We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bahn Mi I've had in SEA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banh Mi Phuong

Banh Mi Phuong
Ranked #58 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been serving up the most delicious banh mi in Hoi An for more than 30 years. We use a special sauce made from the juice of the smoked pork to create a standout flavor for own brand . See you at my shop
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Bahn Mi I've had in SEA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Bahn Mi stand has a big reputation for making the best Bahn Mi in Vietnam, well I can confirm it is the best I've had in SEA by a long way (and I've had quite a few). The baguettes are perfect, unbelievable fresh, crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. I always opt for the Special with Egg. Filled to overflowing with mayo, pâté, cold pork, tomato, pickled vegetable, herbs and a freshly fried egg and spicy chilli sauce, it is the perfect breakfast or lunch. Pair it with a Vietnamese Iced coffee with milk and you will be in foody heaven! In May 2013 the Special cost 25000 dong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    347
    98
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sandwich EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is I think, by FAR, the BEST sandwich ANYWHERE!! Get it with everything. As soon as we discovered these, we had to have one everyday and seriously considered it for dinner too! Rinse it down with a cold beer and I think lunch cost all of $2.00! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dkrauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love love love this shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We love Anthony Bourdain. So when we found out he had eaten a Bahn mi in Hoi An and rated it we decided we better do the same! When we found this little place there were already 5 people waiting. We always found ourselves coming back. So there was 2 eaten in a day. Have a bike ride and what do you know we were back at the little shop. The bread was so fresh. The pate was tasty. You can get chilli and egg and pork all at once. This was our pre lunch and dinner snack when we were riding around Hoi An. The ladies were no nice. The turnover of the food is incredible. It was always busy when we got there. We can’t wait for the day we get to eat another Banh Mi from Hoi An. Bourdain was right!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How much you paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

how much you paid for one food in Hoi An if you do not know you have to come here try the Banh my(phuong)I made sure its the best Banh my in SEA!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank glanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sauce is to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After reading all the rave reviews on this stall, my friends and I made sure we would put the Banh mi to the taste test when we hit Hoi An. So today, we found it and we smashed it! Having grown up in Cabramatta, Sydney Australia, we are spoilt with several Banh mi shops, all offering the 'best' Banh mi thits. Although Phuong Banh Mi offers a slightly different filling that we are use to back home, we would still rate their banh mi a 9/10. A definite must try. The home made sauce that they put in the bread gives it a massive kick and just brings everything together. We paid a ridiculous VND 30 000 (AU$1.50) for this yummy, delicious goodness!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_odessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banh Mi Phuong also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Banh Mi Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing