We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent!”

Green Mango Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic centre of Hoi An. Set in a very traditional Japanese & Chinese shophouse. The setting and ambience is worth a visit
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Hoi An looking for a cooking class - majority of them ranging from around $15 for 3/4 fixed courses however when we came to Green Mango they gave us a variety of 25 different dishes to choose from and we were allowed to pick 5! The cost was $25 and we thought that it was worth it to be able to choose from such a great menu.

We showed up in the early morning and taken by the owner Chef Hai to the local market. Immediately we were introduced to so many different herbs and vegetables and told how they would be used in local cuisine. Everything we got to taste, smell and touch it was interesting and very insightful!

We were then taken to try Vietnamese desserts - red bean in syrup, coconut milk, tapioca pudding and lotus beans. We were so impressed because we were in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the market, a haven for tourists but trying something many would not.

After the market tour, we were taken back to the restaurant and given a full 2 hour session cooking our dishes of choice. Hai was very patient with us and showed us all the useful techniques with such simple sauces.

The food was fantastic! We ate all 5 courses at the end of the class and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the restaurant.

Within 24 hours Hai had emailed us both with all the ingredients and methods for our dishes so we can use it when we travel home!

This place is a MUST! We were very impressed and SO happy that we chose to take our cooking class with Green Mango!

(sorry it's a long review but hopefully it was helpful!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    251
    88
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Meal We Had - What a Treat!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is not the cheapest food around but still you could not find quality like this back home for the price. Lovely atmosphere, beautiful restaraunt. We had a started chicken in lettuce really yummy and i had the Thai curry lovely too! A couple of drinks each and it worked out to about £10 a head and well worth every penny!! They do cooking lessons there but i did not try.

If you want a real nice treat then this is the place, thank you Mr Acceptable for recomending this to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyDiSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

With so many a amazing restaurants in Hoi An we were very disappointed that our last night was spent here. Staff were disinterested and distracted, and the food was very ordinary. Restaurant looks lovely, but did not measure up to so many other good restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen150161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice western and oriental food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice western and oriental food a bit of the pricey side by Vietnamese standards. Nice looking restaurant, modern fused with ancient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aprila X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
468 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,668 helpful votes
“Great, great and great”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been in hoi an 10 days, so tried multiple places for lunch and dinner. This one was the best.

Service: great, polite and smiley... And not pushy. Dishes, glasses, napkins and crockery used, proper for a good restaurant.
Drink for smoothie or shake: great.
Wine: long list for sophisticated people. So, great.
Atmosphere: perfect, romantic or with friends or solo.
Food: well presented, generous portions, and tasted great.

I would suggest to stick in the traditional Asian/Vietnamese food list, as you can not go wrong.

At the end of my huge meal, once I paid the bill I ask to congratulate with the owner, a very reasonable and friendly man, who I had the impression was also working there with the rest of the staff.
Unfortunately I have been only tonight and leaving hoi an tomorrow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mango Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Mango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing