us the location was perfect, halfway to the beach and to the old town; we could easily rent bicycles or a motorbike for the day (through the homestay), and escape to the secluded homestay property when the touring or eating was over.

I'd say that the value for the money is well worth it, and the opportunity to meet this family will easily put the homestay at the top of your Vietnam memories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arrived in Dec 2012 and stayed for 2 nights.

Location is a lil bit far from town but just nice for me (and everyone else I think) as it is in between Hoi An town and Cua Dai beach; adding to the fact that the location is more quiet and peaceful as compared to town at night. Had a great time talking to Linh and family who are very friendly and helpful. I was even invited for a home-cook dinner on my second night here. We had some beer and a great chat after dinner; just what you need in a town like Hoi An: RELAX and chill.

Definitely a good stay and experience; especially after nights of staying in hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hello-choong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We (3 female friends) only had one night in Hoi An, and to stay in the Locphat was a great expereince. We arrived to generous hospitality from the house keeper, offering us guavas and showing us to our basic, but comfortable, rooms. The bikes were rent free and it was an enjyoable 10 minute cycle to the centre of the old town. The bathroom was nice, the rooms were air conditioned and Lin was incredibly friendly when we met her. She got us a car to Da Nang and was helpful with all our questions. I wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked three nights with Linh and her family. Ended up staying four and would happily have stayed a whole week if our schedule allowed. Linh and her husband were wonderful hosts and couldn't help us enough. Linh cooked dinner for us and heer family one night (the best cao lao I had in Hoi An) and even bought me a Vietnamese coffee maker after I told her that I was enjoying ca phe. On our last night we had to get up at 4am to go to the airport and guess what, Linh was there to make sure the taxi arrived and that we got away safely. Wonderful woman and all this while being 6 weeks pregnant. First three nights we stayed in a basic room with no bathroom which was fine for us and only cost 12 dollars a night. For our last night we moved to the en suite room for 16 dollars and it is amazing! So big and has all mod cons of a hotel! Get that one if it's free. I would recommend anyone to stay with Linh when visiting Hoi An. Only a 10 min cycle to the beach or the town along one easy road. If I am ever back in Hoi An I will be looking to stay here again - of perhaps in the guesthouse they are currently building a few doors down.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Revdog32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Staying with Linh and her family was definitely a highlight of my Vietnam visit. Yes the home is not in the center of town but honestly it was not a problem: I rented a bike for 1$/day and it only takes 5 minutes to reach town. The home was very comfortable and I really enjoyed spending dinner time with Linh and her family. She is a fantastic cook and her husband and children are so lovely and fun to talk to! My room had a queensize bed with a fan and a TV. It was very clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom on the first floor was also very clean and had everything I needed. The maid was very sweet and even washed and dried my shirt that got soaked during a rain storm...and I didn't even ask her too! During dinner we sampled lots of local cuisine and Linh shared lots of interesting facts about vietnamese culture. On the second day I was invited by her husband and some of his work friends to have dinner with them at home. Again, it was a fantastic meal and the company was even better! I'm happy I found the Loc Phat Homestay and highly recommend it to anyone that wants a comfortable place to stay and also interested in learning a bit more about Vietnamese culture. On my last day, Linh even arranged for a family friend to take me back to the Danang train station by car for a fraction of the cost of a private taxi. I really appreciated this gesture!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Taranis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Holiday Villa
Hoi An Holiday Villa
#1 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozy Hoian Boutique Villas
1.3 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#9 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Homestay
Magnolia Homestay
#4 of 188 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Grass Land Villa
Green Grass Land Villa
#1 of 188 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Lemongrass Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa

Property: Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa
Address: 420 Cua Dai Street, Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An, Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay Villa is run by Nguyen Thi Ngoc Linh, or Linh for short, whose family has lived on the same property for 4 generations. It’s named after my sons, Phat (which means development) and Loc (Luck). My roots stretch back to a small fishing village near Hoi An beach, while my husband’s family has lived on the property I now operates from for over a century. Linh claims to have established the first professional homestay in Hoi An and everything I has learned during my time working in hospitality is visible in the day to day going-ons of the Villa. Stay for a night and you will notice the family’s impact on every aspect of life in Loc Phat. Linh’s children, nieces, and nephews run around and play with their toys, my father-in-law stands aged and smiling as security, my sister greets you from behind the reception desk, my sister/brother-in-law serve you a complimentary breakfast, and my aunt will clean your room. In fact every employee of the homestay is a member of the extended family. ”We respect everything we have, because we are very lucky to have it” The homestay is more than just a business for us, it’s a way of life. The Homestay Villa has recently added brand new buildings to its complex, so visitors no longer live within Linh’s home, we have our own beautiful modern private rooms to retire to, all built around the tranquil garden. However interaction with the family is still a large part of the experience, and any guest who wishes to sit down for a chat or simply observe is greeted with open arms and a smile. Linh is an intrepid and well versed cook, and I exhibit my skills for the dinners I enjoys cooking for my guests for someone stay in the Villa are looking forward to have cooking class you will be composed of Cao Lau noodles (made from a secret recipe that is known to only one family in Hoi An), green mango salad, fresh spring rolls, and the famous Hoi An pancakes……….. with Linh for a homecooking class. Linh also takes great pleasure in talking with my guests and spends hours of my day interacting with anyone who has a question or is curious about the Hoi An way of life. I will organize any manner of trip for her visitors, from a excursion to a lantern making shop, a trip to a local market for ingredients used in the cooking class, or mundane things like arranging taxi service to the airport…………etc. The Homestay likes to give back to the community and every year Linh and my husband sponsor the education of two children, one from Linh’s fishing village and one from Hoi An. Since there is no such thing as free public school in Vietnam many children, especially the third or fourth born in any family, are in danger of missing out on a formal education. Linh was one of only five children to go to school in her village, so she has a deep empathy for the plight of uneducated children in the region. In addition the homestay also gives away a bicycle to one lucky child at the end of every year. If you haven’t already gathered we were charmed by Hoi An, Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay Villa, and the family living there and operating it. If you want to experience an authentic slice of Vietnamese life within Hoi An City, book a stay at the Homestay Villa. You will be welcomed to the family with big smiles and open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing