We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and value”

Reaching Out Arts and Crafts
Ranked #8 of 404 Shopping in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reaching Out is a social enterprise, training and employing persons with disabilities. Our artisans create beautiful gifts of high quality from tea ware patterned after that used by the Imperial family in Hue to elegant table ware and bedspreads of colourful silks. Our silver jewellery is designed in-house by our staff and made right on the premises. Customers are invited to visit the workshop which is right behind the retail store to watch how their purchases have been made. Our staff are willing to answer your questions and of course can tell you the details of the processes by which your gifts are crafted. They will also proudly show you to our Tea House, where you can experience a cup of coffee or tea, served in the traditional Vietnamese manner by our speech and hearing impaired staff.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Beautiful goods, silver jewellery particularly good and well priced. Not pushy at all. A great opportunity to buy lovely goods and help local disadvantaged.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    63
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great crafts”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just find the place and buy everything, these disadvantaged people deserve all we can give them. Everything is so well made they produce some of the best gifts

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely shop with beautiful staff”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A gorgeous craft shop that is well worth the visit. We visited (and purchased) a number of times and loved the products and the incredibly friendly service. Will definitely visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great initiative”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

the main point of this shop is that it gives handicaped people an opportunity to have a decent life and a work. I think that over the crafts themselves, it is what makes this place 'special'. Worth visiting if you feel like reaching out to disabled people in Vietnam.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Little Pricey”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The shop was lovely with some beautiful items which we would have purchased if it wasn't for the price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer10WestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Arts and Crafts also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Arts and Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing