We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botanic Garden Homestay
Ranked #86 of 275 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. Spacious bungalow (called Orchid I think) next to a nice pool and lovely gardens. We treated ourselves as this was the most we paid during our trip in Vietnam but it was still fantastic value (around $60 a night). The bathroom did need upgrading compared to the rest of the bungalow but it was clean with plenty of hot water. Good aircon and a great filling breakfast with a varied choice. The bikes were useful for going to the beach and into town and exploring the surrounding area. We strolled into town and back each evening (about 25 mins). Very helpful and friendly staff and a lovely meal was served with the family one evening.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SHStirchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    82
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
134
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The staff at Botanic Garden were really lovely and helpful. They helped make our stay really pleasant.

The apartments were huge, and nicely decorated. I have only two comments about what would make it nicer. One is the fluorescent lighting in the bedrooms was really unpleasant. There were also bedside lamps, so we could use those. But there are so much nicer compact fluorescent lights now, I was surprised they still had the fluorescent tubes. Second is the bathrooms were not modernized. One of the showers did not have a holder for the shower head, so we just used the other bathroom. Overall, these were minor issues.

The gardens are also really nice, with beautiful orchids and very relaxing to sit in.

The location is a bit away from the town, but taxis are cheap and we could walk to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights at Botanic Garden Home-stay and absolutely loved it! We stayed in the "Ficus" bungalow that had 2 spacious air-conditioned,bedrooms, 2 bathrooms( very clean,with no sign of mildew),lounge room,and Kitchen( but if you wanted to cook you had to ask for utensils). There was an abundance of very reasonable restaurants in close proximity that where all serving great Vietnamese food that cost less than $10 for two including drinks, why would you bother to cook? The wonderful breakfasts where included in the tariff , where served until 10am and there was plenty of choice. We loved the gardens, peace and quiet!
The staff could not have been more helpful and the whole experience was like staying with Vietnamese cousins rather than in a clinical or formal hotel. Could'nt.... recommend it highly enough....It was just what we needed! especially enjoyed the "family" hospitality and dinner with free-flowing Dalate wine( suprisingly good) and home-cooked Vietnamese delicacies!

Room Tip: the bungalow away from the pool is best. utilize the free bikes the receptionists give great advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonny51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverwijk
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Botanic Garden Homestay is near the old village of Hoi An(7 min. by bike). We stayed in a Deluxe Bungalow with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Set in a nice garden with orchids, bonsai plants, papaya trees etc. Quiet side street of a main road. 2 km from the closest beach, Cua Dai, and about 5 kms from An Bang Beach(20 min. biking), a more western orientated beach, which we liked the best.
Once a week the owner and his mother invite you for diner at their garden or in the house. The bungalow(Jasmine) is well maintained and you can use the pool to get refreshed a bit. Free use of internet and (new)bikes. Breakfast is at your choice. Don't forget to switch on the boiler in time otherwise you'll end up with a cold shower. Once you switch on the aircon, the humid smell will be gone in the bungalow. We've discovered a nice restaurant in Hoi An, on the "island", called Nha Hang rest. Khoai Tây Cá, 01 Nguyen Phúc Chu, tel.nr. 01236005179. A variaty of vegetarian dishes, fish, meat. 5 course set menu 99.000,00 VND. Cooking class USD 15,00. Cheap, friendly, Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marguerite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was a good choice. We stayed for a few nights in one of the cottages. The grounds are lovely - truly a botanic garden. We enjoyed using the bikes everyday and the breakfast was good and included in the price The staff were friendly, and we had ample space to spread out.

Our main complaint is that the rooms (especially bathrooms) had some mildew issues, including visible milldew spots on the insides of the doors and in some hidden areas (underneath curtains). I understand this is more humid climate, but this could be fixed by installing some ventilation fans or even windows in the bathrooms. They could air out the cottages between guests also.

Anyway, we still enjoyed our stay but if they could fix the mildew, the location would be truly stellar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Botanic Gardens. I wasn’t sure what to expect from a homestay but found it to be a lovely bungalow set in the tropical gardens of a family’s home. You do not feel like you’re in their space at all— nor they in yours.

The photos show the rooms just as they are. Our bungalow was huge by comparison to any other accommodation we had in Vietnam and a serious bargain. The rooms, WiFi access, and TVs are all top notch. We never used the kitchen except to boil water for coffee and to keep beverages cold, but it’s there if you wanted to use it for more. We did bring some wine back from a shop in the town, chilled it in the fridge and then enjoyed it by the pool. It was a wonderful break on a hot day.

The only slight criticism I can come up with is the bathrooms, at least in our bungalow. They were spacious and functional but could use some updating. The homestay has only been operating for a few months, but it operated as a rental property before that. The bathrooms were nicer than many I’ve had in Vietnam before, so I feel a bit off for even mentioning them. It’s just that everything else was so spotlessly clean and updated that they stood out.

We planned to stay for three nights and ended up staying for six. We had so much fun tootling around on the bikes (free) and enjoyed Hoi An so much that we changed our flights to stay longer. The town is 10-12 min by bike (we’re not experienced bicyclists, to say the least) or US$1.75 by taxi. You can easily bike to Cua Dai beach, but we took a taxi to An Bang beach instead (US$5.50) in order to avoid the touts and find stretches of deserted beach.
The hotel staff were very helpful and served a generous made-to-order breakfast each morning. They have Pho, but also omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, baguettes, pancakes… We were very satisfied with the offerings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Botanic Garden homestay isn't what you'd expect - it has 4 cottages and a room inside a family compound, which has a small soaking pool, aged bonsai plants and outdoor lounge areas. It's in a small and quiet side land about 2km from Hoi An town. It has a homely feel.

My cottage was really a guest house - a hall, kitchen, 2 bedrooms with attached bathrooms, air-conditioning in all rooms and 3 TVs in total, bathroom amenities, room service, laundry service, free Internet access...you get the idea. Bicycles are freely available for guests to cycle to town. The place was clean, spacious, airy and private - it really was a home away from home.

The best feature of the place was the friendliness of the family and staff, I really felt like a guest rather than a customer. The people are so friendly and helpful, a hotel seems cold by comparison. One evening the family organised an outdoor dinner party for all the guests in the garden, with home-cooked Vietnamese food, wine and tea. It was simply wonderful.

The neighbourhood is a typical residential area, with a coffee shop next door and stalls selling noodles. It really seemed like you were coming home after a long day out in Hoi An. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early, it's usually booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#93 of 156 in Hoi An
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
Hoi An Rose Garden Hotel
#20 of 156 in Hoi An
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay-Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Garden Villa
Magnolia Garden Villa
#5 of 275 in Hoi An
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camellia Homestay
Camellia Homestay
#1 of 275 in Hoi An
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Garden Villas
Hoi An Garden Villas
#3 of 212 in Hoi An
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Garden Homestay

Property: Botanic Garden Homestay
Address: 08 Tran Quoc Toan Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to know more about the local people, culture, and life?If so, Botanic Garden home stay is the best way to do it.Our home stay is situated in the area of 1100 sqm in an alley of a small village in Hoi An with a beautiful garden and five spacious bungalows.The unique point here is that the design of the house and the main work to build up all the bungalows including interior design, carpentry, electricity,... Were done by the owner himself . And also the passion for nature has urged him to grow and collect various kinds of plants in his garden, including ficus, catus, star apples, arecas, carambola , herbals, , etc. That would impress the guests for the beauty and peace when staying at Botanic Garden Home Stay.Our family will help you discover and understand the beauty and richness of Vietnamese culture for an unforgettable stay in Hoi An, a World Cultural Heritage. You will instantly be welcomed and invited to participate in, or simply enjoy watching every-day life going on around you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botanic Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing