We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botanic Garden Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botanic Garden Homestay
Ranked #62 of 189 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice and comfortable place when traveling with children. The bungalows are very spacious and nicely decorated, big flat screen tv's in every room. They have good baby cots. The only remark we have about the rooms is that they are quite moist.The garden is nice although it is not as big as we expected, I think part of it has been sacrificed for some newly built apartments. Also the small pool is now a bit perched between two bungalows. But these are just some small shortcomings that you forget about due to the friendliness of the staff. They were especially attentive towards our children of 1 and 4 years old. Kids had a really great stay thanks to all the attention, hugs and kisses that they received from the staff. Free bikes were nice. Right after we arrived the owner set out to buy a child seat for the bike. It's a very enjoyable bike ride to town and to the beach. Some good restaurants quite close by are Red Dragon (on the way to the beach) and Dingo Deli with a great playground for children. Overall we had a great week here thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YH_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    76
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
84
127
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolbotn, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Botanic Gardens has just undergone a major upgrade and the finishing touches were still in progress when we arrived.
We had one of the renovated villas with a separate bedroom,there are also studio flats and
2 bedroomed villas available.
A small swimming pool nestles in between 2 of the dwellings.
The furnishings are of a good standard,and the bed was comfortable.
Our apartment had tv in the lounge as well as in the bedroom,water boiler,air conditioning,
a ceiling fan in the lounge,plus a refrigerator with stocked minibar.
The place was spotless and spotlessly cleaned every day.
The semitiled en-suite bathroom had a marble bath tub with a huge shower head,
The position of this homestay is perfect,roughly halfway between town and beach
and in a side road away from the main throughfare and its continual horn honking.
There are free cycles, and as most of the traffic is mopeds it was easy to get around,
Just approx 20 mins either way.
The staff at Botanic Gardens are mega friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and of service.The young receptionists spoke reasonably good English.
The breakfast was good with a menu to choose from.
On Christmas Eve the Owner invited all the guests to dinner,
we were able to sample Vietnamese cusine as well as lashings of Vietnamese wine.
A memorable evening where we were treated more like friends than guests.
The Botanic Gardens is a great place to stay and with a lovely
friendly staff that will really make you feel at home.

Room Tip: For a couple the studios or deluxe are ideal,a larger family would need the bungalow which has 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaraththustra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoi an
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Arrived with 3 young children, paying $100 a night. It was a construction site, no alternative or compensation offered. Had to find alternative accommodation which turned out to be a lot better value. Carpet was mouldy, then after the 2 days they charged us the wotif commission of $70 ?? After their mistake. It is all about the money here. There are better places to stay, especially if you have children.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHUONG T, Owner at Botanic Garden Homestay, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Just like to inform you that our hotel had a major renovation during year 2013. So you could expect the Excellent services and very clean and nice rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again for your future stay at Hoi An Old Town.

Thank you,

Mr. Phuong - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Botanic garden homestay. It is a very quiet place and it is well named, there are many flower pots and plants everywhere which give a peaceful atmosphere. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Correzegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location roughly equidistant between beach and town centre. Staff couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly, managing to solve all our problems from retrieving a Blackberry mislaid in Da Nang to booking motorbikes and snorkelling trips. Homestay is tucked halfway down a quiet backstreet. Lots of space in the villas and the garden outside is a lovely place to sit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sashas12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta, australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful 5 night stay. What a fabulous find. Great location, lovely villas and pool and breakfasts but the highlight remains the wonderful greetings and smiles every time we were coming or going. I loved being down a quiet street and having the bikes to get about on was fantastic. Cannot thank you and your family enough for the wonderful dinner you put on for the guests one evening. So lovely and thank you to the friendly and helpful girls who work for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautifully well kept property. Large, spacious rooms. Our bungalow consisted of 2br, 2ba, living room and kitchen. We wondered what to do with all of our new found space after having stayed in smaller hotel rooms during the prior 2 weeks of our trip. The rooms would be perfect for a family traveling together. The staff was great. They were very friendly and made us feel at home. A very good breakfast is included. Well maintained bicycles are available for guest use free of charge. The B&B is located about 2km, 10min by bike, from the beach, and about 7mins by bike from the old town portion of Hoi An. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood and the bicycle rides between the beach and town were a pleasure as we followed along the river. My wife and I would wake up, enjoy a delicious breakfast, ride bicycles down to the tailors for a fitting in the morning, ride to the beach and enjoy the mid-day, shower and ride back into town for dinner, and relax at our bungalow in the evenings with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#69 of 123 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#65 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Lemongrass Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jolie Villa Hoi An Homestay
0.1 mi away
Charming Homestay
Charming Homestay
#15 of 189 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Moon Homestay & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Garden Homestay

Property: Botanic Garden Homestay
Address: 08 Tran Quoc Toan Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to know more about the local people, culture, and life?If so, Botanic Garden home stay is the best way to do it.Our home stay is situated in the area of 1100 sqm in an alley of a small village in Hoi An with a beautiful garden and five spacious bungalows.The unique point here is that the design of the house and the main work to build up all the bungalows including interior design, carpentry, electricity,... Were done by the owner himself . And also the passion for nature has urged him to grow and collect various kinds of plants in his garden, including ficus, catus, star apples, arecas, carambola , herbals, , etc. That would impress the guests for the beauty and peace when staying at Botanic Garden Home Stay.Our family will help you discover and understand the beauty and richness of Vietnamese culture for an unforgettable stay in Hoi An, a World Cultural Heritage. You will instantly be welcomed and invited to participate in, or simply enjoy watching every-day life going on around you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Botanic Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing