We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should go for the peace and serenity”

Reaching Out Arts and Crafts
Ranked #8 of 400 Shopping in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reaching Out is a social enterprise, training and employing persons with disabilities. Our artisans create beautiful gifts of high quality from tea ware patterned after that used by the Imperial family in Hue to elegant table ware and bedspreads of colourful silks. Our silver jewellery is designed in-house by our staff and made right on the premises. Customers are invited to visit the workshop which is right behind the retail store to watch how their purchases have been made. Our staff are willing to answer your questions and of course can tell you the details of the processes by which your gifts are crafted. They will also proudly show you to our Tea House, where you can experience a cup of coffee or tea, served in the traditional Vietnamese manner by our speech and hearing impaired staff.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Everyone should go for the peace and serenity”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been to Hoi An a couple of times and only on this occasion did we stumble upon the little tea - coffee house.

The coffee, tea and all the products sold here are made by local disabled people. Whether they have a hearing or speach loss, mental illness, learning difficulty or some other physical disability all the staff are in someway disabled.

At first it is quite surreal sitting in peace and quiet whilst the in the street out side there is hustle and bustle. The staff come with cards that enquire what you would like. It is not at all over bearing or demining to me as a customer or to the staff. If anything its is an oasis from the outside world.

That said the coffee and teas are just pefect as are the small biscuits.

We asked about buying some items and again there was a polite and respectful discourse and we were pointed to the handicraft centre just round the corner. SO if you stumble on this venue first ask them where the tea and coffee rooms are, you will not be disappointed.

Held the locals who are helping themselves not through profit but through a job that pays for their needs ...............just do it .............even if its just for the coffee that is just superb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaktam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    63
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great cause”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was great to head back to the workshop and to read about the workers. There is a large array of items to purchase to support the project. It is situated at 103 Nguyen Thai Hoc.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank infer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Quality Handcrafts”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Dearer than other things you will buy in town but the quality is way way above normal. Great cause as well.
Try the Reching Out tea house as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirky788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As advertised”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a great place to pick up a socially responsible gift for someone back home. Although the prices are a bit steeper than the other shops in Hoi An, the wares are clearly well-made and of a high caliber. It’s nice to know who’s going to benefit from the purchase in a country awash in tourist trinkets. We took a tour of the back where many of the artists work, including some of the people highlighted next to their work in the front of the store. If you’re looking for something truly nice to take home, this is the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good cause and excellent handmade gifts”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you buy any gifts to take home, try to make sure something comes from this shop.

This is a fantastic initiative and shows the abilities rather than disabilities of those working in the shop and those producing the intricately crafted gifts that you are looking at. A huge amount of skill and work goes into all of the products sold here.

Yes, the gifts that you see here are more expensive than 'near equivelents' you can buy elsewhere in Hoi An and Vietnam. But these are genuine handmade goods, not cheap imitation Chinese imports. Added to which your money goes to support something that is truely worthwhile and making a difference.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReachingOutHoiAn, volunteer at Reaching Out Arts and Crafts, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are always pleased to get endorsements from experienced travellers, who appreciate quality.

The success of our social enterprise depends on the kind of referral that you have written. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Arts and Crafts also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Arts and Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing